Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Arena King

by Anti - Compo Entry

NOTE: This game uses modern OpenGL and may not be supported on older graphic cards.

Welcome to the arena! You're one awesome gladiator guy or girl that must survive 9 harsh challenges. After that you're free. But you choose to stay in the arena, probably because the programmer was to lazy to put in a real ending in the game! But there is something strange. The weapon you use is quite unconventional. The bullets will not hurt you. But after damaging an enemy, the bullet will become red or evil! The bullet won't hurt the enemy anymore. But it will hurt you. So watch out for red bullets! And one other thing! The bullets bounce around a bit before disappearing.

HOW TO PLAY:
WASD - MOVEMENT
MOUSE - AIM
LEFT MOUSE BUTTON - SHOOT
SPACE - STARTS NEXT ROUND(You can also click on the text)

When you finish a level an upgrade screen will slide in. You have 1 upgrade point after each level. NOTE: UPGRADE POINTS DO NOT STACK! ALWAYS SPEND THEM BEFORE NEXT ROUND! Here is what the stats do:
Restore health - Restores one health point. The maximum number of health points is 5.
Damage - Increases damage by 1 for each upgrade point spent. Maximum is 4. Enemies health increase by one each round.
Speed - Increases Speed by 1 for each upgrade point spent. Maximum is 6. You start with 4 speed.

This is my fourth ludum dare entry. I'm so happy with this one actually. Finished well before the deadline. It was a fun experience. But i'm really tired working with my own engine. It's so frustrating when something just won't work. But a good experience to have in the future. Please leave feedback! (Bad or good, doesn't matter to me) ENJOY! :D

EDIT: This is regarding the crashes. I'm almost going mad at this point. I can't even reproduce a crash on any of my 4 test computers! I checked through the code over and over again and can't find anything. But I did found some old font code that was not being used. I removed so hopefully it is fixed now. If not I don't know what to do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#276Fun3.39
#338Audio3.10
#636Overall3.08
#639Humor2.56
#714Mood2.73
#757Innovation2.80
#868Graphics2.50
#1017Theme2.50
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:10pm

I wish I could play this one, but I'm using Mac OS X :'( Could you compile a version for Mac?

Anti says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I'm really sorry but I can't. I don't have access to Mac system right now and my code is not the most cross-platform code ever written. But I loved your game by the way. It was a very cool idea.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Crashes on opening :(

Anti says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Does it say that a DLL is missing or does it just say that it is not responding?

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20am

Same for me crashes on opening. It doesn't really give me any helpful error message. Nothing about a DLL

Muffin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Works fine for me! Win 7 64bit. Good job, really juicy and difficult game. One annoyance is the lack of fullscreen which, combined with mouseaim, made me constantly select other windows instead of the game window. Which caused me to die quite a lot. Perhaps I'm shooting too much haha.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Crashes on startup with 'not responding' error, I hope you're able to resolve the elusive problem.

grillaface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Crashed on opening :(

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:50pm

For me it crashes on opening too. I use SDL2 myself so it cant be a dll missing. Im using Win 8.1

SirJavaGaming says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Crashes immediately on startup. (Win7 x64)

FerraWare says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Worked for me on WinXP. Cool game, with a really innovative mechanic. I can see it becoming popular with some polishing, good job!

jlauper says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:51pm

crashed on opening too for me

stoarch says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Game does not run. Windows 8.1. 4Gb RAM. Intel 4000 HD

Eggplant says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:06pm

It ran for me. I thought it was very fun. However, I'm not sure I saw an unconventional weapon here. Regardless, it was fun. Good job!

peecestudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Really wish i could play, looks awesome! Crashes on opening win 8 64 bit.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:10am

Totally digging the bullet flip idea!

longshorts says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:20pm

Game ran just fine. The reflecting bullets made the gameplay really interesting, but I didn't like how an enemy could spawn pretty much right next to you at the start of the round.

May 4, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Another win 8.1 x64 crash :(

jtpup0 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Gets very intense very fast, really fun and could use art improvement

MegaPonies says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Altough I am a sucker for gimmick bullet hells like this game, it really doesn't fit the theme at all. The simple mechanic of the bullets changing colours is pretty interesting and I had quite bit of fun playing it.

CiderPunk says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:43pm

A lot of fun, way to ignore a theme though!
it needed some way to stop me clicking outside the screen which usually prompted certain death, and does it only go to level 9?

nihilaleph says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Worked fine here~ Really fun game! I thought it was a pretty interesting mechanics, still a bit simple though. Great job!

BubuIIC says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:14pm

It crushes on opening ... :-(

creative630 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Well executed, a little difficult, but complete and fun.

Artylo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Sorry, but it doesn't work on my Win 7 64bit

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:32pm

Interesting concept with the red bullet and all, Great work :D

Red_Fan games says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Linux please?

FrederickK says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:10am

Crashes on start, also, my graphic card is not old, it is a nvidia.
I feel bad man, it don't seen you are using an essential super effect that need a new graphic card but still people can't play it. It is really a shame. :\

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]