Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Weapon Quest

by Zarkith - Compo Entry

POST-COMPO Version has been updated to v0.3.1 in Tabletop Simulator and the P&P Extras folder.

NOTE: This is a board game for 2 to 6 players

I didn't have enough time to make Enemy and Enhancement cards before the Compo deadline, so when you play do not go to the Laboratory, Outskirts, or Dungeon.
This game has also not been playtested at all during the Compo and is not at all balanced.
But hey, for my first solo entry AND my first board game entry, I don't think it came out *too* terrible. :P


Welcome to Weapon Quest!

The Smithing Town of Ludumsville is hosting their annual weaponcraft tournament one week from now. As an up and coming weaponsmith, you have decided to enter the competition. You will have one week to collect various different parts and craft them into the ULTIMATE WEAPON! However, you are not the only weaponsmith in town this week...

Rules are included in the Print & Play link.
Updated Post-Compo Rules are included in the P&P Extras link and TTS mod
[Post-Compo Rules Last Updated at 23:50 EST 4/28/15]


There's more blank spaces to fill than just the card art. ;)
When trying to figure out exactly what a part is, or how your parts fit together, just use your imagination and go nuts!
No matter what happens, your weapon does NOT have to make sense, and is encouraged not to! :D


POST-COMPO:
Vassal Module
Card Art that isn't just blank space, but will still look as bad as the game board. :V
[ONGOING] Re-balance board, cards, and rules based on playtesting & feedback.
[DONE] Add Monster Cards
[DONE] Black & White Board and Cards
[DONE] Add Enhancement Cards
[DONE] Cards are now on single image sheets for (hopefully) easier printing/cutting
[DONE] Papercraft Custom Dice

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#289Innovation3.49
#329Mood3.20
#373Graphics3.36
#380Fun3.27
#401Overall3.33
#412Humor2.98
#675Theme3.19

Comments

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12am

cool one ! i like the board, card design is functional but hard to play

Yozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

That's really cool idea! Like that card game style.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

So I just finished two rounds of playtesting with some friends, and it turns out the game is way more imbalanced than I realized. :S
I took a ton of notes on things to change, and I'll try to implement it all ASAP and start on making the missing decks.

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Looks interesting!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19am

I happen to own a color printer, so when I have time I'll totally give this a go in-person.

Sounds neat though!

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:29am

My friend and I made awful MSPaint drawings of our weaponry at the end of the game.

Here you go: http://imgur.com/a/fU7we

You have made my night.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:31am

I love seeing these types of game on Ludum Dare. Great job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:39am

I think this is a fantastic game concept and looks very funny (I coulnd't play it yet).

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:45pm

Board games are Always nice, good job.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I simply love it!

Mantlair says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Ill check the p&p version when possible.

RadStar says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15am

Very cool! Didn't know there was a way to share table top game with steam haha.

I like the idea very much!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:25am

I love the idea for this, I'll definitely get some friends around to try it!

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:24am

Wow! I am fond of this game! Keep going, I need more games such as this one :D

Tuism says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:17am

What do you do with Steam Workshop/Tabletop Simulator? I love boardgames, but it's nearly impossible to test a boardgames in the LD environment. Man, good luck to you on this :)

Did you chuck it on BGG? You might get more plays/feedback there :)

Zarkith says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:26am

If you own Tabletop Simulator, click the green +Subscribe button on the Steam Workshop page. The next time you launch Tabletop Sim, the game will check for updates to mods you have subscribed to and automatically download them.
While you're in a singleplayer or multiplayer lobby, go to Games -> Workshop and click on Weapon Quest in the list to load it.

I don't know where on BGG to put it, but I'll look into that after I add monsters to the game.

coderitual says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Doesn't run on my pc ;) More seriously did not expect a real board games here. I have not played but it looks promising!

renatopp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Cool! I've never see a board game here. I'll try and come back to rate! Thanks!

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Given a demo on your stream! Some really cool elements and cool use of worker placement.

Well done for 48 hours!

Mantlair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I didnt get the game B(. Really tried but i cant understand the day flow. And what is a "weapon". Idk.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:41pm

If anyone was thinking of picking up Tabletop Sim (not just to play this of course) it is currently 30% off on Bundle Stars: http://www.bundlestars.com/store/tabletop-simulator/

May 6, 2015 @ 1:30pm

This game looks awesome to play with friends, it's so rare to see tabletop games on Ludum Dare! With some graphics on the cards, it'll be great! Congratulations! :D

May 6, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I really like this idea for a board game. I'm impressed you got so much done in a weekend! I might have to print this out and play it with some friends

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]