Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Selfie Assault!

by mint - Compo Entry

ONLY CAMERAS CAN SEE THEM
ONLY SELFIES CAN KILL THEM
NO FILTER. NO MERCY.
SELFIE ASSAULT!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#6Theme4.44
#9Innovation4.32
#62Humor3.88
#144Overall3.68
#305Fun3.36
#484Mood3.00
#758Audio2.14
#1026Graphics2.12
#2387Coolness10%

Comments

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:51pm

All in all? I thought this was pretty fun. It was a bit confusing how the mechanics worked, but I definitely enjoyed the experimentation. Quite innovative, and definitely an unconventional feel. Good job!

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:51pm

This is a pretty fun concept :) I wish the controls were a bit better though, because I can't seem to turn around properly? Maybe it's an issue with Mac OS X, but once I move my mouse completely to the left, I can only turn about half way :/

A little more audio wouldn't hurt as well.

But the idea of the game is pretty cool!

Sverik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Cool idea, and actually works, too! Nice to have some audio in it, as well. Would have been nice if the cubes were textured, or had an interesting, unexpected shape, to give a more horror-feel.
It has an annoying bug that the mouse cursor is not captured when running in windowed mode, so it's a bit challenging to take pictures because clicking the mouse buttons might take you to other windows.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Very nice idea, if improved you could try to sell it.

RedSorrel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Really neat idea! This would make for a great horror game if the boxes moved in on ya! I think the camera (just the player view) needs to be changed, when I moved the mouse it felt really wobbly. Maybe adding a camera shutter sound to reinforce that we did take a photo, would have made this game a bit more satisfying along with some music.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51am

Really liked the concept. I only wished there was some chase to the cubes? They present so little threat that vanquishing them almost felt mean. :)

With that in mind, I do really love this use of the theme. Very...cute?

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42pm

It's the first time I actually began rating the game before playing it. I set the humor to 5. I laughed my ass out before even launching the game ;D
Man, this concept is just golden!

I would suggest saving actual screenshots when taking selfies ;D

The only thing I disliked is sound. No music, no sound effects for actual selfies :(

Anyway, that's a really really solid entry! Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:17pm

I really like the idea, but there wasn't really any challenge in the game, the way you executed it. It was mostly walk-around-and-take-pictures-of-these-green cubes. Like I said, great idea though!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Oh man I loved this concept. This would be terrifying in a horror settings. This was so cool!

ss64games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Haha, this is a great concept. If you keep working on it I can see it being absurdly funny with graphics (I'm imagining our character making duck faces and peace signs into the camera while ghouls and goblins shamble up behind them).

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice one! Love the implementation of signal quality ;) Good Job!

Null DIES says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:01pm

This could turn into a nice horror game, I was expecting a jump scare at every step I took, I'm not the kind of person who likes horror games, but I could imagine people liking this if it had more horror!

stvr says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

I love this. It would be neat if you could only use the reverse camera, and if maybe the boxes moved or posed a threat in some way? But I really love the concept overall.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:56pm

The fact that you can only see them through the camera gives this a sort of scary vibe. Nice use of the theme!

monika says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

That was really fun. It reinded me of the old movie "La Macchina Ammazzacattivi".

Is there a way to tell if you got them all? I think I did, but I'm going to be looking through my cell phone camera for green boxes uneasily for the rest of my life.

FeniX says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Great idea! This could be a bit more creepy if there was a sound played when te green box appears on the screen. :D You could even add some points/achievements based on the number of green boxes in one selfie. ^^

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This is really innovative and I would really like to play an improved version of this game. This is a prototype who really deserves to be turned into a bigger game!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Clever use of the theme, liked the selfie photo as a weapon idea. Just wish the movement was easier when using the reverse camera.

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I wish the green enemies had a bit more life into them but the concept itself was pretty cool and interesting and I think it would work really well in a horror game (like some sort of Fatal Frame/Project Zero for the Twitter age).

May 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Really neat concept. I included it in part 12 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/m_vzNeNUn1c

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]