Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Quadrata lux

by Maek - Compo Entry

Here it is! My game for LD32!

This is my third LD.

Description:
Hit the lights before it gets too bright! Simple aim? Not in this game. You have to look ahead, how the square will bounce, because you can only shoot to the right and to the left. If you hit a red light you get a bomb which you can select in the bootom left corner to place everywhere on the screen. With a purple light you get an obstacle which you can also select in the bottom left corner to place everywhere on the screen. Experience an addictive game for in between!

How to play:
- Click to the left or to the right
- Select special items in the bootom left corner to place them anywhere. (Hit special lights to get them)

Have fun while playing!

Enjoy the game!!!

Made in Java with LibGdx by an 16 years old boy.

Please check also out:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.markus.kaeppeler.android

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#764Audio2.12
#876Innovation2.61
#912Overall2.75
#953Fun2.49
#990Mood2.20
#1002Graphics2.20
#1109Theme1.89

Comments

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Solid attempt :) I like the concept, though I found the easiest way to play was to shoot as fast as possible and hope the projectiles will hit something.

Vija02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

It's a bit plain i think.. need some more effects to make it good!

vidarn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I liked it a lot! I found it to be a fun casual game as long as you did not try to "cheat" by just spamming one side of the screen (which was a great tactic, but made the game somewhat mind-numbing ;)
Trying to place blocks in a tactical way to get the best bounces off them was a fun challenge.
Great job!

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Really not bad, especially for a sixteen year old. Gets very difficult after a while!

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:38am

The bouncing bullet was a cool twist, especially when you get things set up in a loop and knock out a bunch of lights. Nice job!

Sverik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Nice game with solid looks, and fun to play. I am still confused what the condition for game end is.

LMT says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Awesome game. Great for a 16 year old. The audio has a bit too much static for my taste. I do like the simplistic graphics though.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I enjoyed this once I figured out how everything worked. It's a nice relaxing game that gets more interesting as it goes on and the challenge increases. Nice work!

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Cool! Interesting mechanic. I would suggest adding some more rewarding feedback for hitting the green things, and getting a new ability. Also I wasn't sure why I ran out of blocks to throw, maybe have a number that shows how many you have left. The health mechanic was a cool feature, how the games colors show you your health amount.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:02pm

A little out of theme I think. A pretty good game non the less, but still, a bit out of theme in my opinion. Otherwise, awesome! ^w^

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Fairly fun game. The simple graphics made it a bit hard to follow. With some polish this could be a fun game!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I enjoyed playing it. One time the "weapon" did not spawn again and I eventually lost unable to do anything.

davidB says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:33pm

The game is a good canditate for additionnal "juicy". see on youtube "Juice it or lose it - a talk by Martin Jonasson & Petri Purho"

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:11pm

It is nice. Maybe don't suits the theme but it seems a game with potential.

Dohxis says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Nice entry

CiderPunk says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Bit simplistic but it works, great job putting out an android version!

May 8, 2015 @ 1:50am

Cool game. I'll probably add this to my rotation of fun, mindless phone games to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]