Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Light Spirits

by EvilTroopa - Compo Entry

"The light spirits make one with the power of the light and then ascend once they reach absolute unity with all light waves.
Some of them get stuck with only a few light waves absorbed and need help to feel complete. Some just need an extra push to implode into ascension.
This is when you get to use the Light Gun. Fire some light power with the correct color complement on the light spirits to help them take a step into a new form of existence."

My little contribution to LD Compo, I hope you'll like it, done in about 36 hours. Now I've got a head ache and should rest a bit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#230Theme3.75
#286Mood3.26
#362Innovation3.38
#375Audio3.04
#471Graphics3.17
#704Overall3.00
#870Humor2.05
#944Fun2.50
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Good, but it's really hard to play :)

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Really cool and creative!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Interesting idea, though the targets were pretty hard to hit. Definitely fit the theme. Looked great as well. Good job!

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Very cool idea. I also like the black and white presentation.
The light spirits were a bit too fast for me.
The input setting felt strange to me so I changed the movement keys to WASD in the Settings.

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Hard to play. Aiming is almost imposible.

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Fun idea and nice music, but I got stuck several times and it was very hard to hit the lights

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

As noted, very difficult to play. If you work on this further I would really suggest a tutorial lesson. Something where you teach the player to combine colors (on the gun) correctly to match the intended complement of your target.
It doesn't help that the targets move very quickly and/or erratically. Perhaps moving to a "wave" system where it ramps up the difficulty would be helpful too. Either way, good job on getting this out there!

Jerre says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The painting, and mixing of colours is nice. The mouse is way to sensitive, so I could not hit anything, also I would've liked to steer with WASD so i could am with my right hand.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Looks beautiful! Very moody and atmospheric, although the cheerful chiptune runs contrary to that. There is definitely a learning curve, but it's a fair one. Is it just my computer, or is the mouse control super sensitive?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Awesome game! It is hard to learn the basics, but after it is is really impressive, and challenging.

rburema says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

thougths:
- music is really nice, sets the mood together w. mostly grey background (also makes the colourful ghotst nice'n-visible)
- mouse sensitivity was way too high, took some getting used too
- also, why are the balls of light affected by gravity? ;-)

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

mmm pretty nice game...
Thanks for the azerty keuboards like me ^^ (but hope you think about qwerty too...)

loved the idea/ innovation use of the theme.
Too bad there is no sensivity tweaking option and the level design is violent for the eyes :/

The game has lots of potential. good entry overall !

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

I like the mechanics but you just ask too much from your players :) I am pretty experienced when it comes to additive colors because of my day job and still I was overwhelmed shortly after the game started.

As a player I had to 1) walk around the room, 2) point my gun at 3) moving colored targets while 4) mentally assembling the correct complimentary color, and 5) operating the color switches accordingly. That's very challenging and for me it was just too much.

Interestingly your mechanics are similar as those of the compo entry Color Elementals which isn't a bad thing, but the freedom you give your players as compared to Color Elementals (fixed camera, only a few 'lanes' where enemies advance in a predictable fashion) works against it.

I have the same advice for your game: In the first levels/stages/waves, have the player mix the color s/he sees in the enemies in order to get a hang of the concept and become somewhat skilled at it, then add some complexity, e.g. by moving targets (somewhat predictably) and have them stick around long enough before they fade out.

Design-wise you can give of all the challenges for your player an individual "difficulty" level, e.g. moving around = 1, pointing & shooting = 2, switching colors = 5, thinking of the complementary color = 6 and so on. (Those values are very subjective, of course, but in general should do well). With that kind of "metric" you can design waves and levels in ascending difficulty, e.g. first level only stationary enemies (point-and-shoot difficulty of 2) of a single color (= not operating switches). The second level needs the player to move around (+ 1 difficulty), or to have targets of a second color, so the difficulty steadily increases.

Sorry for the wall of text, I guess that's becoming kinda my thing here! my point is: Interesting concept, nice execution for a prototype, you should look into building upon the mechanics and having the difficulty ramp up much slower. Nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:11pm

I really liked the idea... it is a bit hard to play due to the aiming / high mouse sensitivity though.

Loved the music :)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:34am

Its fun but aiming is kinda hard, may be because there is a lot of movement or I just suck at shooting.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Controls could use some improvement, but the concept of the game is very nice, good entry.

AinoraZ says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Really, really creative o _ o.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]