Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Town Is Mine

by camlang - Jam Entry

Ruin the reputation of your lifelong foe and take control over the city with a bunch of handy skills: blackmailing, hoax spreading, bribing and more! But be wary, you may see your old hangout photos in a newscast.

HOW TO PLAY
This game bears general mechanics of a card game. You play in turns. In each turns you can play any number of cards as long as you have influence points (golden coins). Each card has it's own cost and effects.

There're two types of cards: those that effect or affect opponent stats (red header), and those that effect or affect your stats (green header).

Stats are:
1. Community - your reputation among the folks
2. Politics - your reputation among polititians
3. Criminal - your reputation among mobs
All these stats add up to the general reputation.
Each player starts with 6 reputation (2 for each stat).

As soon as any of the stats goes lower than -20 or general reputation reaches -30 player looses. If the general reputation reaches 30 player wins.

Discard costs one influence point.

CREDITS:
Music by Jeaniro https://soundcloud.com/jeaniro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#88Humor(Jam)3.80
#165Overall(Jam)3.66
#200Graphics(Jam)3.93
#249Mood(Jam)3.44
#277Fun(Jam)3.37
#395Innovation(Jam)3.27
#478Theme(Jam)3.41

Comments

ccglp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39am

Feels somewhat repetitive, maybe with more time to make more card types it can be better. But has potential anyway.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48am

can't see the unconventional weapon :(
seems like a game prepared from before.

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49am

Are the odds fudged in favor of the computer? The AI seems to just get better cards while I rarely get a hand that I can afford to play more than a single card from.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25am

I like card games and this one is a good card game.
Love the game mechanics and it also has a good replay value.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:25am

Nive style, but more cards needed. And it seems that randomizer don't like me as I couldn't get any cards increasing community and my oppenent had many "-comminuty" cards...

P.S. Characters are awesome :)

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Well polished, interesting game. Not sure how it fits the theme, but it was fun anyway! Could be really impressive with some post-LD expansion and fine tuning! Good entry! :)

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Not a fan of card games so my fun judgement might be a bit harsh in some people's eyes. I liked the graphics but it just looked like a pretty wrapper around a simple numbers game, and my numbers always seemed to be lower. The strategy is far less important than getting good cards.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:29pm

I really enjoyed playing this game. From mechanic standpoint it's too much based on luck but you still have to make smart decisions to win. I really like art and music.

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Awsome GFX! it would have been nice with more cards, that would also improve the fun i think. Well done!

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47pm

The IA have always better cards :/ A way to obtain influence would be good, also to start first flipping a coin or whatever.
You can check our game too if you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

I never understand the mechanics of card games :D but it looks really nice! :)

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:40pm

I had a blast playing this, especially given the great theme. Great fun!

Stals says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:42am

Like the game, also the way that you see how AI is kinda considering his moves =)
I think it would be cool is different stats also had some effects on some cards - like you can get -2 politics to opponent in addition to -1 IF you have +5 criminal or more (and stuff like that).
That way you will have strategy to first get this much criminal before using this card, but it will be more cost effective than card without this sort of effects.
But that is just a thought. Great job anyway!

LimeniusTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Nicely done, loved the graphics and played for quite a while. Well done!

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:23pm

I won! Shame, I didn't even noticed which stat I've lowered. Would be nice not to immediately pull blank screen with victory.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Really hard, but definitely one of my favorite games for Ludum Dare 32!

Teesquared says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Fun game and very polished. Played it a few times. I liked the take on the theme. Sound and graphics fit nicely too.

DaniDK says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Wow.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Nice game overall. I feel like I have few options in every turn (I -almost- always get 3 and 4 cards so I only can use 1 per turn). There is a bug in the internet troll card, it decreases community counter instead of politics one (or it was the opposite? :S).

But is a good idea overall, I liked it :).

Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice idea, it has potential.
Right now is just matter of adding or substracting numbers. But adding some special cards, maybe something as simple as inmunities or multiplicators would make for a nice game.

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:10am

A really fun game. More different cards, please.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]