Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

BacterioRage

by Squidtank - Jam Entry

You're a tiny bacteriophage who is on a phage therapy* mission to fight off some icky bacterial infections. Your goal is to find the nucleus and replicate yourself (via insertion) in order to destroy the bacteria.

You are the weapon.



Controls:
--------------------------
A/D: Move left and right
S: Inject yourself when on top of an enemy
Space: Jump

(Once Acquired)
Left-click: Fire
Shift: Dash



Credits:
--------------------------
Music and Sound: Playonloop.com, Noiseforfun.com, and http://www.freesfx.co.uk


*Phage therapy or viral phage therapy is the therapeutic use of bacteriophages to treat pathogenic bacterial infections.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#112Graphics(Jam)4.18
#252Audio(Jam)3.33
#382Theme(Jam)3.54
#514Overall(Jam)3.22
#579Mood(Jam)2.97
#678Innovation(Jam)2.81
#686Humor(Jam)2.50
#743Fun(Jam)2.72

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24am

The link does not work

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:35am

Yeah man, the links broken. Fix it and people can play :)

pixelspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22am

This looks really fun! The link is broken as others have said though, I'd love to play it once that's fixed :D

Squidtank says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33am

Sorry everyone! We've gone to a different host, game should be playable now :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

nice gam - like the idea of killing the bacteria - groovy music - awesome graphics - the animations was smooooth

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:31am

Nice job, love the graphics! The physics were a bit difficult to get used to. I hit a few bugs - I froze inside of Meningitis (couldn't move till I was killed) and the game got fixed at a super close camera angle after dying on the Tuberculosis level. Great effort overall!

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:44am

I love the graphics, and that it's set inside the human body :D

I found it hard, but maybe I'm just bad at platformers. Either way I really enjoyed this game, nice job.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49am

Couldn't get the injection mechanism to work.

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:57am

Well done! The art and animations are great. I ran into some bug? a lot of my UI/screen was initial off screen during the character selection.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:03am

nice concept, really difficult platformer, and when i injected the boss? my screen just zoomed in like crazy T_T

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Really nice game. Great graphics as well! :)

pixelspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I got stuck when I met the boss, totally immobile. Graphics are really cute and well done, I can see this being a pretty cool educational game! Also, while the controls are pretty precise, that level of gravity is kind of damning - it just snaps you right back. Overall though cute and fun!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Really interesting levels and great character design/animations. Didn't manage to inject anything though, seemed a little hard.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:40pm

The Linux link does not contain the data folder w__w

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Web player worked great for me! Loved the graphics, gameplay was pretty buggy but it worked! I thought it was a really interesting idea and challenging, and I made it to the end. As far as criticism, I'd say to work on the collisions and ai a bit, and maybe make it a little more forgiving (or not, it reminded me of Super Meat Boy, but if you go that route maybe tighten the controls?). All in all, great work!

Squidtank says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Whoops! Sorry about that, Alexbrainbox. Uploaded new zip :)

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:55pm

nice gfx ))

snesgaard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Oh boy what a looker with pretty creative premise. Dunno if it is something to do with the Linux build, but there sure were a lot of bugs here, like freezing and enemies phasing through walls. Jumping sometimes felt kinda unresponsive.
Music was pretty good though.

jplur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:23am

a little buggy (like actual error messages on the debug console), but it did work, and had lovely graphics and music

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:25am

Overall, I liked it. However, it either needs to be less difficult or you need to work on the controls some. It got frustrating because of the combination, unfortunately.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:27am

Super cute, but suffers from bad 2d platforming. The animation is AWESOME however and with time you could really have something here!

muromets says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:28am

loved the graphics and animations, but had a difficult time with the controls, it might be because im lefty ;)

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:36am

Very fun and innovative, a big work on the different levels, graphics and sounds, well done !

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Solid graphics and audio, controls need some work, but well done otherwise!

jlauper says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

The graphics are nice, but the controls are not that great. And is it supposed to zoom in after injecting the second boss, because that made it basically unplayable.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:59pm

good concept... i like it... but sometimes i got stuck on the wall.... please fix this... ^^

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:26pm

I love the art. I don't know if it was just me or not, but I couldn't attack the baddies without taking damage.

orangemoose says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:44am

The art style was great, and I loved the concept! That being said, I think the controls were a little wonky and the game was pretty difficult. The levels are cramped, so it was difficult to move around without dying or taking damage. I don't think you needed the pushback on the player when they take damage. Nice job, and very well done working with the theme!

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:02pm

nice colors and animations. The leveldesign is not that good with a lot of difficult jumps, and most of the monsters dont really try to kill the hero. Infact your biggest foes are the acid spots. But it's still a very original universe + and a very unconventional weapon.The first time I inject into a boss reminded me the whale fight in new zealand story

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]