Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Freddy's Challange

by Shimone - Compo Entry

Hi there!
Just a quick warning: Freddy's Challenge is NOT complete, but it is playable. I hope you will still take a look at it since I spent a lot of hours on this game! There are a lot of things that are missing so I will try to fill the missing parts with a short description. If you have any question, feel free to ask!

Description:
You play as Freddy, a storyteller who loves stories. No matter how hard he tries, he can't create an original story. One evening he falls asleep and when he wakes up, he finds himself in a mysterious cave. The only thing he finds in this cave is a pencil. Help him find the way out of the cave!

Instructions:
-Arrows or AWD to move
-Spacebar to attack

The game has no instructions nor suggestions! (I didn't have time for them) If you get stuck, this are some suggestions:
- The first level/cave/dungeon to explore is the brown one.
- The second level is the white/grey one.
- After you beat the first level, you can move blocks if you attack them.
- After you beat the second level, you can double jump.

I would LOVE to hear your feedback about this game! If you don't have a Windows only game (I don' have windows), leave the name of your game in the comments section so that I can take a look at it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#79Graphics4.10
#84Audio3.72
#172Mood3.48
#251Overall3.52
#402Fun3.23
#675Theme3.19
#765Innovation2.78

Comments

scorder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Nice! Graphics and audio are great.
I tried quite a bit but the game is frustratingly hard.
I couldn't manage the first cave :(

Thanks!

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Good game. creepy inded. need the music and sound for better ambience.
nice fx with the girl get in on fire.
Thanks for sharing.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Ohhh boy... i got confused with the last entry.
that was meant for another game. sorry...

the actual comment on the game is this:
Great game. like the adventure feeling. the graphics are neat. also the music.
I absolutly love the angel thing when you died.
Thanks for sharing. :)

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Love the graphics and the art! Very nice! The spikes seem a little too unforgiving, though. I liked the idea of the game, and how his weapon was a pencil.

Donni11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Hard ... but AWESOME !!

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Game was a little too hard for me, but the graphics looked great!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I tried playing the game, but it was somewhat laggy, which made it too hard for me. Oh well. The music and SFX are cool, and the graphics are really nice. I really like the angel when you die, too! :)

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

Like the graphics style, slick controls (but sometimes laggy), and a good feel in general. Too hard though :D

The weapon of choice seems quite imposed? But I guess this makes it funnier :D

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:10am

Nice graphics and game, but the respawn time could be much quicker since there are so many ways to die.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:18am

savepoints would be nice. otherwise one of the best games i've seen so far!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:26am

Solid platformer that provides a good challenge. Really liked the graphics as well.

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:27am

Liked it. Tried and tested mechanics, so not many points for originality. Stil had me playing for a while.

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:31am

Didn´t know waldo had a son.Great music and graphics, but the movement was like walking on ice even then first cave
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

siryakko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Just awesome, graphics, sounds and music are excellent. Once you get the controls, the game is real fun. Nice job!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:03pm

awesome.. but hard.. i wish you make it easier to play..

Shivur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Beautiful game

ceosol says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:18am

Skill jump platformers are not really my thing. But I do think this game was incredibly well executed considering the time frame. The music, graphics and feel are mesh very well together.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Nice game and beatiful graphics, but it's too hard :(

killako says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:06am

Controls are a bit unforgiving, great audio and graphics though!

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:14am

The weapon feels quite imposed, but there are some small areas of polish here that made me smile when I found them.

jk5000 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 9:32am

Great music and graphics. You dies a bit too fast.

AinoraZ says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Liked the game idea and really enjoyed the graphics, but I found the fact that you have to start over if you died very frustrating. Other then that, love it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]