Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TiMeD

by jepp2078 - Jam Entry

On the left side of the screen there's an ability wheel. Each second the next ability is fired. The wheel and the text on the screen will tell you what the next ability will be.

Round shapes are abilities. When you pick one up it will be placed on the upcoming ability slot.

You start the game with the "Beam" ability. It will fire each 6 seconds since its on the wheel once.

A/D or ARROWS to move.

Space to Jump.

Beat enemies to score points. When hit by enemies you die and the game resets.

-----Alt+enter if the game starts in full screen! It's meant to be played in windowed mode!-----

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#71Innovation(Jam)3.91
#473Audio(Jam)2.87
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#612Theme(Jam)3.23
#727Overall(Jam)2.97
#741Mood(Jam)2.73
#809Humor(Jam)2.24
#908Graphics(Jam)2.26

Comments

AkirAssasin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I like this game!

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Not bad. I'n not really good at it though. I like the ability wheel. If you align the abilities you can get some nice chains.
Congrats.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Man, it's hard! But I loved the concept!

Stechas says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Nice test of my skills. That random factor for changing the mode makes the game special. Nice!

JoJoV69 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Nice, i like the ability setup, I got four jump boosts and i could fly.

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I like this game and the whole concept of it. however I was really terrible at playing it.

I really like the idea that actions are performed rhythmically. While the sound was good I could imagine using this system to make dynamic music.

I really liked how you could combo moves together.

Very smart game and I would like to see it fleshed out into a more substantial project.

jepp2078 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Thanks a ton for the comments guys! It was a blast making it too! We would have loved to be able to make it even more crisp!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Awesome ideia! I really liked this game =D

NuSan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Cool idea. Having to think about the timing of picking item is hard. Maybe having a button to activate the current slot would give more control. Also resetting after each secting would be more puzzle game. I like when game play with sound like that, keep up the good work:

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

The idea is very nice. Gameplay is solid though there are no goals so it's pretty easy to not pay attention. Would be cool to see any efficient plans on scoring max points as far as layout is concerned.

dvdking says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:27am

What a great idea!
The implementation is quite bad though.
The game is too hard, mistakes are fatal, hero gets stuck a bit to the walls.
As for now it is just nice prototype. Would be great to see more juice when destroying enemies(like explosions, camera shake etc). It is currently not very satisfying to kill.
Sorry I am being a bit too harsh.
I would love to see it implemented properly. Good luck!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Nice concept. With some improovements this could be a really fun game. Good work!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

I really liked the concept! Great idea! I feel like the level design could use some work - dash was really annoying when trying to level the starting area.

AdamW says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:14am

Nice game! It's really hard, and the platform physics could use some refining. But the idea is really unique!

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Nice idea that works. Pretty impressive! The first area could be more forgiving/teaching. There is a bit of disconnect between the circle and what's going on as it took me a little bit to figure it out. Maybe if the pickup animated into the wheel when you collected it, that could help. The enemies that fly at you right away is pretty brutal.

Choosing to skip the dash instead of picking it up was my way to escape that first part but seems kind of not intuitive. That could be a good puzzle for later.

May 6, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Awesome concept! I simply loved the skills wheel, excellent "unconventional weapon"! The mechanics are awesome, but it's too difficult to coordinate the different movement abilities. It's too easy to get stuck in a hole when you override the boost by mistake. Despite that, it's a fantastic game! 5 stars! :D

DaveCarlile says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:28pm

This is a great concept and was implemented well. It would take awhile to get good at it. I sucked. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]