Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sophistication Annihilation

by Newt_ - Compo Entry

In Sophistication Annihilation, you are cast as two gentlemen attempting to protect culture and sophistication from the boorish influence of uncivilized media.

Translation: You fire missiles at televisions from the back of a horse.

Not convinced yet? Features include:
*Intense side-scrolling battle against difficult enemies.
*Utilize the power of words by literally blowing things up with them.
*Skill-demanding mechanics test your inner gentleman.
*At least several mind-blowing sound effects
*Cameo appearance by High Horse, who was not animated by a matter of artistic choice, and totally not because I ran out of time.
*Score based, so you can brag to all your friends about how successful you are in life and why they are puny and meaningless.

Thanks for downloading! I appreciate all feedback!

UPDATE (4/20): Fixed a typo and an annoying backspace bug that I didn't notice last night. Source updated as well.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#94Fun3.78
#103Theme3.97
#128Humor3.66
#134Innovation3.78
#162Mood3.50
#182Overall3.63
#614Audio2.55
#659Graphics2.88

Comments

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Some word were refused, i don't clearly understand zhy, but that was funny.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Incredibly fabulous horse!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

@el_kloklo: Which words? Also, you can't fire a missile until a TV comes onto the screen, so maybe that was it.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:04pm

That's a very fun concept.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Good game. i made 22954 pts
very funny. i was freking out qhen they take away my keys hahahaha
Thanks for sharing.

hexdie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Very interesting idea! Could use some music and some animation though.

chaosed0 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Amazing. Near the end I was reduced to typing "ha" as fast as I could; made it to 79036. Only complaint is that there isn't any music.

matthewd673 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53pm

I don't normally enjoy typing games but that was actually really fun! Good work.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

very interesting concept, congratulations

celisoft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Nice idea and I like the fact that it's made with Python / PyGame. How did you generate your .exe file from the .py ? It's very useful ! I keep the game on my hard drive in order to replay it, this is very fun !!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Awesome concept. I haven't played word making games in a while but I really enjoyed yours. Great job!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

Great concept, it really tested my vocabulary. Losing keys was also a great way to limit the player and penalize them from taking hits.

The only recommendation I could give would be a way to more quickly delete entire words quickly without having to press backspace over and over.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:09am

@RyanNielson Thanks for playing, and for the suggestion! I'm not sure if this is what you mean, but when you a guess a word incorrectly, you can either backspace or just start typing to clear the panel and enter a new word.

dallonf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:55pm

They took the vowels first.

10/10

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:25am

Haha, i like it, good game. Rly rly fun! Thanks for make this game ^^

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:47am

Heh, another great entry! You should really keep it up!

FrederickK says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:00am

Great idea!
5 stars on innovation! :D

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:12pm

You, sir, are a gentleman and a scholar. Very innovative idea, and very fun and addictive to play. My high score was 142732! :D

FeniX says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Great! That's an awesome idea! I really like the mechanics of losing letters when hit by TV. :D That's a pitty there are only few sounds in the game. Nice background music would make the game feel better.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Wow, that's was super-challenging! Really unexpected gameplay =) Also like easter egg on funerals =) Nice dark humor. But with more and more tries i want faster way to replay. Like spacebar or something.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Sorry, messed up browser tabs =)

KaiseanGames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Very nice concept.
Destroying my keys? No, you don't! :p

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]