Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

An Unconventional Boat

by zell2002 - Jam Entry

Your boat is slowly dying, and you must jump ship to stay alive.
Each boat you swap to will begin to die.
You must follow your compass and make it to the hidden island before sinking.

W = Go Foward
A/D = Turn Left/Right
Space Bar = Swap Boats (when in range)

Made by a team of 3 including myself (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/zell2002/), jon (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/jonsul/), and phil

all of the sounds, arts and codes were made for this jam
we used love2d as our game engine, cubase for sound/music and various image softwares for the arts.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#206Mood(Jam)3.50
#262Graphics(Jam)3.79
#324Audio(Jam)3.19
#351Innovation(Jam)3.34
#368Overall(Jam)3.39
#578Fun(Jam)2.97
#708Theme(Jam)3.09
#722Humor(Jam)2.44

Comments

NAL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Gorgeous presentation and a great idea for a game, if a little simple. My only big complaint here is the scarcity of boats - I could run half my life down going at full speed and encounter nothing, only for the one I finally did encounter to just clip a corner of the screen and be far too far away to take over. Given the time it takes to take one over in the first place I felt the density needed to be upped a bit. This could be a wonderful game with a little extra TLC!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

A good idea. A little too often there are no boats nearby, especially in the beginning.

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

I like it! But I dont know if its fits the theme. Graphs are very great! Congratulations

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Took me a few tries to make it, but it was fun each time! The controls seems to not always be that responsive, but I think it was just the way I was attempting to maneuver the ships. Either way, great entry.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Gameplay seems far too random, as the boats seem to just be random; but an interesting concept for an arcade game.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Pretty impressive visuals. I would wish that you had a few more mechanics to play with, so that you aren't completely at the mercy of RNG.

zell2002 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

** UPDATED **
hey guys, we decided to spawn more boats, and change the transfer speed - makes the game play much smoother.
cheers for all the constructive criticism !

as for tying in with theme, the ending of game will explain all

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09am

I love the atmosphere!
It was interesting to play

thecord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I love the base gameplay, but it depends too much on the random number generator

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Simple and yet very nice idea. The execution is nice and I love the graphics!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

good game nice idea

borgi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Cool concep! I really liked the water style and the clouds over it! Nice job!

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

The water looks fantastic! I don't really understand the win condition or where I'm meant to be going. It also still feels very random because you can just get unlucky and not see another boat for a bit leaving you helpless.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:30pm

The game looks absolutely stunning! Beautiful particle effects, gorgeous water and awesome boats.

The idea is simple, but very fun. It took me multiple attempts before finally making it to the end. The game even has some replay value as it is quite random.

Overall an excellent entry!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08pm

I just wanted to let you know that your game made it into my list of top 10 games for LD32!

https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=80063&p=183180#p183180

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:46am

Fantastic game! Great visuals, calming music, really unique gameplay premise. Reminds me of Sunless Sea. If you polished it up, and maybe added boats with different characteristics to give the switching mechanic more depth, this could be a great little game.

zell2002 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:05am

@Windmill Games, cheers for the Top 10 award! lol
it really means a lot to us see people enjoying the experience!
We realised after reading some of the comments, that the whole game doesn't come together until you get to the end, which I guess you can see :)

@roving-stone, we did a post-mortem the other day and acknowledged we were missing a couple extra mechanics to flesh out the whole experience. the other boats do have 2 differences : speed and health. Maybe we should have highlighted this more to the player

thanks to everyone for their positive words and constructive criticism!

jsmars says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Really nice concept and presentation.. At first I thought the first island was the goal and tried many times to board it in some way until I realized that the map was much larger.. Really nice job!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Very good idea! Maybe lacks some music while in-game. Otherwise really great!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

Really pretty game! Fantastic job guys!

GlowingSnail says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:22pm

- Don't name your game LD32 please.
- Clever use of shader for water.
- Doesn't fit the theme, sinking boats aren't weapons. Unless you take into account the twist ending, which isn't fleshed enough to make sense.
- Why do these boats even have reactors?
- Thanks for arrow keys support.

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Interesting game. It looked really nice, and the music and sound was pretty and non-interfering. The gameplay felt kind of sluggish, but it was fun siphoning off other boats to stay alive. The border of the world was kind of hard to see. The water is really beautiful! The main menu could've used a bit more work but the rest of the game is really polished, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]