Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity

by suurin - Jam Entry

Gravity should be a pretty unconventional weapon, right?

Gravity is a puzzle game in which you can change the way gravity affects certain objects.

WASD - movement
Mouse1 - click on a red object to make it fall in the desired direction
R - Restart
Q - Pause menu

WebGL and MacOS versions coming soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#219Innovation(Jam)3.57
#321Mood(Jam)3.33
#326Theme(Jam)3.64
#337Overall(Jam)3.42
#373Audio(Jam)3.08
#454Fun(Jam)3.15
#482Graphics(Jam)3.36
#768Humor(Jam)2.33

Comments

zuraguerra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09am

Pretty impressive! This game is genius! <3

dusho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

great idea.. like the looks
game is hard, though

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:00am

Nice minimalist grafics. Great concept. Kinda hard though

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:08am

Nice minimalist style and concept is interesting. Just a few cheap deaths in there. Being shot in the back being one in particular :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:09am

I really like the concept, music and the art.

Bardikus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:15am

I got the Antichamber vibe if that was what you went after :) The music was happier the Antichamber so it kinda removed that abstract horror atmosphere found in that game. I really liked the concept of altering the gravity, but it got pretty hard pretty fast. Remember for your next Ludum Dares to make someone else play your game, because what seems average or normal difficulty to you can mean ultra difficulty for others. Overall nice game :)

Conk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:19am

Really cool, first level was probably a bit too hard, moving the red block around to get the enemy seemed really tedious, other than that, fine work, overall really good!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:53am

I love the antichamber style - though I think it can hinder aiming for the faces of the cubes :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Really cool mechanic and visual style!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Sweet minimalistic graphics and clever gameplay but the gun mechanic feels clunky at times. The level design can get some tweaks and the levels be a little less hard. Nice game overall.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Awesome...a little Antichamber, a little Glitchspace. It needs work and polish but it's intriguing so far! The controls seem a little floaty, or something...and I'd love for there to be an invert mouse option, heh. Also, it was really difficult to figure out exactly HOW to change gravity on stuff; you really need to explain where to point the mouse and such.

Other than that, I was going through one level and suddenly something knocked me off with no warning. That's a little frustrating. Still, for all the problems I mention, I think you have potential here. ;)

kaa says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Cool graphics, nice idea, hard and interesting gameplay. Congratulations!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Not bad, however aiming the gravity switching mechanic seems very buggy and I couldn't figure out how to get past the first "real" level(The one that says something about a real game.)

Lovelace Lair says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Nice mechanic, decent puzzles, although the controls were a little awkward and the graphics sucked - it would be nice to be able to see the edges between cube faces. Also it is possible to beat the last level by unconventional methods, I respect that.

Zener says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Great idea, really very interesting!! Really nice atmosphere with the art and the music together. A bit too difficult to control the cubes sometimes but awesome game anyway.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Pretty difficult but I like the gravity switching mechanic a lot.

ShaunJS says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Cool!

I'm not sure if the enemies were really a necessary addition, it was cool knocking the first dude off a ledge but the second one felt very tough to deal with. It also seemed very difficult to target the top or bottom face of an object to make it rise or fall.

Interesting concept though! Would be interesting to see where you went from here.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Really impressive portal-style game! I think the shaders actually make it harder, though -- I had a really hard time finding hard edges of things and figuring out where to go next in the world because things were blending together so much.

Music is pleasant, would've loved to hear some gun-firing or squashing sound effects!

Jerre says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Web version crashed twice on me when entering the first portal, Firefox OSX. Idea seems nice tho

taviandir says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Great game, but way way wayyyy too difficult. I couldn't get past the first level due to pure frustration cuz I had to try and estimate how far the thing should go before i turn it >.<

May 2, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Brilliant.

goblin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Great puzzle game, liked the idea of using the gravity as a weapon, music fits very well. But sometimes is hard to aim where you want to send the cubes
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Mantlair says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Nice idea for a puzzle game. But changing the gravity of the face you actually want is hard. And nice graphics idea from Antichamber. I will try to work it out. I am really new at untiy and never done something meaningful in 3D.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Very well made polished game. The graphics are slick but depth perception is an issue, also doing things "the right way" was often very punishing and felt somewhat unfair. (I don't know how but in the square room with the disappearing platforms I repeatedly bonked my head when trying to jump and failed to make simple jumps after a lot of set-up).

I ended up getting right before the end of 2 levels (playing them the right way) before dying somewhat randomly, after which I beat both levels the wrong way which was fun too.

Really impressive and slick for 72 hours but some people will be annoyed by the difficulty. Still great job.

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:12pm

I think this is a great idea, and has great style, but the difficultly curve is a bit harsh. There should also be more feedback to when you get shot. I didn't know what was happening the first few times I died, because I just got pushed off the platform, I didn't know if i hit a bug or something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]