Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Forest Of Hamelin

by LinusPrime - Jam Entry

A game where you fend off psycho animal poachers with the help of nearby forest creatures!

COntrols:
WASD/Arrow Keys = Move
Mouse: Move aimer
Left Mouse Click: Shoot animal
Right Mouse Click: Gather animals

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#266Humor(Jam)3.38
#324Audio(Jam)3.19
#382Innovation(Jam)3.29
#715Graphics(Jam)2.89
#788Fun(Jam)2.65
#910Overall(Jam)2.71
#2090Coolness26%

Comments

noxuma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Hahaha wow, I don't really know what to say, but the enemies remind me of quagmire. The game did make me laugh. Sounds are really good, and the graphics are clean. Well done.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09am

Nice job on the theme, definitely an unconventional weapon haha. Also really enjoyed the poachers yells and the game over music.

Feedback: I had some difficulty "shooting" the animals. It looks like they were all supposed to line up but they ended up lining up way below me and I could never aim correctly as a result. Also, since this was made with Unity, PLEASE make a web player build and upload it. It's a lot easier to play that than it is to download a standalone build.

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:45am

I enjoyed this take on the concept! And it had a charming graphical style. As Frenchie said, I had issues as well with shooting animals where I wanted them. Also, I wasn't too keen on the music. Overall though, nice work!

Pilly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:54am

I think there's an issue with the Mac version - in round 0, after the time ran out, it just kept counting down into negatives and there didn't seem to be any way to advance. I'll hold off on rating for now.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:10am

I like the idea but I am not sure about what to do after few minutes.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:24am

OMG! What should I do there?

pstudio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Novel idea in a nice presentation. The sound effect for the poachers is a bit annoying and just doesn't fit with the game IMO.

mockthebear says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:19pm

i really liked the voices
"arrghh you cant do this!" hahaha

AinoraZ says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Nice job on the theme. Gameplay was a bit lacking, but it compensated on the humor! Overall, good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]