Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hungry Eddie

by Damian Elkins - Jam Entry

Hungry Eddie is a platformer made for #LD32.

You play as a very hungry yeti, and your goal is to eat the meat at the end of every level. This game supports keyboard and gamepad controls.

The controls for pc are "W" to jump, "A/D" to walk,"S" to stomp, and "space" to use your ice breath. In gamepad mode the "enter" key is used to switch to keyboard mode.

This game supports gamepad input. For the XBox controller "A" is used to jump, the d-pad is used for walking and stomping, and "X" is used for ice breath. In keyboard mode "start" is used to switch to gamepad mode.

The graphics, design, and programming were done by me. The audio was done by Scott Mitchell.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2469Coolness0%

Comments

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Freezing breath as an idea seems cool, graphics and sound effects are also decent, but one thing is downside of this game; controls. Sometimes its hard to just jump over block (if you are touching obstacle you just jump vertically). You could polish movements, it's the most important part of the platformer after all.

Aside that i enjoyed your game and i hope to see more games from you in the future.

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:01am

That's a very COOL mechanic... Haha, get it? God, am I a funny man...
Anyway, great entry! I think the jumping could be a little more forgiving though.
Keep up the good work!

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:04am

this game was very cool, but some things that bothered me were,

the lack of control when you jump (like how if you're not moving you can only land where you started, and not be able to influence where you land while in the air, this was particularly annoying when I would get right next to a step and then have to back up, then jump while running)

also it was hard for me to easily distinguish how much ice breath I had because of the dark blue on black color scheme for the bar.

Overall I enjoyed the game, I just wish it had a little bit better movement.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09am

It's been said here a lot, but controls definitely need some work. However, I love the sprite work and the mechanic is really interesting. Would love to see this taken further.

As far as aesthetics go, I think the game could really benefit from a more comfy ice town feel, as apposed to ,what I'm assuming, is a frozen ruin type thing. Just personal opinion though, but I love comfy ice levels

Great work though, keep it up!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Same critique as everyone else, so I'll say instead that I really liked the player sprite/animation and the scrolling background, music and snow fall added a really mellow atmosphere to the game. It really felt like a snowy day. Good work!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

freezing............

Damian Elkins says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:53pm

To all the wonderful people who've played and commented, I'm sorry It took so long to respond. I'm working on a post-jam version of this game that addresses the control issues and adds more polish. Thank you all for your feedback.

May 11, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Great job on your game! I enjoyed watching it come together. I had a lot of fun playing it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]