Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rainyblow Bash

by ceosol - Compo Entry

One of the screenshots is a comic of the storyline. With only 15 minutes left, it was not included in the game files. Source on Stencylforge and download via game jolt.

Left, right and up to move
Or WASD works too
Hold down mouse to ire
Click mouse to rainbow barrage (when gold bar runs out)

The leprechaun Rainyblow has had enough of imps stealing his gold. Time to fight back.... by throwing whatever is in reach at them.... hmm what is in reach? Oh right, GOLD! Throw your hordes of gold at the goblins, hobgoblins, fairies, claurichauns.

If you run out, make a rainbow and grab a new pot.

*note the boss fight is really tough. Also, nothing happens when he reaches zero hp, sorry!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#327Humor3.16
#517Audio2.76
#520Theme3.38
#678Mood2.77
#789Fun2.78
#893Innovation2.58
#963Graphics2.30
#1048Overall2.50

Comments

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:31pm

That's strangely fun to play.

Donni11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25pm

So Cool !

grillaface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Delightfully strange :) Nice job!

IL_yoshioka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

good!
the man shoot potato?:p

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Really weird game, a little buggy on the platforms, but i love the music jaja. You should work a little more on it to make it smoother, good job!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Heheh, this was entertaining, if a little bizarre. I really enjoyed the barrage animation and mechanic! Good fun.

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice game, but movement and combat feel a bit weird and jaknky.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Well that was confusing. Or was it? I don't even. That'll be 5 stars for mood, I guess.

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Probably the glitchiest game I've every played. Managed to get to a boss by spamming jump and practically flying there, but he wouldn't die so I gave up.

ermrk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

The game i so glitchy that it was almost imposible to play. almost. but I liked the animations and RAINBOW!!!

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Fun!

philipp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Weird as fuck, but fun. There are more enemies in the desktop version? Ouch!

The beginning is a bit too much for my taste, I just wanted to test the controls and suddenly they were all over me :D Jumping is bit weird and I depleted the boss health with no effect three times than I gave up.

What I missed was a possibility to evade attacks. You are pretty helpless and shooting really isn't enough, so one is bound to lose health, which is a bit frustrating. And as you can't defend otherwise, I think the only strategy that is wise, is to hold the fire button permanently. Maybe you could have added a little more conflict/ a decision there.

Anyway, nice job.

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

The shooting felt weird. the way you levitated when shooting didn't feel right. The jumping is really really buggy
i just jumped straight up and i seemed to just snap to the closest platform.

Also, when i depleted what i assumed to be the boss's pink health bar, the game kept going. was i missing something?

Anyway, the best part was the rainbow barrage. i loved emptying my gold bar to trigger that. it felt really nice to mow down enemies for a few seconds.

Null DIES says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:38pm

I have to say it is weirdly entertaining :D
It was also challenging for me. I almost killed the orange/brown creature but I failed; so I raged quit :D

ceosol says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Thanks for all of the feedback! I was going for completely bizarre, fast-paced imp/goblin carnage, so I guess I succeeded in that respect. Admittedly, it was way too big of a project for 48 hours. I wanted the boss fight in there, but ran out of time. I know the boss is broken but I felt it was not game ending so I did not fix it after the comp was over.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Intriguingly fun! You definitely succeeded at creating a bizarre, fast-paced action game. The graphics could be improved, but I know you didn't have much time for that.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Strange but fun game, I liked when the leprechaun entered in "rage" mode. Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Pajama-Llama says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:06am

Overall a bit weird (which, was probably the intention). I could float midair by shooting down and the (boss) monkey-creature was really buggy but it was fun nevertheless :)

freeholdgames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Your game is terrifying, great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]