Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Introspection

by rlangewi - Compo Entry

Sometimes the most common weapons used against us are the voices inside of our own heads. Especially in the context of artistic creation, it is crucial to fight off negative thoughts and combat them with positivity.

---CONTROLS---
Move/Fly => WASD/ZQSD
Aim/Shoot => Mouse/Left Click
Toggle Fullscreen => F4
Back/Quit => Esc

Fight off the waves of negative thoughts, and capture positive thoughts to further empower you in your fight.

Game/graphics made in Game Maker: Studio, music made in Pixitracker, and sounds made in sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#56Mood3.82
#172Audio3.42
#219Overall3.56
#251Fun3.44
#382Graphics3.34
#562Innovation3.09
#745Theme3.12

Comments

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32am

This is a neat little piece - I like the art, though it can be a little hard to read at times.

Also, Norton thought this was a virus - hopefully noone else has this problem!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Cool graphic style and musics! But the gameplay is a little bit hard.

Nice entry =)

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08am

It seems new for me to be attacked by words:) Good music. I got 22p finally.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13am

I really like the thought behind the game, very nice indeed. Very clever as well. The gameplay was actually in my opinion really quite well done. I love how the gravity pulls you down, so it makes dodging a little harder which makes the game seem more fun and tense. Over all very solid game!

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:16am

Consider me really impressed by this. Not only does the game have a statement (rare in jams), but it also feels polished (also rare in jams). The one thing I've noticed missing from a lot of games this jam (including my own) is the lack of good player feedback - something this game has in spades. The bullets hit with force on enemies, the letters explode satisfyingly, the enemies defeated build towards something (the sentence), missing with bullets feels like you are hitting empty air in strong contrast to hitting a foe, and dodging has weight and takes effort. All this makes a merely interesting game into a really good one.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Enjoyed this a lot, thanks - as someone else said, excellent player feedback systems - there is a clear outcome to everything

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I liked the art style and the demotivational messages as enemies. Good work!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:17am

Could use the Mario-style "get hit, lose a powerup" mechanic to make for longer playsessions.

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:43am

I thought it was pretty funny, would've rated on humor too :)
Not sure if it's a very original take on the theme.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Strange, but pleasant GFX. Nice work!

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:08am

Cool theme. It'd be nice if the shooting were more...unconventional.

Junber says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Cool game. Got 42 after i instantly died on my first try.

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:41am

Nice entry! Liked the art and music, loved the theme of fighting bad thoughts.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Really great work! Innovative take on the theme, with a delightfully unique atmosphere. I love it!

pistolshrimps says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Overall very enjoyable. The music got a bit tiresome after a while, butr the graphics are really nice.

TeamSpatch says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Simple but nice graphics.
No second chance ^^
In fact the enemy is unconventionnal. The weapon seems more conventionnal.

robboberty says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:13pm

It's pretty interesting and fun to play.

good luck!

I made a video of my gameplay: http://youtu.be/QbfcfwPSQFE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]