Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Arduino Cat

by unprompted - Compo Entry

When a cat eats an Arduino, she becomes an unconventional weapon: Arduino Cat.

Give the weaponized cat sequences of commands to navigate through several levels.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#144Overall3.68
#242Fun3.46
#320Humor3.17
#373Mood3.14
#417Innovation3.30
#581Theme3.31
#607Audio2.56
#640Graphics2.92
#1811Coolness36%

Comments

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 3:26am

Very fun and easy to understand. Reminds me of old DOS games.

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:24am

That was awesome! The game is very funny and creative. I like the interface and the visual stuff too. You can think about include a grid to make the moviments calculations more accurate, is frustrating get a wrong move because I cant see how many cells I have to move. Congratulations the game is very good!

muromets says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:30am

Congratulations! A really fun and creative game, was nice to have a break and finding this ;)

yuigoto says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:30am

Nice and clever idea, the controls are easy and besided an old DOS games as fixedgerald said, reminded me a tiny bit of the logo progamming language.

Jajo says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:53am

I have to say, I enjoyed this

AlcoTk says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:28am

Very cool idea! Maybe turn the SFX slightly down

Ghen says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 12:06pm

awesome idea!, easy to play and very entertaining, great stuff!

factorial says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:04pm

DNS error on the web links

aeklad says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:16pm

I love this. This game needs to be shipped on some kind of old dirty Fallout terminal with a CRT monitor and mechanical keyboard.

metalfist213 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:31pm

This was very interesting to me. I think this is the best one so far, because I played it to the end and fully enjoyed it. Congratulations! 164 Steps btw

XDrako says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I really enjoyed it.

stoarch says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Interesting game and idea of indirect control is good.

Lord_Vinzz says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Yeah so good it's very funny

louki0101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Brilliant idea!

Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Wow, this is a great idea! I have fun playing :)

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Awesome :)

rishal says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Unconventional input, quite nice, reminds me of the early 90s.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:59pm

The funniest is to write all the commands in one shot (and fail because we still can't tell our left from our right)

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59am

Very interesting game, nice simple sounds. ANd i love teh battery mechanic.

DasSnipez says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58am

Not bad, the controls weren't exactly what I'd expect from this sort of game and I couldn't always tell how much movement I needed to make in a single direction before sleep so I missed quite a few easy movements. Overall quite good fun.

Lord_Vinzz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

i crashed the game with writing :
azropre$e$^tp$erptmfùer^$f

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03am

Loved Arduino Cat!

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:07am

Very cool concept. I gut stuck on the second enemy level, the "if you stop.." one.. Game appears very small in by browser window. Still very fun though, nice job!

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:39am

162 total steps by the end! Make an extended version of this!

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:47am

Enjoyable little game :D

If you change the resolution and add programm buttons ( like [F][B][Z] etc... ) it is quite easily turned into a smartphone playable game. Give it a try! I'm sure many people will play it.

Graphics are solid and the sound is retro. I wished it had some background music.

Fun game! Keep it up!

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00pm

With some work could be a good puzzle game. Would help if you took out a lot of the delay in actually making moves. SPend most of game waiting.

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Nice game, it is interesting to try and get all the path in one line :D

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Simple, and fun!

uvwar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34pm

I won! 196 total steps is that good?

cnoel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:28am

I really enjoyed this a lot! Well made and engaging and felt like it fit the theme well. I didn't expect a programmable laser cat.

Flayk says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:13am

Amazing! This is one of my favourites! The mood was great, really made me feel like I was a kid on a old computer. I ended up laughing so hard when I made my cat run into a wall. The audio wasn't anything to write home about, but it did it's job. It went pretty well with the theme and was a lot of fun. Great job innovating a fun game that made me feel good to play!

Warpgames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:23am

Very nice game! Remind me MUD games.

celisoft says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Funny game !

lasagnegames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:04pm

No way!!! Two of my favourite things - cats and arduinos, though they do not normally work so well together ;-) But in this instance I think this does. Original idea, not sure if you wrote out the commands somewhere so I was a bit lost at first, but soon discovered the commands myself, which felt like an achievement - bit like using an Arduino in the real world, so all in all a very playable game!

jmborden says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Great game for teaching kids basic of programming.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Reminded me of Turtle graphics/superlogo. Cool to see it integrated into game-form while still easy to use!

Urbanbg says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:25pm

It was a good game! It was easy to understand and the complexity grew nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]