Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fungual Sizing

by Maxom - Compo Entry

Your weapon is the ability of manipulating size.
You have two different spores. One spore can decrease the size of mushrooms and the other one can increase the size.
It's a 2,5D puzzle Platformer which has some really challenging Puzzles.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#208Theme3.79
#257Innovation3.55
#320Graphics3.45
#344Humor3.13
#475Fun3.14
#512Overall3.21
#562Mood2.92

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Wow, your game looks pretty cool! Sadly I can't run your game, because I'm on Mac OS X. Could you compile your game for Mac?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:20pm

The physics are a bit glitchy and I don't think getting one-hit-killed is appropriate for this kind of game. The graphics are good. Full points for theme and innovation. Well done.

Maxom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Sorry, I don't own a Mac, so it won't be possible. :(

Waterman7 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Bin nicht weit gekommen weil ich groß bleiben wollte. 10/10

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Nice models and lighting, looks nice!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57pm

A very cool game mechanic, which made this a lot of fun, if not challenging. Checkpoints could have gone a long way to help the game out. Other than that it fits the theme with some very sneaky puzzles :)

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00pm

My computer isn't good enough to run this. Looks cool though!

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Had trouble playing due to a low framerate and the rather unforgiving death mechanics, unfortunately. Some combination of a gentler introduction to the mechanics and/or checkpoints would be nice.

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Cool concept. The execution is a little off (e.g. the jump feels a bit weird when running, and the encounters need balancing a bit to make it easier), but the idea is really solid. I guess they're supposed to be fungal spores or something that you're firing? I wish you could fire them forwards without having to run and then stop. I think for the sake of rating the game, you should have allowed the player to be hit more. I ran through it three times and got killed by the small guy after falling through the gap each time.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Graphics look good. Physics need a bit of work, very hard to play.

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Nice mechanic, i really tried to beat your game but the lack of checkpoint make me give up. the collision are too precise or not enough i don't really know but there is something off about them that made me miss some jump i was sure to get. overall you made a good game, that was cool to play :)

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Ahh too hard! I was quite far and had to restart from the beginning :( But really good overall! Made me wanna retry many times until I got the hang of it! Great idea!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Very good graphics and animations.Nice level design but why is that game so hard?it made me rage quit.You should include some checkpoints.Other than that the game is super cool.Also this game made it to the list (that i would be interested to play) if you complete it some day!Great job!

xandy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12pm

sorry couldn't play, the frame rate was too low

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Very neat mechanics.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:20pm

The grow/shrink mechanic is really clever and well-executed. I think the instructions could be a little clearer that you can throw the pellets at enemies to grow or shrink them. It didn't take long to figure it out, but the way the instructions are phrased makes it sound like you can only grow or shrink yourself. A little bit of audio would be nice too, but I can't judge you on that :) Anyway, great work! You're definitely onto something.

grillaface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Really liked the graphics and idea of shrinking / growing but had I really hard time getting anywhere!

tonypai says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I love the size scaling idea, and it's quite funny! Good job :D

May 8, 2015 @ 1:54am

Pretty cool idea, you should start with something easier and progressively get harder. Maybe a small tunnel then a large jump then enemies. Other than that I loved it!

Interface says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:12am

Cool graphics and great mechanic. As others mentioned, checkpoints or ways to save progress would be good.

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Good entry, and very unconventional weapon :) The fact that you can still move after death is a bit confusing you should lock the camera or block control after death.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]