Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Can You Reach the Sun?

by Garris - Compo Entry

EDIT: Anyone having trouble figuring out where to go next, keep in mind you can look around by moving your kite. The camera will pan to follow it. This can be useful in finding new places to jump, glide or grapple.

UPDATE: Added xbox 360 controller support. Just download the alternate version listed on the itch.io page.

Can You Reach the Sun?

Made in 48 hours for Ludum Dare #32 "An Unconventional Weapon"

You're a kid with a kite. Defend yourself from coyotes and bats (with your kite) and try to reach the sun!


If you enjoy the game, consider following Dustout on Twitter @DustoutGames, or check out our website http://www.dustout-games.com

The game tells you how to play it, but just in case:

CONTROLS:
*note: not all abilities are available from the start.

-Move with arrow keys
-Hop with up arrow
-Press up arrow while running into a step up to climb
-Hold space and use arrow keys to move the kite
-Press E to attack
-Hold space, move your kite to a ledge, and press W to grab it.
-Press Q to soar
Install instructions

No install needed. Just download and play!

PSA: With the exception of the very first skill you pick up (attack) the game should auto-save every time you get a skill (sparkle on the ground). If the game is restarting from the beginning AFTER you've picked up the second sparkle or later, *please* let me know in a comment. The game becomes very unforgiving if checkpoints don't work properly for you, and I don't want this to be too frustrating.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#41Theme4.19
#80Innovation3.93
#95Audio3.67
#104Overall3.79
#141Mood3.56
#158Graphics3.81
#175Fun3.59
#440Humor2.93

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:53am

Please check your links, the Windows link leads to 404: Not Found.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:57am

Link fixed! Thanks for the heads up.

Lord bobyness says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14am

This has to be one the best looking games I've ever seen in ludum dare! I'ts not that it's complicated but it is really quite pleasant! The music loop was short but complimented the game very nicely.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:25am

Music was awesome, the mechanics were sweet, and the graphics were simple, but really well done. Only thing is that I couldn't for the life of me figure out where to go after getting on the clouds.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27am

This game is rad! I love how you slowly introduce abilities to the player. It makes the game play feel nonchalant and relaxed. The art style is great. But, I think my favorite part is being able to fly a kite across the ground. My childhood would have been so much better if your version of kite was real!

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

This is the kind of interesting gameplay mechanic I'd hoped to see with this theme! I'd really love to see a fully fleshed out platformer with kite mechanics.

As much as I like this game, I have to say that it's way too easy to die and dying is way too unforgiving. I think some sort of health system would have improved it, since going back to the beginning is so frustrating. Otherwise, this game is really pleasant and creative and cool.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17am

Nice game. I love the music, the art, the felling.
Good work. Thanks for sharing.

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56am

Really well. Simple and not complex games are the best imo.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03am

Very pretty game. I, too, was stumped at the cloud section. There were two leaps of faith to lower clouds, but I couldn't see anything after that.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02pm

This game looks, sounds, and feels amazing, and fits the theme well! I enjoyed it!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Very nice stuff! Great use of theme. Had a very Nintendo-y vibe to it with the visuals and music. I agree that the death mechanic was a bit too punishing; maybe let the player keep the upgrades they've gained?

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Really cute art style and music. Gameplay also works nice, the kite is unconventional as a weapon (however, I am not quite convinced how that would work, but hey, that's just me). Design-wise I would have kept the player's abilities after a death because after the third time the stupid bat killed me with one hit, I was pretty much done (but hey, that's just me). Either that or some kind of a health bar, because the controls are also a little unusual, to quote the AVGN here: "Up to jump? UP TO JUMP?!". How about controlling the kite with WASD, the player with the arrowkeys (or vice versa), space to jump and left Ctrl to attack? Or at least space to attack and keep the up-to-jump-button. But again, that's just me being incapable of unfamiliar button-mappings.
The music was nice too, the 8-bit sounds very fitting (haha, the dog!) but clashing a little with the CD-quality music. Overall I'd liken the mood to Rainbow Islands for some peculiar reason. Nice one!

sorlok says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Perfect use of the theme, and lots of fun! Some checkpoints would have been helpful, and a few of the controls were hard to remember (could have combined glide and ledge grab into one key). Great game overall!

Kronics says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Wow, very hard! I really liked the graphics, and the idea.

hexdie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Not too bad! I really like the visuals and the music! And this is a good take on theme! That said, I have a couple criticisms. I got stuck right at the beginning for a while because I couldn't figure out how to climb that wall. I got stuck again when I had to use the kite to get onto the cloud, it seems like the hit detection there is a little off or weird. Lastly, I couldn't figure out where to go on the second screen of clouds. Nice work though!

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Wow, a very pretty game, cute and I loved the art. Thank you so much!

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Very good game!!!! Pretty good graphs. The mechanics is great, making player attack, climb, glide!!! I really enjoyed!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38am

Brilliant!!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Good game! I like the graphic style, and the music fits. Sometimes it is hard to latch onto ledges with your kite though

dcolgan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Very cool mechanic! Would have appreciated some checkpoints as others have pointed out.

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Man, flying kites sure has changed since I was a kid! Really cool game, I like it :D

cdgugler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:24am

Awesome idea! Graphics and audio were great. I did manage to somehow pull myself underground at the far left side though.

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:23am

Probably my favorite so far. It's extremely whimsical, all the pickups feel meaningful and are easily understandable. The music was great, this was all around amazing.

zuraguerra says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:37am

i love the mechanics :) so new

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:51am

Really well done! Although I must admit I seem to have hit a glitched area and fell through the clouds :( It was all the way on the left side and pretty far up BTW. I was just walking and all of a sudden fell through

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:54am

I loved the Zelda/Final Fantasy town-style theme. It makes me feel that this peaceful start is going to lead to some dark environments or epic battles. You should make the ledge grab controls a little simpler, by just holding down Space and releasing it when the kite is in position.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:48am

That's actually a pretty good idea Davikin92. I may give that a shot for the post-compo version.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:38am

interesting idea

Yword says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04am

Wow, the idea and mechanics are very unique and innovative! Well done!

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Good job! Very bright and positive game.

scorched says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Poor little wolves :-) Nice one, can you make a fullscreen mode in web?

SledKnight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Very nice. I've played this the longest of any so far. It's a little frustrating having to start completely over, considering there's a place where you fall through the clouds, and it's not clear where to go after you first climb the clouds (over the house). Over all, very good. Old-school difficulty rating... lol

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:04am

Whew... I did FINALLY reach the sun...

Garris says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:59am

High five! :D

daltostronic says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:09am

This is nice! You also could, in your 360 version enable two analogs to control your character.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:19am

Really well done. Best use of theme I have seen so far. The graphics were simple, but fitting. With a bit of tweaking to the colour palette they would have been perfect. Amazing job.

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:39am

This feels like a complete game, almost like it was done in more than 48 hours, congratulations to that!
You have to completely start over when you get hurt. Then you have a hard time hitting those enemies with your kite, which makes the game a little frustrating for me. Save points would have been nice.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Awesome idea! Perfect with the theme and perfect with the innovation! It took me while but it was fun. A few puzzles here and there, great job Dustout! :D

Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Really great game. A nice simple idea and it plays really well. It is really unforgiving though - one hit or unlucky fall and you're back to the start.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:32am

Good clean graphics, unique choice of weapon and interesting use of it. I noticed a bit of weirdness jumping next to ledges, and the difficulty might scale up a bit too quickly, but otherwise a great entry!

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:27am

Really great work! I love innovative platforming ideas like this, made for some really unique gameplay. Everything is very well presented too, pacing's good, the pixelart style suits the mood quite well, and the music is spot on. Kudos!

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Awesome entry - the character was simple yet the animation fit perfectly. Great music, unique mechanics. Only two things I'd look at - getting rid of the blind jumps (unless leading to a super secret area or something), and making the collision a little more forgiving, particularly when attacking bats.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:29pm

very good! very innovative and fun mechanics. cute art, too!

SiENcE says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:25am

Cool Idea to use a kite in a game.

I wouldn't use this as weapon and handling is a bit complicated. But the athmosphere and kite is very good!

mystakin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I like this game. The kite implementation is fantastic and the visual design is adorable.

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:15am

This is a neat and adorable idea, but even knowing that I can look around with the kite, it's frustrating to try and figure out what to do. The kite can't go below the player, which means making leaps of faith which, if missed, drop the player back to the beginning of the game and requires the player to cover a lot of ground all over again. Grabbing cloud ledges with the kite seemed broken until I realized that you can only grab at the very edge -- the game gives no indicator of that. Eventually I got stuck because I just couldn't find a new place to go.

May 7, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Pssst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTrb1Vurkpk

dvdfu says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Very solid game mechanics and presentation! Interesting weapon choice, too.

May 11, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Love the graphics, really nice use of theme! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/eqkTJc6zIls

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]