Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Pixel Tanks

by thomz12 - Compo Entry

Multiplayer game created in ~24 hours. I didn't have much time left to fix bugs and add proper sound fx. To find out what the "Unconventional weapon" is, you have to buy it from the shop. (spoiler: you will be disappointed)

Objective:
-Destory all enemy tanks!

Controlls:
- Left Arrow / Right Arrow / A / D :: Move tank
- Up Arrow / Down Arrow / W / S :: aim barrel
- < / > :: scroll weapons
- Space / left mouse :: shoot
- CTRL / Shift :: adjust fire power

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#306Graphics3.48
#452Fun3.16
#590Humor2.64
#593Audio2.61
#680Overall3.04
#714Mood2.73
#1095Innovation1.76
#1104Theme1.96
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Nice game

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Fun, but isn't there already a game exactly like this?

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Nice little scorched earth game here; i like how it shows on a small sceen too :)

Freebios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:42pm

A game like this already exist elsewhere and weapon are not really unconventional, but graphics ares good ;)

thomz12 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Not exactly i think. I did take inspiration from a similair game. But added a lot of different stuff.

Mano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

I like how the umbrella can move your around in interesting ways. I like your hand drawn everything. Good job!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Graphics is definitely the strong point of the game. It's also well polished, even though the mechanics are very classic.

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Big work done on the mechanic and implementing the physic I think in only 48 hours, well done !

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Neat little time waster, shame it wasn't more with the theme

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:20pm

So I first figured this for a simple scorched earth style tank game clone, but when I saw unknown weapon on the upgrade menu I thought I'd hold out for that, see what the unconventional weapon was, expecting some pay off.

Wasn't worth it.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I liked it but I was really bummed by the "unconventional weapon".

May 6, 2015 @ 11:18am

Yeah I kinda like this. Fun little game to play in the office. Can be a bit frustrating getting stuck in a hole but otherwise enjoyable

OadT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:00pm

On a German keyboard scroll weapons is ; / : , maybe useful for others :D Nice game, but sometimes the effect of the wind is too extreme

SledKnight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Not really unconventional... but I love these style games and played for a good while against myself... lol

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]