Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ridiculous Bird Hunting

by eastes - Compo Entry

Shoot birds with a Beliebler Blow Horn or Millennium Falcon.

WHAT I LIKE
I love how the theme song turned out. Millennium Falcon sounds awesome with good speakers.


WHAT I DON'T LIKE
It's fun game shooting birds with the conventional weapon, not so much with the unconventional weapon. With more time, I'd like them to involve deeper game play.

Disclaimer... Post compo, I have added hidden cameras for screenshotting gifs (used only for trailer video) and pause/mouse bug has been fixed.

Made for Toni, because she has a fear of Birds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#92Humor3.76
#155Graphics3.82
#221Audio3.30
#317Fun3.35
#321Mood3.21
#441Overall3.29
#498Theme3.41
#841Innovation2.67

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:05am

Nice. Love the blow horn.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54am

Great game. I'm have very joyfull experience. And usage of Han Solo vessel for hunting birds is very fun.

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11am

Hilarious! Watching the Milennium Falcon tear into those poor birds was great.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26am

Duck hunt goes star wars~! really fun, wish there's upgrade of the weapon tho, it would be much fun~!

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47am

Lol. Really cool game. It was fun :D

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20am

11/10 for Bieber Horn ~IGN

Park says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:26am

It's a bit inconvenient that clicking to begin the wave also shoots the gun, especially when the Falcon wipes the early waves and sends you right back to the results. :P

Great color choices, enjoyed the mood and sounds a lot. :)

Chibougamau says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59am

The audio plays weird for me. It's like there can't be multiple sound effects at the same time. Sometime the blow horn does not play sound. Anyway, it's fun to play. I like the choice of weapon.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:18am

Really nice graphics! But the gameplay didnt offer much for me, sorry! Also i couldnt get past the first level cuz my game bugged on firefox.

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:31am

Some lovely and funny ideas, and the graphics and music set it off nicely. Gameplay is a bit limited, but enjoyable nonetheless.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47am

nice graphics, lovely touch with the blow horn, may slightly break the compo rules though :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Funny entry. Poor little birds. I like aesthetic. Thank you ++

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Now I want MORE unconventional weapons! Please make some more!

Kassimkot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

oh God this is so awesome. that horn is really the ultimate weapon. i've always believed that beibers voice could kill

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Well done! Awsome graphics :)

mar3k says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Amazing!!! And the Bieber gun is really funny idea.

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

aww yeahhh..

Noxlof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

This is cool and funny! I like it!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:14pm

The first few moments in this game were pretty funny. Very fun to play. My only problem with it is that there is way too little weapon variety. I would play this over and over just to see what kind of weapon I get next.

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Very nice game! I love the bieber horn. Games need more bieber, and rainbow colors!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

haha very good use of the theme, very funny game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:03pm

It's fun and pleasing looking but it doesn't ramp up in difficulty or add new things so it gets boring after 2 minutes.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:32pm

The blow horn was hilarious and it really killed those birds dead. Fun little game, good use of theme.

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Graphics were all gray in my version, but I won't vote it wrong. Interesting game, the weapons were great, specially the millenium bird :P

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Nice clean, simple graphics. Need more weapons!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28pm

As a joke, sure. The game... well, there isn't much of it, is there?

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24am

This game cracked me up! Great art style (i'm a big lover of low poly, hence my game) and the idea is very creative. I wanted to get more obnoxious weapons so bad! Good work. :)

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24am

As you asked eastes, here is my review on your game. First thing: it's huge. It'll take me half at least an hour to download it. After 40 minutes I've finally played it. I really don't know how this game was so huge, since it's so small. But small doesn't mean bad. Graphics were ok, audio was ok (except for the Belieber Horn) and the Belieber Horn was unconventional, even though it didn't have any innovative mechanics (same for Millenium Hawk). It was fun to play, but only for a very short amount of time. If you want to work further on this game, you need to create new mechanics for the weapons and something that would encourage the player to play more than just 2 minutes. For example, make it a rail shooter with a story and a shop with weapons and upgrades (people love buying weapons and upgrades). Overall it's 3/5 to me. (For me 3/5 is a good game, but lacking some features)

renatopp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28pm

hahaha you should add more weapons in a post compo version! Nice job

_Rilem says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:58pm

That believer horn XD
Like you said the game is a bit too easy, but fun nonetheless.
I like the birds they are funny looking, somewhat like zeppelins :D

strong99 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Funny game to play!

recursor says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Where is the link to the source code? Compo entries require it.

recursor says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:53am

I do like the look of the graphics. The sound is quite good too. Having different unconventional weapons to choose from is an idea I haven't yet come across yet. Nice job.

celisoft says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Very geeky and funny game :-)

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:03am

Cool game and awsome graphics! Nice Job

diegomachado says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Low poly art! <3

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:21pm

I've had tons of fun playing this absolutely amazing game. Humour was quite nice, although there wasn't really any challenge. Graphics were quite nice too. Overall, great job!

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:23pm

5/5 for the graphics, it's so colorful! And the Bieber horn and the Falcon are both really good ideas.

This would be better if the player was able to move, it's a little bit frustrating to not be able to move.
It would also be better with the music shut off or reduced temporarily when Bieber sing (even if maybe more difficult to endure, haha).

PS: Poor cute birds :(

herniewise says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:10am

Biebergun was hilarious!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:28am

This is CRAZY¬ I love it :P

Boberro says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I looked at your previous games and well... you might have a bird problem.

I loved the art style, and overall level design - giant, not so subtle block with game title was a nice touch.

I wonder what's legal status of remixing Justing Bieber in compo game?

DarkGrisen says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:06pm

I prefer the conventional weapon so i dont know what to say about the theme XD

The game is really fun but I wanted to walk around :(

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:35pm

visually looks good, and the millennium falcon gave me a chuckle. could use more variety, but its a compo entry, so thats ok

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:14am

Lack of ability to invert the mouse + high mouse sensitivity means that I can't actually hit the birds.

May 5, 2015 @ 3:40am

Love your unconventional weapon and your art style.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:42am

Your game was gorgeous. I smiled so hard when I realized how the Belieber weapon worked. I had to stop and think about what I was doing and try to frame the context (it was still very hard to not make it ridiculous no matter how hard I tried to rationalize it) I loved the saturated colors and the low poly style. I know the Millenium Hawk was supposed to be a joke but it actually looked really cool. Loved it :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:44am

love the bieber horn - great weapons - awesome game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]