Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Runner

by Kraosu - Compo Entry

Jump between parallel realities as you run to save earth!

Use the differences between parallel realities in order to move
from ship to ship to finally reach the alien core and destroy it.
________________________________________________________________________
GOAL OF THE GAME:
________________________________________________________________________

Earth is undergoing a full scale invasion by virus infected aliens.

After the intro, you start on-board one of the Earth Forever ships
with the Xiolous in hand you can travel to other parallel dimensions.
The placement of ships are different in each dimension thus allowing you
to essentially end up in a different ship when jumping to a different dimension while still being in the exact same spot (enabling you to close empty space or pass breached hull). The goal is to reach the last ship.
________________________________________________________________________________

Understanding the Xiolous:
(just some random lore)

1:
The Xiolous cannot accommodate any change of time.
So, time resets every time you jump.(Why aliens are back in their starting positions when you jump back again (without having killed them).

2:
Anything that is effected by the Xiolous is permanently effected as if it had always been in this state. (An alien ripped to shreds by a jump is wiped away from the memory of existence for that particular dimension it was in)

3:
Its sentient.

4:
Its inter-dimensional, in this case that means it can travel between dimensions.It also allows your contentiousness to travel with it, between dimensions. Everything else "transported" by the Xiolous is simply eliminated from one dimension and reconstructed in the new dimension according to the rules of that new dimension.

5:
Its quite attached to you.



////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////_________________________________________________________________________
UPDATES:
_______________________________________________________________________________
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

-fixed the crash bug.

NEW UPDATE!
-fixing the second crash bug!
-it is now slightly clearer how to play the game

NEW UPDATE!
-fixed more bugs!
-even more slightly clearer how to play the game
-end game music! by Werner Potgieter!



BIG THANKS FOR THE COMMENTS! =D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#39Mood3.95
#121Graphics3.95
#511Innovation3.16
#512Overall3.21
#660Theme3.21
#738Fun2.84
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54am

I've got this error message :

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Mouse Event for Glob Left Pressed
for object o_char:

Unable to find any instance for object index '142879'
at gml_Object_o_char_Mouse_53
############################################################################################

Anyway I liked the fast pacing of the game, fitting with the music, but well, I don't understand anything what was happening (went to dimension 22 I think).

Liked it tough.

Anyway aren't the battleship in background from FTL?

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Crashed after the message, but the graphics is beautiful, very atmospheric, so I put you 5 stars there :)

Kraosu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Yeah, what a bastard re-spriting ftl battleships and using it in his game... I did put effort into making them look different though, I will create ones from scratch soon :)

Squidtank says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:12pm

A bit confusing at first and I'm not entirely sure I understand what's going on yet but nice game nonetheless.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I have NO idea whats going on but this game is AWESOME

Butkeim says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:13pm

It crashed one time for no real reason?? The Graphics are pretty good but a portal gun as a weapon? not really unconventional

snesgaard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Some good, fast paced action. Music does a lot to build atmosphere. A shame that it crashed after a minute of gameplay.

ermrk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Nice graphic, music and atmosphere. But I probably did not get, what is goal of game. Just run to right and jump to another dimension, if path is blocked?

runvs says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Alternate dimensions as a weapon? I like that idea.

I recognized the FTL battleships as well. I'm not quite convinced if you made all the graphics yourself. That's why I refrained from voting in that discipline. They do set a great mood though.
The music really drives you through the game.

jojocanard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:52pm

############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Mouse Event for Glob Left Pressed
for object o_char:

Unable to find any instance for object index '152914'
at gml_Object_o_char_Mouse_53
#######################################################################
I got this around dimension 26

Great mood

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Graphics and music create an awesome mood. Very well done!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:27am

it's really hard to get what is going on, but that's part of the fun (for me at least)! nice graphics, nice sound(that adds to the confusion), good game. i enjoyed it

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:30am

Like others say, I have no idea what I'm doing, but it's pretty captivating :) Thumbs up in the art department!

Kraosu says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I realized that while the game is somewhat complex to grasp that seems to be a good thing too. In-fact you can get one of the three endings by not knowing what is going on and just going right and frankly that's intended. The third ending is very hard to get though not impossible.

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:14am

I really liked the atmosphere, especially in the prologue before the action got started.

(John McBryan)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]