Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The true Weapon

by ccglp - Compo Entry

THE TRUE WEAPON

*********************************
The true weapon is my third entry in a LudumDare. With this game, I wanted to get a little more complex that with my other Ludum games, this is the result, a platformer game with "weapons" and 5 finals. Can you unveal them all?
*********************************


*************************CONTROLS***************************
W: Enter places
A & D: Walk
Z,X,C, & V: Special actions (Spoilers, duh!)
***************************************************************



**************************ABOUT ME**********************************
Hi, my name is Carlos Cortés. @CCGLP or @CCGLP_DEV in twitter and I'm a spanish guy studying videogame design. I also am the main programmer and producer of another videogame group @MindMakersStudi
********************************************************************


If you read all this, thank you for playing my game and read this. Please leave a comment if you feel like it. :)





UPDATE DIARY:

Shit happens. Typo in level 3. "Speak with friends can be useful" instead "SpeakING with friends can be useful"




PD: If you don't enable cookies in your browser, you won't be able to play the game, unfortunately. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness95%
#521Mood2.96
#626Audio2.52
#813Theme3.02
#882Humor2.00
#948Innovation2.46
#1008Fun2.30
#1019Overall2.57
#1070Graphics1.86

Comments

polegar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Really nice atmosphere very clever game, good lifetime.
It's pretty hard but in a good way, sometimes I was a bit lost but I think it's part of the game.
Really good job ! :)

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Good level design and non-liner progression. I didn’t get the ending but oh well.

Sverik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17pm

That's one crazy game. Unconventional weapons, yeah, that's right. I played through the game and didn't even figure out what did X do. The door was blocking the description.
It was pretty difficult at some point, and still I finished it, so there's something to it, definitely.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Neat ! I like the music and the "You Died" screen, which I saw a lot :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Game visuals with the cloud background reminds me a bit of braid atmosphere. Did get a bit lost while playing.

AlexanderTeaH says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

An interesting concept. It was fun, but very hard. Music is great, though.

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

You Died

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44pm

morbid non loopable music, excellent mood

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:53pm

The game has a disturbing atmosphere (in a good way), like entering someone's dream. Sometimes, multiple music tracks play simultaneously (or is it by design?). Another thing you might consider for future entries (not that relevant here), is keyboard layouts for different countries. The Y/Z are such candidates which are swapped here in Germany :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Thank you all for leaving here your opinions.

Yeah, I forget about other keyboard layouts, yes. My apologies.

(The multiple tracks playing simultaneously is by design, and only happens after grey portal, but thank you anyway :) )

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Difficult. Minimalistic. A move animation had been nice.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Very interesting ideas, but extremely rough around the edges.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Great atmosphere. I really like the feel of the whole game :)

benjih says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Fantastic use of the screen. I get a real arty feel from this and could definitely see it being expanded out into a bigger game.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Lovely music

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Psychedelic! I feel like I'm inside a New Gaiman book. Nice Job!

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29am

Can not pass the red level...
It is a crazy game...

FrederickK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31am

The music is great! But the gameplay is kinda confusing sometimes.
That part when you have to talk with an enemy was really strange, because the game says you can talk with "people" and that thing sure doesn't look like it. I understood that is his nightmare and all, but still, I thought it strange. xD'
A little more polishing would make the game much smoother.

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

Very good overall. I am not too sure what "the truth" is though.
After the "All your actions have consequences", I was expecting a different "truth" if I beat the game without killing anyone. But no :(

Awesome job.

akymos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:11am

Tricky and intriguing. good atmosphere...love the discouraging "you died" screen. Nice job!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11am

was there supposed to be different endings? tried afew times but didn't see any difference. nice music

ccglp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43am

5 endings, if you do different things :)

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice mood. Thought I will give up after dying a lot in the beginning but after some time it's getting easier. Good game :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:11pm

What? Mass destruction weapon is awesome. Nice game guy, nice mood.

PD: Sometimes the hero can't jump, but maybe it was me.

grillaface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Nice mood. Difficulty is a little frustrating but pretty good overall. No matter how much I died I kept retrying so that's a great sign :)

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Nice, creepy mood, the nightmare vibe is well done. I also like the mechanics, they make up for interesting platforming puzzles. My only complaint was that having WASD for movement and then right below ZXCV to use the skills felt a bit uncomfortable.

Either way, congratulations (e deica outra)!! :D

frogcheese says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:21pm

The mood was good, and it's cool that you've implemented multiple endings. My major issue with this game though is that it's based a lot on trial and error. An example is having to approach and talk to a character that's continually shooting missiles at you in a random pattern. I had to try that one several times before I could do it without dying and it was basically about luck.

Other than that I think it's a good job for a 48-hour jam. :)

drludos says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Good mood and nice entry, and quite a challenging game.
For a post-compo update, you should try to make more "non-QWERTY" keyboard friendly :)

AinoraZ says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Very hard and confusing game > _ <. I like the idea you had to talk to enemies though. Seems like a pretty good game and with better graphics I think it could get quite big ^w^! (at the moment, things are a bit hard to understand). Overall, good game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]