Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Silent Rage of The Chicken Throwing Crow Masked Man

by giordanno92 - Jam Entry

=== Please read this ===
THIS IS HIGHLY UNSTABLE... AND UNFINISHED!
Strange skeletons appear at your doorstep, who told you to live near the graveyard, anyway? While these skeletons come at you with lemons, apples and... huh, their own heads (?), you must defend yourself with chicke... wait, what? Yeah, that's right, CHICKENS!

Our second #LDJAM and we (by we, I mean I, the programmer) went a little ambicious by developing a full fledged editing tool along with the game. The only thing missing was the scenario editing which was done in tiled (but could have been done ingame, if it wasn't for the time left :/)

A D to MOVE
SPACE to JUMP
J to throw chickens

F7 goes FULLSCREEN

You can access them by pressing:

CTRL 8 for edit the walls, LMB inserts a new point, RMB deletes a point. Select different groups of walls by pressing Q or E, create new groups of walls with SHIFT, and place the walls precisely with CTRL.

CTRL 0 for edit the entities on the map. Q or E for different types of enemies. CTRL for walking enemies and right click to delete enemies.

CTRL 7 gets you back in the game to test the changes. BE careful, you can easily break the game XD

I know I won't get really far with this project in terms of competition, but it was fun and stressful at the same time.

I'd like to thank:
Gabriel Fernandes (twitter: @_GabrielFer) for the character animations and scenario and
James (twitter: @jtangc) for all the last hour help with the scenario
I programmed and composed the main theme, you can follow me on twitter @rafaelgiordanno or my team @sheetcoldgames

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2387Coolness10%

Comments

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:28am

The game doesn't start. It says

"Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: me/sheetcoldgames/ld32/DesktopLauncher : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0"

Which JRE/JDK do I need to run it?

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02am

@Horsed You need the latest JRE, I used 1.8 to develop this one.

animanegra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:19pm

I had to download java 1.8 in order to play ^^. It is nice, but in Mac I can see the boxes you use in order to detect the collisions between skulls and the crow.
really nice artwork.
The j key for fire is a bit... weird. But probably I am not the good one to criticise you, because I have put the shift key to jump in mine. It is nice to see other java programmers here. ^^

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Awesome idea! It's so cool that you can just edit everything! Awesome graphics too. Awesome job!

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:05am

@amimanegra Thanks for the comment, it's nice to use Java even though it's frustrating that some users are taken back because of its internal and public problems. But we do our best
@ChuiGum Yeah, I liked this idea so now I probably won't ever need to code an editor again, just polish this one, thanks!

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Awesome art style! Tight controls and solid level design. :)

May 6, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Although the gameplay is not innovative, it's very competent. The chicken throwing "skill" it's a bit random, maybe you could make a little more predictable? The art style is simply fantastic, both the characters and the scenario! The music didn't play here, though (I'm using an OSX).
Overall, it looks like it'll be a great game once finished! Nice job! :D

May 7, 2015 @ 11:48am

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
Dude, that's just hilarious! :D
It's a real shame, that it's so short. Controls are super tight, and comfy, and I really liked the retro-style, purple tinted graphics. The whole mood reminded me of a DOS-era game from my childhood. (Titus the Fox, anyone?) I had some issues though. Start-up was a lil' hard: on one of my PCs, I couldn't even get it to work, regardless of the JRE version. On movement (especially jumps) there are small, glitchy lines indicating the tiles. Oh, and I didn't have audio, so I cant rate that aspect. :/

Nevertheless, that's a cool concept. And you've even created a dev tool for it? Nice! Please make a post-jam version!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]