Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

QTST

by DeltaF1 - Jam Entry

Quickly, Throw Something Together!

This is a game thrown together at the last minute, about throwing things together at the last minute. You play as the silent hero, wielding your powerful Plank of Wood. As you make your way through this dungeon, you find bits of armour, weapons, and detritus to lovingly attach to your plank, and to each other, granting you stat bonuses.

Controls:
Use WASD to move, Mouse 1 to attack.
*The mouse currently doesn't lock, so playing fullscreen with dual monitors, or playing windowed, may cause problems*

*Keep in mind that this game was barely finished, and may crash, or not work as expected*

Credits:
DeltaF1 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/deltaf1/)
FileCorrupted (https://twitter.com/filecorruptedgm)

Coding: DeltaF1, FileCorrupted
Art: DeltaF1
Level Design: FileCorrupted
Sound Effects: FileCorrupted
Music: Kevin Macleod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#222Mood(Jam)3.48
#262Graphics(Jam)3.79
#500Humor(Jam)2.90
#504Overall(Jam)3.23
#639Fun(Jam)2.87
#708Theme(Jam)3.09
#812Innovation(Jam)2.55
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Sean says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Really nice aesthetically. The enemies seemed to have a much larger reach than expected, but I got used to it after a couple tries.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35am

i couldnt seem to move!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:59am

Good atmosphere and fitting graphics. Seems like it could potentially be a fun engine for a full fledged game.

That said, the combat part of the engine feels lacking. Some additional visual feedback would go a long way.

jooshkins says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:00am

I had problems moving as well.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:13am

Interesting game. Would have liked a little more range on the initial weapon, and maybe a whitebox around the weapon stats, but otherwise a good time. great mood music and lighting. well done.

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:45am

@lucidsheep @jooshkins Try the downloaded version? The web version isn't working properly.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51am

I couldn't play the Web version in Chrome, the loading bar would reach the end but it wouldn't start. I assumed it was the Unity Player issues, so I just downloaded the Windows version. I played it fullscreened, but for some reason the mouse cursor wasn't hidden while playing. I ignored it and played anyway since I was just happy it was up and running. It also seemed to not have an entirely consistent frame-rate, but I understand it was rushed.

Visually pretty nice for the time-frame, basic of course but it does the job and has a nice voxel-ish aesthetic.

The atmosphere the game had was nice, which I think the audio helped a great deal with. I'm not quite sure about the weapon or what exactly was special about it as I gathered parts. It seemed to function the same throughout? (read the description, stat boosts are vague but that's a good enough answer). I couldn't notice those effects in-game though.

The enemies were fine, fairly sluggish but they still ended up hitting me because their attack range seemed to be the same as mine. It seemed like they would sort of insta-attack when you're in range, but it wasn't really an issue because you tend to have enough health to sponge it.

Some of the enemy positioning was kind of nice. I found some of them were kind of hidden behind walls. So you could enter an area and be surprised by them behind you, which was nice.

The game ended after the part in the screenshot of the game, which was very sudden and I'm not sure if I reached a defined point or just cleared all the enemies or something. Very unclear how I finished the game exactly.

I'm not exactly sure what else to say about it. Your team notes that the game was heavily rushed last minute, and well... it sort of feels that way playing it. I could tell certain things weren't in or developed long enough, so it does come across as being very pieced together.

I'm sorry if all that's very discouraging to hear. But it IS a game and you guys stuck with it to get it submitted rather than giving up, so that's admirable. Congrats on getting it in, I'm sure it was stressful.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51am

Linux please?

SowiHowl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:49am

On mac, the Exit button wasn't working. Otherwise, I found it a little bit too dark to play. Maybe a health bar or something like animations when you hurts yourself would be an improvement !

NIGIC says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:50am

Managed to finish it, though pretty much had to rush through the first half to have enough HP to last through the second.

Lighting kind of worked early on (a bit too dark maybe), but once past the ladder it seems like it just broke; everything but the actors and the large pool of (lava?) was pitch black, making navigation mostly guesswork. No way to exit/reset either outside of ALT+F4 or dieing, making falling into those pools (or just reaching the end) a bit of an issue.

Needs a bit of refining, but the base idea is neat. Music lends to a nice atmosphere. Graphics were clean, and level design had some clever bits. Good work

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

@SowiHowl There is a health bar, and a red screen when you are damaged.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Excellent idea, graphics, and mood. The gameplay though was a little lackluster. I'm not entirely sure how to hit enemies without getting hit myself. Also, the mouse not locking was a pain. Great start and I'd love to see more!

jplur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:10am

I fell in the lava and couldn't get out :( Lovely graphics though, and I liked the idea of objects conglomerating together into a super weapon.

sorlok says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I loved the weapon combining mechanic, and the feel of the environment was really well done!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Nice, but why are we fighting Franklin the pixellated turtle ? :)

Dege says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I liked the graphic style, I love 3D pixels, really! Those flames, bats, ooohh those cubic blood drops! XD It reminds me of Eldritch or Delver.

Unfortunately it is too hard for me, or I didn't get something, because I can't go past the room with the ladder :( Maybe you could make enemies bounce back a little when hit? ...Also, I played fullscreen, but mouse cursor is really disturbing: I would have hidden it and placed a fixed cross in center of screen, what do you think?

Overall a good entry, nice use of theme with the impromptu, gradually improved weapon, congrats!

UrbanHelsing says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Look really good but controls are not perfect. Mouse does not lock to the window edges so i cant click without unselecting the game window.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]