Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Jump Gun

by renanlindner - Jam Entry

A Puzzle Platformer. You can't jump. but have a Jump Gun!

MUSIC BY

www.frecklestracks.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#36Innovation(Jam)4.06
#123Fun(Jam)3.68
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#205Overall(Jam)3.60
#345Audio(Jam)3.15

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:33am

This game is really funny. I love it.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:13am

I really like this game. The temptation is to rush the hard parts, but it seems like it rewards planning. Are the red guys supposed to damage or do something to the player? Because they were just going right through me.

Erkberg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:16am

Very fun concept, good execution. In the end I just kept spamming shots, which isn't exactly how you're supposed to win I guess, but it was fun (ended with more than 200 shots fired). You should probably add some checkpoints to which you can go back if you used to many shots to emphazise the puzzle component. Good job overall!

renanlindner says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32am

Thanks for the comments! Are really encouraging!

Joe: you get it! And no: I did not involve damage in the game!

Erkberg: i will! In fact I put checkpoints in the game, but had to turn them off because of a bug! I wil fix it!!

terpin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:38am

I love that your main sprite looks like an incontinent grandpa - it just tops off this game for me! I hope you figure out how to implement checkpoints, it would make this game that much more replayable for sure!

Scornz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:58am

Great game! I did that challenge in 50... :D All fives from me!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:18pm

The game said, 'Don't fall here', and I said, "Screw you, I'll do what I want," so I fell, and then I couldn't get back up. Music was 10/10 though.

CJ K says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Jump gun platformers unite!

Budaniel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I had fun playing but I'm not sure about the use of the theme. The mechanics are solid and there's a good learning curve.

binarycoder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Excellent concept!

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:19pm

A very cool game, I love the concept.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Now that's a very cool gun. Nice twist on platforming. My only complaint is that other than the enemy that blocks your shots I didn't see a point to the moving enemies.

August says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:42pm

I would've given you some poins for humor cause the 'don't fall here' made me laugh xD

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Really great game feel, and a fun, interesting mechanic of shooting yourself up to higher heights. I could see a lot of fun things develop from that simple mechanic, and potential variations on it. Very nice entry! Maybe the gold squares should give more reward for collecting them.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Cool idea! Nicely executed and cool music to boot!

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice work)

Strandypants says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I really enjoyed this game, great fun!

local minimum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:44pm

It is really interesting idea. And I think it could be built upon to make something truly fun. But it will be a narrow road where the details of how easy it is to climb a vertical wall or if it feels frustrating. One thing could be to let the character not move physically realistic, but let the character hover a slight moment before start to fall. It would be interesting with tilted surfaces as well. In general, it will be interesting to see where you take this. Good job!

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:16pm

nice and neat. with a bit more polish on the controls, it could be quite good. good job

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Loved the concept. I'd be interested to see an update to this. Good job!

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:32pm

This game has a really cool mechanic with a lot of puzzling opportunities. Good stuff!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I love this mechanic -- so creative and so playable! The last section is so much harder than the rest of the game that I think it will tend to ruin otherwise good scores. It would also be nice to be able to "shoot" when you're right against a wall and facing it. There is clearly a ton of potential for this mechanic and this game, so I hope you'll keep working on it. Great job!

Kardamom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:40pm

This game really has some interesting and innovative mechanics. Don't mind the graphics, the gameplay works great, wish there was more of it. I also didn't recognize any kind of win/lose condition, but that actually wasn't really an issue... Maybe you could just let the player do ridiculous stuff and not really care about score? :-)

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:21pm

This might be the best idea I have seen in this jam!

sekaru says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Genuinely a really good game. Gave me a Thomas Was Alone feel as a result of the sprites. Definitely enjoyed the mechanic, it was really well executed.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great game mechanic. It made me think in a new way.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:54pm

This is a really cool game! With what you have so far, I already had a great time playing this. Good work!!

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:14pm

This needs leaderboards so bad :P. Managed to collect all the squares (I think) with just over 20 shots! Could've used a few less too, but wanted to play sure on that last part. The mechanics downside is that you really need to know the level beforehand, or else you can't play optimally, which was a bit annoying for me. Well, after a few "scouting rounds" I had a good plan going so it wasn't too bad.

Nice idea, even though it really lacks polish. Played nicely with a controller. Only problem was that it was somewhat hard to tell which way you were facing because of the placeholder graphics.

jushii says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:12am

I think you have a good idea here if you keep working on it! :) Good luck! I enjoyed playing.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:01am

A little frustrating at first, but the gameplay really comes together. Nice level design!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:59am

Very interesting idea! I thought the orange square was an enemy and I shot it many times.

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:35am

Really nice work and creative use of the theme. I enjoyed playing this quite a bit. I was not able to do this in under 60 shots =/.

fueelin says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:33am

Really great game. Clever idea and lots of fun. One of my favorites so far!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:42am

Wow - as gamers you really take for granted the ability to jump. Take that away and you get something really difficult and interesting! Enjoyed the game, I think if you increased the ground friction to reduce sliding the platforming physics would feel absolutely perfect. Hope you manage to get the art in in the end!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]