Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fatal Attraction

by erbridge - Compo Entry

Fatal Attraction is a gravity based arcade game. Rotate your ship and use your gun to change the gravity source. Try not to crash into anything.

Best experienced in fullscreen.

Note: WASD / ZQSD are enabled as alternative controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#37Innovation4.10
#237Audio3.26
#256Mood3.31
#296Overall3.46
#330Theme3.61
#434Graphics3.22
#461Fun3.15

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22am

LOVE IT! very original. Didn't last very long, but it was super fun for the little time I was alive.

taras_v says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40am

Intresting idea
But very hard to play.

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40am

Pretty fun, the sound effects go well with the game. Enemies are a little tough

iMer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:41am

Can agree with SuperPokeunicorn.
Quite original and with a bit of practice you can even last a bit longer

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48am

Very intresting movement system. Took me a while to understand I had to hit the things to move but when i got it I found it fun.

christophowa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

Very fun, a nice twist on an old classic.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:02am

Great concept, is this using the 2D Physics effectors in Unity 5? I wanted to do something somewhat like this, glad someone did it. Great music, great simple art, sounds and overall presentation. I agree that it's hard as nails and takes a bit to figure out but liked it a lot! A little better explanation / tutorial up front might help.

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:51am

That was really hard. I think I started to get the hang of it but once I got moving fast it seemed like the game was out of my control.

The music in really nice and the art style is beautiful. I especially like the parallax in your star field.

Yakka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:53am

Very hard to understand, and even harder to master :D But this seems like a great idea! Perhaps with more feedback on how the gravity is applied, you could have an excellent game!

ThirdMoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:58am

Nice Game! Cool Idea & Fun!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Neat idea, simple but well made! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q8RvVjW24Io

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:00am

A bit difficult, but otherwise a great and well-polished game.

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:00pm

At first I was like wat, then I understood. lol Great idea.

rudra says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Pretty nice one, though I found it a bit difficult, but that's my bad :P Really liked the parallaxing background and the audio. Overall, pretty well made ! Cheers ! :)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:20am

This game really needs a progress bar for loading, but aside from that it is fantastic.

May 5, 2015 @ 4:36am

Very Innovated, but just doesn't have that addictive game-play. Its a fun little game though.

Pat Kemp says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Clever mechanic! I found it pretty difficulty to aim at a specific square. The graphics and audio were clean and unobtrusive. Nice work!

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Neat idea that often left me spinning out of control. Not really sure what feedback I could give that would improve the game, to be honest. I felt like the core concept of changing other object's gravitational pull is a bit broken.

Neat experiment, though. I'm glad I played it.

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I love gravity games and this one is a little different. I also like that you can score yourself on time or top speed. Good stuff.

jackrugile says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:15am

Fuck me, I love and hate this game so much. Such a cool mechanic, which takes time to get used to (in a good way). However, the fact the screen wraps the enemies makes it way too chaotic too control. You are so zoomed into the action that it's insanely hard. If things didn't wrap, and if we could see a little more of the world, this game would be spot on, in my opinion. Anyway, I had a blast and it was so fun ;) The music set such a dark space mood too, very nice.

erbridge says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Thanks for all the feedback. I've implemented some of the suggestions and in the post jam version (see the link).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]