Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Where Is Your Gun Now, Mr. Chekhov?

by Mike Mezhenin - Jam Entry

Anton Chekhov, a famous Russian writer, is very suspicious - every time someone mentions an object, he thinks that said object will be used to kill him; otherwise, why mention that object at all?

Help Chekhov to survive as long as possible in this weird 19th century varieté hidden object game.

Game by @tatahnka and @mikemezhenin.

Music by Kevin MacLeod from incompetech.com (Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0).
Font Type-Ra by junkohanhero.

Windows build recommended, WebGL version is very slow on downloading music, which can cause pauses in the audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#8Theme(Jam)4.41
#10Mood(Jam)4.35
#15Humor(Jam)4.22
#18Overall(Jam)4.15
#72Innovation(Jam)3.90
#85Graphics(Jam)4.27
#107Fun(Jam)3.73

Comments

zuraguerra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13am

Awesome idea :D!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:22pm

This is quite a game, love the art style and it was fun to play

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23pm

+ fro the Chekhov!

psychonull says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28pm

wow that's a really amazing work, loved how you put the theme, music and graphics are excelent.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37pm

First time i have given a 5/5 on everything

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Funny concept !
Graphics aren't exceptional but fits well with everything so its nice.

matestinha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Love the mood! Also, really charming to use a hidden object for the theme :)

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Amazing, a great innovation to the hidden object genre. I had so much fun with it. Also, you nailed the silent film humor and feel! 5 stars all the way

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Damn, the unconventional guy asked me if the thing he was going to kill me with was an antique, but he meant the CAT all along! Interesting game, played for quite a few round. Great atmosphere too.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:08pm

I love the idea and the presentation, it's a funny game. But there too many items, so I can't guess what the weapon is and get killed each time ='D.

SiENcE says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Great Idea and well done. The style is awesome. It reminds me on tge old adventure Cruise of a Corpse :-).

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Ha, I really wanted to make a humorous game about Chekov's gun but I just couldn't come up with a concept silly enough. You guys pulled it off! Great artstyle and the music fit so well. Loved it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17pm

This game is quite funny and feels very complete. Excellent work.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:18pm

I really enjoyed the art style for the game. It has potential but I'm having a hard time understanding what object is being hinted at.

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Always room for some high-brow humor :)

Awesome work, and I loved the old-timey feel and effects.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Hehe :) Nice GFX and humor! 5 for both.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:20pm

This is fantastic! Amazing style, great humor, and just a wonderful idea executed really well.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:41pm

What a game! Hilarious, innovative, polished. I just had to choose the same weapon few times in a row, you could have done something to prevent that. Also music and graphics set up perfect mood!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Fun game I loved it !
First real humor game!

dydx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:17am

Very entertaining :)

abuzreq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Simply Wonderful!

Somnium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Excellent game! I love the atmosphere, and the puzzles are great.

Dixbit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great game! The fact that the "unconventional weapon" is used by your enemies and not yourself is a very clever idea! And the graphics and music give a perfect macabre mood.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Aaaahhh, this is hilarious! I love it <3

Squidtank says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:58pm

This was such an awesome game! The music, the art, everything fits.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Nice art style, unique hidden object game. Great job!

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Amazing game, mood as very well set! And nice use of the theme!

Mase says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Very clever scenario. Great timing as well; I love the close-ups.

A couple times the game crashed after I played for a while.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Very unconventional idea :D
Great gameplay, graphics and music. Pretty funny game.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Great idea! Loved the graphics and audio. You nailed the mood! The game was actually fairly difficult for me. Excellent job overall!

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I love the "silent movie" presentation, with the graphics and music. The idea is quite clever (though I'm not much for hidden object games, heh). I guessed a couple of times and I think I got the right answer...but then this happened:

"An exception has occured, but exception handling has been disabled in this build. If you are the developer of this content, enable exceptions in your project's WebGL player settings to be able to catch the exception or see the stack trace."

I dunno, I'm using the latest version of Firefox. Anyway, what I saw was enjoyable!

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:37am

Hahaha, prolly best one I played. Survived 16 times, wohu!
I finally died to a cat I couldn't afford.
Very nice, rating it high in every aspect.

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:38am

Hahaha, prolly best one I played. Survived 16 times, wohu!
I finally died to a cat I couldn't afford.
Very nice, rating it high in every aspect. You got yourself 5 stars in 6 categories sir ;)

benjamck says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:53am

Very well done. The graphics were perfect, and the music fit the mood quite well. A clever take on the theme too; a room full of unconventional potential weapons. I have to admit I laughed out loud the first time the poor fellow died. He didn't fare too well by me, but I kept trying. This could easily be made into a fun little game for mobile devices.

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:10am

This is very original, and extremely fun - top scores in every category for you!

My best Checkov score is 11. I like how there are multiple items matching each clue, so I can't just learn it all - there is some randomness to winning too.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:51am

Mistery murder game, very funny! Everything is very well done. I´ll keep playing it.

Druid says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:37am

Lol, awesome idea! I really enjoyed this game A LOT! Great work!

zaibakk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Very cool! GJ!

daltostronic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I love the music!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:36am

I only ever got three...

They kept stabbing me with expensive vases and I never saw it coming!

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:00am

So. Much. Fun.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Very intersting title.
Music really helps you get in the mood.
The way they talk is really funny.
The first time I just died because didn't pay much attention to the text.

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:06pm

This game has great atmosphere, I liked the old film sepia tone and grain. The hints are sometimes very obscure, but after some time I got better and survived 3 assasination attempts in a row!

DKoding says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Good sound and music, but gameplay was so-so for me. But I know there are a lot of people who will enjoy this.

ajopart says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:48am

Marvelous entry !

Ithildin says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Brilliant concept, implemented wonderfully. Graphics and music are really fitting, too, and I loved the dialogue texts. Amazing job!

MrShoestore says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 9:55pm

This was so much fun! The idea is great. The music fits perfectly and the entire mood is spot on. I only wish we could see some of the unconventional deaths. that might be too far but it is what I need!!!. Really great job!

AsixJin says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 6:30am

I guess I just didnt get it but it is a nice game and a good use of theme

panurge says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Here's the winner for me - I loved everything about this! Ingenious, playful and beautifully made. I've given a rare set of full marks.

Crowbeak says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:46am

The darkening and lightening used to try to recreate the old film effect wreaked havok on my ability to concentrate. Too big a difference, too often, too fast a transition, I don't know, but it made it really hard for me to do anything. Then there's the fact that I have no clue what a samovar is and it wasn't possible to view the clue again once it had gone away.

jukimv1986 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:53pm

aha! your uncle Vanya is here! great references to Chekhov work, and awesome mechanics. I liked everything about it! Amazing work!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]