Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mass-X

by hexagore - Compo Entry

Hi.

My take on the theme is a weapon that lets you swap your physical location with entities of equivalent mass. You kill them with their own bullets, that sort of thing. Fun. The idea is that it's fun.

I didn't have enough time to add more levels. Consider it more fun to play if you actually try to kill as many robots as possible. Pretend the game insists on it. :P

Thank you for playing!

--CONTROLS--
Controls are WASD for moving around, Space jumps, Mouse aims the Mass-X Patent Mass Exchanger Weapon and Left Click fires it.

MOUSE CLICK IN THE GAME TO ACTIVATE THE MOUSE! Browser game. Sorry. Can't escape all the faff entirely!
-------------------


-------------
PS EXPERIMENTAL CONTROLS: You can use an XBOX 360 control pad. Left stick moves, right stick aims, L1 jumps, R1 swaps. Sadly I didn't have time to visually indicate what you were aiming at but, hey, it's there if you want it.
------------

-- 1st Update --
After a number of complaints and seeing the bug for myself, I discovered that for many people it was impossible to get past a certain level due to 'cursor lag' which was to do with the way that browsers deal with mouse events by default. I patched the game in the least dramatic way I could that fixed the problem.
---

-- 2nd Update ---
- Now works on Firefox
---

Made with:

- Custom game engine for Three.JS/WebGL/HTML5
- Music was made with Propellerhead Reason
- Pixel art was made with Swanky Paint.
- Lighting masks made with Photoshop.
- Sound effects were made in Reason and Audition
- Code was typed into Sublime Text 3
- Binary versions thanks to nw.js
- sweat and tears

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#12Graphics4.54
#38Audio3.96
#44Overall3.97
#56Mood3.82
#76Fun3.83
#111Theme3.96
#176Innovation3.71
#228Humor3.37

Comments

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24am

The game is fun. I couldn't get past the part where you have to drop down and (I'm guessing) click the robot before you hit the ground. The cursor moves up as you fall, making it impossible. Good graphics and fun all around though!

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47am

Well thanks for having a go :) I promise you hitting the robot isn't impossible. You don't actually need to be able to see something on the screen to be able to swap with it... you can plan ahead. :)

ekun says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01am

Fun little game! Beat it fairly easily, although it took me a couple tries with the falling swap level.

It could've used some more stages, but otherwise the level of polish made it an enjoyable, albeit short, experience.

Props also for using Three.js / WebGL.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Awesome!

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06am

Great looking game with impressive lighting effects! Just needs some kind of indicator to show when swapping is possible.

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43am

Very nice entry. The graphics are gorgeous and the music is really pleasing.

The fact that enemies don't respawn in the same spot made two levels (the one were you jump down and the last one) very difficult.

Also, the sideway boosters are a bit hard to see (didn't notice the first one, so I tried to time my jump on the vertical one to go higher).

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

They do actually respawn in the same spot, but which way they fall and what they do next is completely random. Which I guess amounts to the same thing :)

Thanks!

Lizzip says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I finally completed it! Again, love everything about this game - music, graphics, concept, killing robots.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Completed! Aiming was a bit tricky with the mouse, but got it in the end. Loving the graphics 'n audio!

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39pm

It's very pretty, I love the lighting. It took me a bit to figure out what to do.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

You're welcome, I very much enjoyed playing! Great art and music and I really enjoyed the mechanic.

You've implemented it in some cool ways through the levels too (particularly the jumping all the way across the long death pit thing - that was extremely satisfying to beat)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Funny with an aesthetic really pleasant. I can't figure out what it is - maybe an adventure game or a puzzle game. Music adds a cool mood. A good entry for LD32. Thank you ++

Dynad says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I finished the game, a lot of fun.. short but fun.. love to see more though.. good job!

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Great Game. I love the mechanic, and look and feel. Great take on the theme. My only takeway for you would be that the mouse is a bit floaty so its hard to hit some of those pinpoint accurate shots. Maybe a slower fall speed would alleviate that? not sure. I got quite stuck on the cross this gap with these floating robots section.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Lovely graphics, nice idea. Mouse control felt a little clunky as your it's moving too quick to really be skill-based. I was just hammering the mouse. Shame there aren't more levels.

But beautiful and fun. Great work.

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

No, I mustn't resist that temptation!

An amazing entry! Graphics and music fit each other perfectly.
Playing with robots and trying to kill every single one was very fun. The game ended too early though, I wish it was longer.
(I suspect that the only way to expand this concept is difficulty, which isn't nice)

Komos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Fantastic game, I hope you keep working on this and add some more levels. The only problem I have is that I'd like the mouse to be a bit more responsive, and to keep the same distance from the player when you warped (it was hard to judge where my mouse would be in the last level). Looking forward to looking at the source code :P

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:33pm

I managed to finish it :)
My one critique is that though I appreciate that the mouse maintaining its position while you're falling/moving could be helpful, it actually messes with the gameplay that you've given us, since the last 2 levels expect you to move the mouse while falling and it gets really hard to do that when it's maintaining its position in the level instead of following your cursor.

Aside from that, the graphics are A+ and the sfx were great! I loved the idea / weapons and the dialogue was the perfect amount of funny and unobtrusive.

kristof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Great game! Probably the best I have seen so far. Feels very polished and fun. The swapping gun is a very nice way to interpret the theme!
Good thing I tried out the native executable after playing the web version. The web version had no sound or music for me!

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

kristof: Yeah, it's easier for me just to provide a downloadable version that I know works than try to support all the browsers!

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Wow my game has the exact same mechanic! Your art is much better than mine though, and I really enjoyed the addition of springs and shooting enemies (two features I had on my list but didn't get around to). Check out my game for a different twist (I went for puzzles involving walls that only certain things could pass through). Great game!

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Absolutely amazing! It was a bit tricky to aim as the cursor moved when you fell, but it was fairly easily beaten anyways. Awesome game and concept! You could turn this into something bigger too!

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

i actually wish there had been more levels! :)

Xaychru says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Nice game! It's weird that the cursor moves when you move, I struggled a bit on some levels because of this, but I really enjoyed the game anyway! The graphics are lovely and it feels polished.

renatopp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Great game, congratulations. The teleporting is a good mechanism and it is pretty cool to kill the robots like this. The graphics and sound are also very attractive

What bothers me is the moving pointer, I think it could be static (relative to the screen). The pointer as it is makes frustrating to beat some levels (specially the level with the falling). Except by this, the game is excellent.

Goutye says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Solid entry!
Impressive work, awesome graphics and the weapon mechanics was well thought! A little bit hard to click on the guy when we have to fall but nice level design!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Great overall execution, I especially enjoyed the music. The gameplay mechanics lend themselves to lots of different variations, you should totally create more levels! :)

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Great job! I love the look with the CRT lines. The level design is good but I got stuck at the same place as other people. Maybe having the gravity lower so the hero doesn't fall so fast would help that part?

vidarn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Super nice! I had a lot of fun playing the game. The graphics were great and consistent and I loved the fun and helpful speech bubbles.

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Awesome entry and awesome graphics! I only wish there were more levels, but still, I'm sure you did your best to make it so awesome.

Polyomino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Completed it twice ! really loved the using enemies against themselves mechanic reminded me of killing sprees in dishonoured. a really nice well polished game considering the time frame. Extra points for using three.js and webGL. using the mouse was abit tricky at times but apart from that fantastic :)

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Awesome entry! Almost the same mechanic I had in my game, and I already played another entry which got exactly the same swapping. Only problem I got was mouse movement. It was delayed (WEB build), so It was super difficult to finish last few levels.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Very nice! My only complaint is that I find the difficulty scales too quickly, though I do like how you've handled progression. Tip: don't draw attention to the fact that the first level is a tutorial.

Graphics and sound are nice - I like the use of shaders and the sound effects and music are fitting. Controls are pretty solid though it is very difficult to keep up with the screen movement, and while I understand this is part of the challenge I wonder if the controls might be a little too hard to master.

All around I really enjoyed the experience. Keep up the good work, and I hope you release more levels in a post-compo version.

ladybenko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Absolutely fantastic! My favourite game so far! :)

duck says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Fun little game, looks and sounds great too. Took me a while to do the last part and I'm still not sure how I managed it, but would definitely have kept playing if it was longer!

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I love it. The scanlines effect is awesome. The logic of the game is nice too. Congratulations for this 48 hours game.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Great game! I just completed it ^^
The art is awesome and the core mechanic is quite interesting

pLaw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30pm

This was great. Good graphics and music, too. The swapping is sometimes very hard to do in time (but not impossible).
Nice game!

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Atmospheric, well-polished game. )

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

Great game man! I liked the humor and the graphics a lot! I finished very fast, but still a good game.

ETKWorks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

Really cool and fun to play. The graphics are nice too. A bit of a heads up, when I hold down the X key it continuously swaps me with the nearest dude and crashes the game for me.

allanolivei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

The most fun I have experienced, I finished it in a few minutes, I played full screen and I do not had problems with mouse.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

Not bad, man! But the game needs more polishing.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58am

Very very nice. Great mechanic, art, music. Felt very polished. Breezed through the levels and had a lot of fun. Nice job.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58am

Awesome! I had a little bit of trouble with the weapon cursor - it seemed a bit laggy when I was airborne for some reason. Perseverance prevailed in the end, however :) Loved the 'tutorial text'.

Simon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05pm

It sure is an unconventional weapon. Well done, I just wish there were more levels :)

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Wow, nice game, and good polishing, the only thing i whould add is a slow motion effect after you swap places with the robots, to really watch them being destroyed

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Well, that was awesome. You should definitely work further on this. How did you make this in just 48 hours? 5/5 on everything

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:38pm

It feels really good and very polished, congrats.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Brilliant! :) It is really fun and quite tricky to kill all the shooting robots. I love the music and the art.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Very nice looking game, fun concept too. Extra goodness for not requiring an install or plugins!

Anikki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Nice blink mechanic. Seems to be a recurring one.

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Lots of fun! Enjoyed the dialog. A bit hard to play on a touch pad, but could be fun on a tablet!

careless says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Really great game, playing on laptop with tracker pad so got a little stuck on the level with the large gap.

I found clicking constantly on the drop level worked, even though the cursor did not keep up the mouse must have been in the right position. Maybe this would be better as a desktop game.

Graphics, animations and feel is awesome

frondeus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Like humor and graphics. I didn't test audio and this controlls are awful (especially two last levels)

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

This game is incredibly cool! I love the art, and the platforming was extremely satisfying. I got to the end and just wanted more. The idea of swapping places with your enemies to progress or set them up to die in your place is genius, and a really effective take on the theme.

TheCams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Perfect in every way. I love the concept because it reminds me of the game I submitted! Amazing art and great challenge, the cursor behavior doesnt help but I managed to reach the end. Congrats!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Terribly frustrating game due to unprecise mouse control that are hard to master, but the switching mechinc is nice and innovative and still make it a good game.

sputnik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Really nice! Awesome art! but i'm stuck...

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Great graphics, clever and sometimes infuriating level design, add to that a dash of humor and a nice position swapping mechanic that feels fluid.

Very solid all around. Good luck!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Amazing game! great graphics and nice old camera touch. Big difficult change in the blind fall. One of the coolest games i've seen in the ludum

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07am

Short but fun indeed.

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:52am

Very beautiful graphics and very nice concept, although the gameplay wasn't too smooth (and finished by a huge lag, after 20 seconds on one frame I quitted), level transitions were too confusing. However, I really can imagine the game being absolute fun, with some better level design, multiple robots, and so on. And I often prefer the idea (also that you actually wrote it here), so I rate you almost like you finished it ;-)

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:22am

I made it through the tutorial levels without really knowing what I was doing to succeed, so it was hard when I got to more complicated puzzles and wasn't sure which mechanics I should be focusing on.

The graphics are beautiful. The music and sound effects are lovely. I enjoyed this.

animanegra says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:23am

WOW!!!! I love it all. :D The sprites, the gameplay the all!!!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:40am

Fantastic game. Great design.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Great game! Beautiful lighting and graphics. Loved the puzzles and level design.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Beautiful game, great audio, fun gameplay. But there is one thing: the annoying mouse control. :)

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:08pm

I like the graphic. The mouse bug was a bit annoying, and I dun really get to read most of the text, as it gets turned off too fast, especially when I went swapping with the robots or complete the stage. Other than that, this is a pretty good game for a 2 day production (y)

Wayward says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:09pm

A good idea very well executed!
Although the mouse controlls acted strangely

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Another fantastic entry in the compo category. I'm constantly impressed by how much people can squeeze out in that short time frame. Graphics, gameplay and level progression is all super polished (although the level that starts with a drop into a laser annoyed the hell out of me.) The fourth wall breaking smartass main character was surprisingly ungrating as well. Great entry, congrats!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:45pm

i really like the idea, might be difficult some times especially when the camera is moving and your mouse just sways away

scottthoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Love the idea, its like vengeful spirit ultimate(Dota 2)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Wow. Awesome game. I like the tutorial where you explain how the game works

Mikel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Great game, it feels very short :-)
Nice graphics and very interesting concept and puzzles

markusfisch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Very cool! Especially like the look and feel of this game. Very well done! Enjoyed playing it very much.

shadow64 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:19am

I enjoyed the mechanic a lot. I did run into the browser issue, but you were right: full screen helped. I look forward to seeing you expand this and adding more levels/story. It's a strong mechanic that I could see being used in a number of ways. Congrats and thanks for sharing!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:12am

Loved it! The last two levels were tricky. This is an extremely well polished game. Well done!

Kitch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:22am

Fun, pretty and interesting, and sounded fantastic. Had a tough time with the controls, as I'm left handed, so WASD really doesn't work for me. But good job overall.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:20am

Animations looks real good and the overall design is nice.
Pretty solid game that I played more than once...

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez58OGO7BXQ

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Nice graphics and good mechanics!
Congrats =)

yuigoto says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Nice work on graphics, the screen effects and audio! They create a really nice mood for the setting of the game! :)

Playing it is also really fun! Kept me thinking about lots things you could do with this teleport/swapping gun.

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Cool game! It certainly looks and sounds amazing and the weapon is really unconventional.

The level design could use a bit more work though. The first falling level and the last level were both a bit too hectic for my taste.

Anyway, one of the really good games this LD!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:20pm

You really outdid yourself here. Best of your entries by far and has a very good chance of being one of the top games this compo.

hexagore says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:41pm

That'd obviously be lovely if it works out that way but honestly I'm happy enough just having a game that could potentially be worth developing further!

Sakuyan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Solid level design! The mechanic was simple and introduced in a slower pace than most LD games. Thanks for that :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I tried both the HTML5 and the windows version and I had problems with the mouse pointing to the correct place at the beginning. at a certain point it suddenly became controllable, I don't know how or why. In any case, besides that, the game was great! Good job.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:14am

5s all the way down

01101101 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Cool idea, and the art is really cute. The aiming is a bit weird and makes it kinda hard to control sometimes but it works. Couldn't get past the gravity bots though :)
Nice work anyway.
PS: I played the HTML5 version in Chrome (wasn't working in Firefox)

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:19pm

This was a lot of fun to play. We enjoyed the variety of challenges presented using the limited palette of elements. The teleporting mechanic is way cool! Awesome entry!

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Simple idea, really well executed! These are the best kind of LD games. I agree with nicotuason when he suggests the cursor orb light up or something when a swap is possible.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:50am

Awesome game, definitely on the top five I've played. Great visuals, great audio, and just such a great concept! Great job!

Andynonomous says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Fantastic! I don't really have any criticisms to offer. This was genuinely fun! Simple concept beautifully presented. I finished it!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Whoa. Nice puzzle platformer. So much action. Beautiful art, great sound, great sampler of the level design elements. The falling+teleporting bits are a little frustrating, but that seems intentional. This could totally be expanded to a much larger game with just the elements you've got on show here.

And it's a compo entry! Well done!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Great game, really fun gameplay and great graphics. A very polished entry.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:53pm

What a cool mechanic! Very portal-like :) I had fun, and the puzzles were a good showcase for the weapon!

agirreb says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Amazing. The audio, visuals, gameplay... are perfect. One complaint though, the aiming cursor felt a little bit unresponsive, I would have liked to be able to move it freely.

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:24am

Neat concept! Bit finicky to get right especially when there's a lot of vertical velocity to take into account. Nice visuals and sound :)

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:13am

Rated higher on theme simply because you acknowledged that it didn't fully fit the theme ;-)

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:09pm

loved it. Im ok with there not being more stages, because after all it is a game jam game, and a compo one at that. very poilshed, looks great, controls well, A+

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:57am

Super-excellent for a Ludum Dare title. Really professionally done.

I didn't feel like it was too difficult, what with the insta-restart feature. I did definitely die a number of times, but I reached the end and I had a smile on my face the whole time I was playing it.

(as an aside, I don't understand why people keep complaining that these games are too short. Did they have an extra week too work on theirs or something...?)

Excellent: graphics, visual style, mechanics, animations, writing (for what it's worth) and pacing.

Love this game :D

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:23am

solid game - i actually finished it - great job

Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Love the art style and the mechanic. Very polished and self contained.

coderitual says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Nice graphics style (lighting) and mood. Also very convincing music. Gameplay is not so innovative but... who cares :) It's fun!

Park says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:20am

Heeey, when I run the app on my Mac (OSX 10.7.5) the app window just shows my hard drive's directory, like an html directory. I think I recognize a few other mac users in the comments, so I wonder what happened when I ran it.. Tried the download twice, same result.

I'm afraid I can't run the HTML5 version either, because I set Firefox to always show the mouse, and the mechanic seems to only work if it's hidden.. Not sure where I can adjust that setting, although I scanned through about:config and the googlenets for solutions.

hexagore says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:32am

Park, must have broken the .app file somehow. I'll give it a test. I didn't know you could disable pointer lock in Firefox, that's... alarming.

FrozenCow says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Really nice job! Fun concept, good looking/sounding. Levels were gradually becoming more difficult, but not too much. The latest levels did feel a bit 'iffy' (spamming the mousebutton). Still though really good game.

Park says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:05am

Heyo, I was able to get it running in Chrome. full-screen-api.pointer-lock.enabled was still set to the default value in Firefox but I tried toggling it with no results. When I run the game, there is a popup requesting to hide the mouse pointer. In Chrome the options are Allow/Deny, but in Firefox the options are Allow/Deny + Always Allow/Never Allow. I assumed that the aiming mechanic could find my pointer even if the pointer was visible, but denying the pointer hiding seems to break it.

I searched for keywords mouse, hide, pointer, and lock in about:config, and in the end looked through the whole directory, but I guess the Always Deny setting I chose isn't saved there, or it isn't labeled clearly. Yikes! I wish I could have provided a solution to that, but all I got was a list non-solutions. (*´_ゝ`)ゞ


At any rate, I liked the game! The character is cute, her comments were good fun. The music and sound effects created a fantastic mood, I think the bloom and noise overlays helped with that too. I liked the little falling animation a lot. (`・ω・´)”

I enjoyed the teleportation mechanic, although the aiming was a bit cumbersome. It seems that the mouse movement isn't constrained to the same radius as the reticule, so if the hidden pointer is too far from the character you can do circular movements with the mouse but still just be aiming to a side. In a GIF from your prototype the reticule seemed to be following the pointer freely, I think that style may have felt more responsive with a mouse. I also didn't realize you could teleport beyond the reticule for a while since I automatically assumed the ability was constrained to that distance. With a gamepad I think this setup is ideal, though!

High marks overall, hope that feedback is useful! ( ´ ▽ ` )ノ

micahcowan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:13am

Wow. This was compo? Impressive!

Guess that explains why there's not much actual game, though - went to the graphics/mechanics/sound (just like mine, heh - minus graphics AND game...)

Tuism says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:08pm

It really looked great, and I can see that it's quite tightly focused around the core, which is a good thing.

Really good art :) The sounds are a bit weird, that death/teleport errgaa sound is really weird.

The central mechanic seems interesting, but it felt like there's little meat on the bone, I think it's more of a presentation problem than in the mechanics:

- Death and transitions are abrupt and confusing - losing looks the same as passing the level, and in fact also looks the same as using your weapon (ok yes there's the laser bolt and the sound, but it's quite easy to miss). The distinction needs to be stronger.
- The aiming is super tough because the aiming orb thing is quite difficult to manipulate. Give the nature of the weapon I think another solution could work better - like a mouse cursor with a line-of-sight line drawn from the player to the point, that cuts off if it hits an obstacle.
- The walk cycle's a bit off, she looks like she's walking with both legs forward at the same time?
- Half the levels amount to... click spamming. Maybe there needs a bullet time or something that lets the player feel like they're intentionally aiming and choosing rather than spamming shoot.
- I can appreciate the self-referencial humour in the text presentation :)
- The exit signs look more like "move left" signs and confused me for a while.

Good job, original, though needs a bit more work to feel better!

Skiddings says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:39pm

It looks and sounds great but I had real problems getting the mouse to behave. It kept jumping and resetting all over the place making it basically impossible.

hexagore says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 11:54am

Sorry :)

May 13, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very nice game! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]