Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Block pushy zoom-zoom!

by BearishMushroom - Compo Entry

So, here we go! It's done!

The only real challenge I faced when making this was that for some reason requestAnimationFrame was resulting in weird lag issues, so I'm using setInterval instead.

Oh, and the music also sucks.
But... it's better than nothing, right?

The controls are explained in the game itself, enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Fun3.77
#137Innovation3.77
#175Overall3.64
#435Audio2.91
#495Graphics3.14
#498Theme3.41
#533Mood2.95
#882Humor2.00
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

I like the concept of pushing/pulling the block as your weapon, but it was a bit frustrating because of how difficult it was to aim. Also, for some reason, the music wasn't obnoxious, despite its very short loop. So nice job of whatever mind tricks you played there.

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

Very hard to aim, but the block mechanics are sweet ! Great job on finishing a game, I'd love to see it become something bigger :)

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Nice idea! I actually like the music!

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

nice innovation fun and graphical effects !
Really liked the gameplay even if the handling is somewhat tricky. Scored like 20 after some tries , played for more than 15 minutes. Good game !

that being said , music is a bit annoying.
and please, think about people who have azerty keyboard...

but good entry overall !

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Simple but very interssting concept. The music isnt that bad either its just that short silence when it loops.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Great game. fast paced and addictive. My best score so far is 12!

Daporan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Music is kind of repetive, you can abuse the movement system by going diagonally and you can just keep doing circles to stack the enemies. I got 78 points in one hit because of that. Good job making a game though.

jthistle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Great name :D really liked the concept

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Tough but really satisfying gameplay, and great visuals!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

The block mechanics is sweet, specially for two play if there are. Simple and interesting, you made something as simple as a block game amusing to play with.

furriKira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

This is so nice I wonder if this is played in multiplayer versus.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice, simple mechanics! I really like the visual feedback you get from pushing the block and destroying enemies!

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Such a cool mechanic! Really loved the gameplay.

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Great graphics and I especially like the small animation touches.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]