Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Evil Cube: The Game

by lxd1 - Compo Entry

Game isnt finished, Lots of bugs. Maybe i'll try again next time. :(


You have to save the world from evil red cubes. Then only way to kill the cubes is with sheep.

*Click and kill the sheep to get sheep ammo
*Right click on the ground to move and rotate
*Left click to shoot and kill the evil red cubes
*Don't get near the evil cube or it will kill you
*Press the spacebar to change views

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#300Graphics3.49
#786Mood2.64
#836Theme2.96
#847Fun2.69
#890Innovation2.59
#967Overall2.65

Comments

pixelspirit says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:21am

Is there only one level? I like the colours and the rapid-fire of sheep. I'm not sure about the kind of, inevitable glide to the player when you move though - it is kind of a thrill to try to place yourself strategically and avoid the red cubes at the same time, but it's also a bit frustrating.

Aumni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:14am

Cool game! I enjoyed shooting all those tiny sheeps! :P I don't know if there was a limit to how many you could shoot but I kept shooting them after the game ended haha. Maybe it would've been nice to have to move to the big sheep to get ammo instead of simply left clicking it from far. In any case, good work!

Chippington says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15am

I wish there were more than two levels. It's simple, but could be a fun game with a bit of work.

Hairein says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I loved the visual style and the setting of the game levels! Learning the controls took a moment but I think the game idea came through OK. Thanks!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Good visual, i want more!

snesgaard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Sad too see that there are only two levels, really nice presentation and a funny premise.
Did not like the controls much though, would have preferred Resident Evil style tank controls over the current mouse driven approach.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Random-ish controls over the shooting cube and it's too bad there's only 2 levels. The mechanic is interesting and could be explored in more developed levels. Looking forward more of it!

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Controls were a little awkward, and there certainly could be more to the game, but I liked the visual aesthetic of it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The art style was clean and consistent, which I liked. The controls were a bit limiting, especially trying to click a bunch just to get the white cube to face where I needed to shoot. It was funny and satisfying to launch the sheep ammo. I'm interested to see where this would go given more time in development.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:51pm

loved the style!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Beautiful game. Shooting sheep is sure unconventional, but it's still shooting... Nice work.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I was sad to see there are only 2 levels. Kinda hoped for some puzzle elements down the road.

grillaface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Haha nice fun to fire the little sheep. Wish there was more, good job!

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:04pm

The sheep-shooting animation is great, hah. As other people have mentioned, click-to-move may not be the best control scheme for a game like this that's based on directional aiming.

Taldius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I really like the graphics, and the idea of firing ship was fun.
I'm sad that there is not more levels.
Anyway, good job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Interesting idea !
Not easy to get used to the controls.
I found it frustrating to restart from the first level each time I failed in level2.

yuigoto says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:22pm

It's a shame you couldn't finish, but you tried and made something, even if it's just two levels. :)

The graphics are nice and cute and I'd like to see more sheep shooting. :) White cube's controls would work better without this point'n click style, though (even more with the second camera angle). :P

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Cute little box sheep :3 i agreed that the visuals are cool, great work :D

freeholdgames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I really loved the visual style; I thought it was beautifully done.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I also made a game about fighting evil cubes... Might wanna check it out :)

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44370

jk5000 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Nice graphics, especially the sheep is great.

chromebookbob says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Fun, but really frustrating controls.

OadT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:22am

I wanted to give you a humor bonus for the idea :D too bad you didn't selected humor for voting :( Anyway nice style!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]