Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Death Run

by Boltz Interactive - Jam Entry

*Intended for mobile web* Controls are optimized for touch screen
Tip: Duck + Jump = Super Jump

This entry came from the mind of my 9 year old nephew. I showed him the Kenney Asset Package and Construct 2 engine we had to work with and he came up with all the game play elements and level design. I simply "transcribed" his ideas as they unfolded over many small iterations. Each "level" is assembled from areas he pre-designed. We didn't have time to add enemies which would have been killed by calling down nearby stars from space.

Keyboard Controls
------------------
Left/Right - Arrows
Jump - Up/Space
Duck - Down
Super Jump - Jump while ducking

Gamepad Controls
---------
Left/Right - Left Stick
Run - Left or Right Trigger
Jump - A
Duck - X
Super Jump - Jump while ducking


Web Controls
------------
Left/Right/Run - Thumb Pad
Duck - Down on Thumb Pad
Jump - Up arrow button
Super Jump - Jump while ducking

Diego Mondragon - Game/Level Design
Jeff Neet - Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#866Humor(Jam)2.06
#869Fun(Jam)2.53
#873Mood(Jam)2.47
#1007Overall(Jam)2.50
#1012Innovation(Jam)1.95
#1020Theme(Jam)2.11
#1901Coolness33%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23am

Intended for mobile web but only a Dropbox link...?

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Kinda tricky to play this on Win PC BUT it is a nice game. Great visuals.

GoraGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53pm

i kept dying on the first spike again and again.
Maybe the distance is too far?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Sorry, I didn't include the "Super Jump" (Jump while ducking) in the description. That should get you over those long spike areas or let you jump up onto a platform.

Jajo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Well, shame there was no sound. Other than that it was pretty fun.

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:32am

I like the charge jump, mario bros 2 style but it's not really a "weapon"!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:31am

It's fun! But sound would make it even better!

zatyka says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:48am

Not sure where the theme was in this game. Controls are definitely awkward for keyboards, but I won't hold that against you since you said it's made for Mobile.

One thing I kept wishing for was the camera to be fixed on the Y access. There were multiple times where I would jump to my doom because I couldn't see what was coming beneath me.

Never-the-less, I still enjoyed playing, and think this has potential if you choose to keep working on it.

psychonull says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice graphics. It was a little repetitive and it has no goal. Anyways was pretty funny to play it.

May 8, 2015 @ 8:44pm

I love the little story behind this, sad its a little unfinished I woulda liked to have seen where this ended up.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]