Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Drop The Cube!

by Portals - Compo Entry

Welcome to Drop The Cube!

Your Unconventional Weapon is a drill. With that, you can drill a hole right down to trick your enemies to fall down into them. Try to get the highest score by tricking as many enemies as you can, if you can't? Escape to the next level. The more levels you go through, the harder it gets.

How to play:

Move with W-A-S-D, place holes with arrow keys.

You can see where you can place holes with the four translucent holes around you. You gain a a point when a cube falls into a hole. You die if you fall into your own hole. You have three lives. When you get hit, the rest of the cubes disappear and you lose one heart. To walk to the next level, go through one of the four doors. You can't go through the door you came from.

This is my forth Ludumdare! Second that I finish! Old profile: author/TheTheodor. I'm really happy with the simplicity of the game and the mechanics. Might need some more adjusting, but the time isn't with me. I have to study for a math test for tomorrow (The day after Ludumdare).

Happy Ludumdare! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#376Innovation3.36
#564Theme3.32
#608Graphics2.96
#704Overall3.00
#745Fun2.83
#877Mood2.48
#925Humor1.67
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:03pm

It takes a little while to get the hang of it, but in the end I thought your game is pretty fun to play. Well done!

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Like the idea and the graphics. Great Work!

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54am

Sweet idea and easy to play once you read the instructions =P

all it needs is a little music or sound

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36am

Enjoyable game, making you think on your feet a little. Sound/music would make this excellent in my opinion.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:55am

Fun little game!

I'm not so good at multi key controls but I made it to level 11 once.

I can see distant echoes of PacMan here! I did best by running first, putting a hole down, letting the enemies run into it, and then switching hands for the closeout nav to the door.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in!

I'm not part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09am

Nice game, The holes are completely unconventional! :)

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

The art style is simple but really effective. I enjoyed it overall but felt like it got repetitive really fast.

morokiane says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

I like the concept. Be nice to be able to click a hole to place it with the mouse.

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:00am

Fun! Didn't take me long at all to get into playing this. Forces you to try and predict the route the enemies will take to leave traps for them.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Decent idea for a game, could be interesting if expanded a bit to include different kinds of enemies. It could almost be a puzzle game based on predicted enemy movements.

I found it hard to see sometimes as some areas seem quite dark, and enemies were a bit easy since you could just wait until they were right next to you and use the corresponding hole.

Totally unconventional weapon though, good work.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Like Tijn said, a little confusing at first, but when I got of hang of it, it was very fun. I guess my criticisms would be maybe the holes that you did could be a little darker, or have a different sprite, also it seems it starts out on level 2?

mikomic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52pm

really nice game :-)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Simple but fun, the guidelines for the holes is really helpful.

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18pm

It's very nice overall, nice mechanics nice levels and all :D

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice one! It takes some time to understand the controls completely

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

A nice game that makes good use of the theme with a simple and effective design. Well done.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:41am

The lighting works well in setting the mood. Did find myself just running from room to room at the start but once I figured out how to use the mechanics better it got more interesting. Liked the concept and thought it was well executed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]