Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Balls

by Teesquared - Compo Entry

Dungeon Balls

Survive the depths of this terrifying dungeon ... with only your balls. Have you got the balls?


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#592Innovation3.05
#635Audio2.49
#738Fun2.84
#740Humor2.37
#859Overall2.84
#987Mood2.21
#1017Theme2.50
#1045Graphics2.00

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04am

This game is haaard! For me anyway. I like the idea, it's an interesting mechanic to set up all of the trajectories before they all let go simultaneously. And I love the cheesy MIDI electric guitar music!

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Nice game. A little too hard; feels like you need to play it a couple of times and memorize the levels before you can beat it, since the time accumulates. The music is great.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The idea is actually pretty good but the time limit and fail state make it too frustrating to play, really. Nice effort and I think the core gameplay could be a lot of fun, but what is the time limit and the "back to the start" actually adding to the game?

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

@ManicMiner Great feedback. With no timer, you play thru once and are done. The idea behind the timer was that once you know a level strategy you pass thru it quickly. The max playtime is 20 + 5*10 = 70 seconds so it plays quick and does feel rewarding when you finish. And you should feel a little uneasy too (terrifying dungeon...). But yeah I totally see the frustration element. :(

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:22am

really cool mechanic. Great job on the level design and crafting puzzles :)

WiErD0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:33am

Really cool idea, but I find it WAY to hard. It might be that I am just terrible at timing and predicting trajectory, but I feel like it starts off at a difficulty that should be at least 5 levels in. Cool music and art, though, if a little simplistic (but its LD, so everything is simplistic!)

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:27am

Very fun game, pretty challenging though. That's never a bad thing as long as it feels fair. Maybe allow the player to get some time back when they hit a monster? That way they at least get "something" and are not tooooo frustrated.

I couldn't get past level 5, but great job!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:13am

Unfairly difficult! Despite having a great mechanic, the absurd time limit and difficulty of each puzzles makes it hard to appreciate the game.

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:48pm

I got stuck on level 2... oops. I liked the idea a lot, if you could scale the difficulty to be a little gentler, I would've played this game much longer, overall, nice start!

Flayk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:17am

The mood was very unorthodox and outworldly, which was refreshing. It wasn't really funny, but I don't think it was trying to be. The audio was catchy, but a bit too repetitive. Maybe bring it down a key? The graphics were okay, but I feel like they were place holders. I think it fit the theme of the jam very well, as the balls were unconventional. I had fun, it was pretty innovative and held my attention. Good work.

jfraser says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:59am

Hard game, really funny instructions.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Very interesting puzzle game. I agree with the other feedback about the difficulty. You should mention the timer in the instructions as I didn't even know there was one until I got Game Over and I was still planning the path of the balls. Overall it was a decent game with some rough edges.

Tselmek says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Very challenging game, the time restriction is a bit tough sometimes. Interesting mechanics, I didn't know I could defeat monsters with my balls ;)

igoramendola says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:22am

Oh, this is pretty cool! Nice mechanics. I played more than 20 times the level 6 before to realise how to beat it hahaha. It is very enjoyable. I like this kind of game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]