Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Hicet: Iceburglary

by TTFTCUTS - Jam Entry

The Hicet ("Heist") is all about stealing an iceberg and trying to get away with it. Don't count on it.

They'd throw you in jail - you throw ice at them. Draw areas on the iceberg with left click to select them, click-drag on a selected area to aim it. Destroying ships nets you points, but beware! You're here to steal ice, so the less ice you have, the lower your final score will be.

Right-clicking clears selection and aiming.

Survive the full three and a half minutes to win, and avoid being boarded or running out of ice or you will lose. Escaping is not easy!

Not embedded because it's a bit too tall...

--------

Stuff that was going to be added but didn't make it in time:
- ice breaking and explosion particle effects.
- better iceberg model logic.

--------

Post submission changes:
- fixed a url issue which broke the music when it was uploaded. Darn leading slashes!
- tweaked object culling bounds to try and fix a bug where ships failed to appear correctly, partially fixed?
- performance fix for lower frame rates by splitting the updates into smaller pieces if they are too long. Should make gameplay more consistent at lower fps. (fixes the previous issue with ships not appearing)
- another tweak to bounding culling which should finally put a nail in the coffin of the ship bug... now nothing except ice is culled by going up, and ships are prevented from going further up than where they start.
- fixed issue where mouse coordinates were not taking window scroll position into account, making it more accurate in some cases.

--------

Works best in Chrome, Firefox is a bit slower.
Made by a team of four. Written in Dart, exported to JS. WebGL via three.dart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#58Innovation(Jam)3.96
#64Theme(Jam)4.06
#267Overall(Jam)3.52
#320Fun(Jam)3.31
#370Audio(Jam)3.09
#493Humor(Jam)2.91
#515Mood(Jam)3.06
#536Graphics(Jam)3.26

Comments

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:15am

Enemies don't go kaboom, so it's hard to feel like you're hitting them or not. Also has some odd glitch. The web game is taller than my browser window and if I scroll down to get a better view of my ice, my clicks register as being where they would've been if I weren't scrolled down.

Also, should run on RF. ;)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Fun idea, more feedback when hurting the enemies would be nice. Good take on the theme!

-Hando

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Really cool idea! Gameplay was pretty solid. Great job!

Pomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Neat :D I think you're just missing some feedback on when you hit the boats, otherwise this is a really cool concept :D

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Fun game! However need some effects when hitting enemies and maybe make it a little harder? The ending was the best!

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

I used so much ice! Why did you let me use all my ice!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Liking the overall look. The gameplay was novel and enjoyable to play, thanks!

JALgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Very nice game! I think this is one of the most innovative weapons made during this game... I have a similar complaint as Kihira: it seems to be impossible to destroy gun and rocket ships, they seem to need a lot of hits, but it seems to be very difficult to actually hit them. An indicator that you hit them and how much health the ships still have would be very nice!

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

@Pomb and Dorgam:
Particles for breaking ice and explosions were going to be in but we ran out of time... I added the smoke for the missiles 5 minutes before submission!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

this is the most unconventional weapon i saw in this jam lol , very good idea

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Solid and chill ;)

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

This was really cool! I loved the mechanic ^_^!!!

Scapegote says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Really cool little game, really tough and gets super hectic towards the end.

aroymart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

This was a really fun game and i enjoyed playing it! love the concept and the music was great and fitting!

MdS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Like it! Great concept, and plays well.
Same kind of idea as ours actually - you have to give up something (frozen!) of yourself in defence - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=50499

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Awesome game you got there buddy. I had fun!
2720 with 37% ice remaining, not bad :D

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I am a horrible theif since I keep throwing my cargo at the people trying to get them back hahaha. I like the music and visuals. It got a bit hard when the ice was a bit out of reach and I wasn't sure how to play but figuring it out was good, so I liked that aspect. Nice play on theme.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Great entry. A most unconventional weapon. Also bonus point for technology used :-). Only thing is, it is mostly impossible to hit ships on the borders of the screen.

grifdail says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Look realy great. The mouse always clicked a lot higher than what's the cursor point to.
The game mechanic was realy interesting.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Original idea! With some gameplay tweaking (controls are terrible, because pointer position doesn't match with the actual clicking coordinates) it could become much better.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Nice game! The control were a bit weird at first, but then I got used to it. I think it could have some explosion, but I say that just because I love explosions ...
Anyway, good job!

SamH says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:53am

Nice idea, but most of all great pacing! Progressively introducing new enemies and threats works well, and in the end it gives a satisfying feel of “woah, I just escaped THAT?!”. As stated by many others, it lacks some visual feedback for enemy status, but overall it’s well executed.

peterfsat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Insane idea! Ice seems to end too fast tho!

pikkpoiss says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Nice work! Hilarious idea - I love the decision of "how much of myself am I going to throw at the enemies". For some small improvements, I wish there were more of a tangible impact for hitting a boat, it felt like my projectiles were gliding over all the boats it hit.

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:58pm

A lot of fun! Very very good game! Music added some humor in situation!
Oh! Ship are melting my ice! I must destroy them! oh no.. there are no more ice... And I start game again! My best score is 17096.

Demy says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Wow, really cool game. Nice music and insane idea. Great job.

LadyEmaSkye says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:18pm

An injgame explanation would be nice. I thought the point was too gid rid of the iceberg. Also, the game was a little long, at least for me personally.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]