Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Slime Quest

by XeroCake - Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare compo.

EDIT: Files reuploaded to itch.io to solve missing Data folder
EDIT: Added Mac port

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#599Theme3.29
#608Graphics2.96
#626Audio2.52
#896Overall2.78
#906Fun2.58
#1044Innovation2.17
#1601Coolness42%

Comments

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Cute graphics. We can't dig (vertically i mean) ?

strong99 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Yes, I found the princess! I really liked the game, cool graphics and nice game to keep playing.

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

@Bastienre4 Thanks! Yeah you can't dig vertically only horizontally.

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

@strong99 Thanks a lot!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Its beatable, not tiresome, mostly not buggy and dare I say adorable? I dare, heck I ludum dare say its adorable. Good work!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:20pm

FYI: the Windows download only gives you the .exe but you need to include the data folder too in order for it to run.

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21pm

@fleegle2000 I'll make sure to fix that. My apologies.

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

You have to add the Data folder for your Unity game, can't just have us download the .exe or it won't work! I suggest zipping it up and re-uploading to itch.io

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

@I am doing that right now, thanks for the information!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Lovely graphics :)

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

@ViliX64 Thank you!

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

It was pretty fun, but the controls were a little funky. (more so the reactions to controls from the slime player) It was pretty hard but I had a good time playing it :p

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

@conno1234 Thank you for the suggestions. I did notice while developing that the controls were amiss, but I didn't have time to fix them. I'm glad you found it fun.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

It probably only does it to me, but the game spaz out around every 3 launches, some of the tiles glitches when the game begins and I often loose life for reasons I ignore.
Apart from these little things, cute game and interesting "weapon".

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

@Tselmek Hmm, that's quite odd that there are those glitches, as I didn't experience them during testing. The reason you may be loosing life is because an enemy might be very close to you and it fires a rocket really quickly. I'll make sure to test it some more though, thanks for rating!

Zayron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Yay I found the princess! The controls were a little off but not to bad that I could not play. Nice job!

XeroCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

@Zayron Thanks!

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:46pm

What an awesome game! Neat music, cute graphics, great fun. Sure some unconventional weapons!
Could use some polish, it's easy to learn but hard to master, it's really confusing when you die, because usually you are like "What happened?". Also respawning was sometimes bugged for me.
Mechanics make the game. Rather than just attacking everything, you have to kill the smart way so you don't die.
Oh and did I tell you how much I love the music and sound?
I love it. Great work!

XeroCake says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:23pm

@joppiesaus Thank you very much!

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Sometime when I spawn the ground dissapear and everything is falling ( monsters too ) Apart of that the game mechanics and the music seems good.

XeroCake says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:51am

@Benjamin Thanks! Yeah, that does seem to be a common bug that the ground disappears. I unfortunately haven't had much time to fix it. Thank you for your comment.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]