Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Wee Pon

by DarkMeatGames - Compo Entry

Wee Pon is a small Metroidvania that features a small cube (The Wee Pon) that you throw around, switch places with, and blow up.

Use the Wee Pon to access hard to reach places, defend yourself, and collect super secret stars!

Controls (also explained in game):
WASD or arrows to move
Space to Jump
W or up to enter doors
F or J to summon or throw the Wee Pon
E or K to switch places with the Wee Pon
R or L to explode the Wee Pon

Wee Pon was made with Unity3D and Voxwell (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/14989) which an editor extension I built to allow for rapid asset creation using voxels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#70Fun3.84
#107Overall3.78
#265Innovation3.53
#300Graphics3.49
#362Mood3.16
#429Theme3.49

Comments

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48am

Nice little game. Liked the death animation. Could have used some music though. The game feels a bit empty without it.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:54am

I had so much fun with this! Such a cool mechanic with really neat puzzle interactions. Unfortunately when I got the star after going to the left in The Longest Road (I think that was it) I got an exception thrown and it stopped (http://i.imgur.com/g9vnks5.png). That was in the WebGL build.

Other than that, that was a lot of fun and I hope to see the mechanic explored further!

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

I really liked how clean the game looks. and as Birke said nice death animation.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

Great game! Surprising amount of content for 48 hours.

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56am

Neat idea, teleportation is always cool. xD

Graphics are simple, but nice and clean. So that's pretty good.

Hexatin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56am

I can see keeping this game around for a long time, it looks like it's massive. The Wee Pon mechanic works really well!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

Very cool! Bit Thomas was Alone, bit Swapper, but a very neat mechanic. Once I figured out you didn't have to be touching the little block to recall it, was a lot of fun.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

This game is really cool! I love the voxel graphics, and the teleport mechanic was really well done. One of the funnest entries I've played.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Interesting concept, kind of similar to portal. I'm not sure if this is on purpose or not but I found that you could always call or switch with the cube to you no matter how far away it was. I was confused by the graphics thing because fastest and fantastic looked the same except fantastic was a lot slower. Also I felt like the controls were a little rough. However I do believe this concept can be worked on to make a much more interesting game. Good luck and I would love to see a post mortem of this! :D

jprogman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

Nice 2D platform in a 3D world.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Absolutely amazing. Very well done!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Got some errors/exceptions and had to reload. But good concept, I liked the simple visuals. Some music would be nice.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Cool little game. Would be even better if more polished. maybe you should continue it further? :)

kidanger says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Really nice game! There's a way to 'fly', but dropping the wee pon below our feet, jump and call it so it pushes us up. With that, it was really easy to get the key, by flying up on the left of that level.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Great use of the simple graphic assets, and a good base for a puzzle platformer.

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Great game! Love the mechanics and styling. Simplistic yet VERY effective.

balom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:43am

Overall, great game! I only got some of the stars, so I got the "OK" ending. Great job!

dyfer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:08pm

very good game , i enjoyed all the posibilities of game play , good work

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Very, polished!! Love the gameplay and the graphics!
Well made!!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44pm

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/22/wee-pon-speedrun/ I did a speed run of your game and abused a glitch! Great mechanic, simple but interesting.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Awesome! Love the gameplay!!!

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Simple graphics, but a very consistent aesthetic. Works well!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:06am

Interesting concept, but I didn't give many importance to the aesthetic. I think you can do something great with this prototype. Nice entry. Thank you ++

Kep says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I quickly forgot about the poly count and really enjoyed this one. Nive level design and use of light. Good job!

Floko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Very neat! I enjoyed this game very much , the idea is nice , and the visuals are simple,but cool :)
nice job!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Well, that was quite fun.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:23pm

This game had an exceptionally solid game mechanic I really, really loved. Had an absolute blast with the game, and I think only aesthetic polish is necessary for it. It is fundamentally fun, and something that -- despite the lack of graphics and sound quality -- absolutely engrossed me into with its clever puzzles. Well done!

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:43pm

I love the Wee Pon throwing and switching mechanics, really unique and fun to play around with! Good job on making a "mini" Metroidvania, I also created one for this LD so it's nice to see others doing it too!

omaha says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:42pm

The minimal graphics are charming.

I felt a little claustrophobic at times, but I think that might have been necessary to make the level navigation into more of a puzzle?

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I got an error at boot, the first time:

Unable to load mono library from "D:/Desktop/ludum_dare/LD32_weepon/Release 01 - PC/LD32_WeePon_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126).

But the second time, no problem!

Very impressive game for a Ludum Dare! I like the way I discovered new "features" of the Wee Pon like smashing the enemies. Graphics are nice, particularly the death animations.

May 5, 2015 @ 12:51pm

This is what Ludum Dare is all about to me, brilliant idea marvellously executed.

I do agree that a little music would have been nice, but frankly im giving you 5 stars on everything else as the idea fits the theme, its fun, and it looks great. Great work.

One last thing : having the names of the areas was totally unnecessary but it added a great feel to the world. These little touches make all the difference.

SledKnight says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:15am

Really nice mechanic. Got a crash when I pushed up against the ??? button...

Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]