Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Calling Mr. Blacksmith

by Junber - Compo Entry

Go down a dungeon filled with deadly monsters. Call your blacksmith to come down and craft a weapon out of the stuff you find on your way.

Press h ingame for help.

NumPad more or less required.

Q: I always get insta-killed by a J at depth 2 even though I have full HP. What have I done wrong?
A: You just forgot to craft a weapon. Fighting anything else than a N without one is not advised.

Q: How does this fit the theme?
A: You craft unconventional weapons out of stuff you find in a dungeon.

Post-LD notes: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/29/post-ld-version-for-calling-mr-blacksmith/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#411Fun3.22
#469Overall3.26
#618Innovation3.00
#699Humor2.44
#821Mood2.59
#891Theme2.84

Comments

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48am

Ah the old days :) It works surprisingly well once you read how to find the ingame help and that the world is round :)

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:53am

Love it. it's hard, but addictive. I should mention it took me some time to figure out you can move diagonally using the 7,9,1,3 keys. Otherwise good job :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56am

Not going to lie, this is REALLY hard. I can never find enough materials to craft a weapon before dying (I guess bare hands are really unconventional). This game is very clever however and despite my lack of skills I really did enjoy this as more of a challenge. Great work!

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00am

I have a tenkeyless keyboard. I did get a couple fights in there though, plus there is crafting. Cool retro vibe. Nice to just crack open the cpp!

jprogman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17am

It took a few minutes but I got the hang of it. I always have a thing for games using ASCII characters.

YM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:26pm

I don't think I can get to these stairs: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2126504/stairs.JPG

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:44pm

YM: The stairs are reachable. You need to wrap 3 rows below your character. But its strange that the crafting menu is shown on the map and that there is no 'Done' below your weapon parts...

jepp2078 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Really cool game man! Good job! :)

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00pm

This is quite hard, having to rely on luck to find medikits is a bit sad. Ascii games remind me when I was programming my casio in high school, yours is challenging and intresting. Good entry.

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Took a while to work out how to play but once I did it got quite fun. Then it got super hard. I feel that your QnA about J enemies in unnecessary, I would just make them a little less tough to kill. It takes a while to get your head round the crafting and to even ensure that you get the money and parts so it would have been better if that barrier to entry was not so high. I must say the crafting was brilliant though! I love my SUPER SPIKE SWORD.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54pm

A simple rogue-like. Nice to play a bit if you use to play those kind of games, hard if you don't like those. It doesn't match the theme to me though.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice Ascii and textbased!

Tapisama says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

I really like ASCII games. This one is really old school and really hardcore. I approve XD. Just one thing, I can't see how this fits the theme.

stevenlr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Good game in its genre. A bit hard to handle at first but once you get used to it it's really easy to play. The crafting mechanics are fun. I didn't get to the end though, only to the 6th level. :/

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Nice game with cute graphics (well, cute colors :)), was a bit slow, not quite sure wether it was meant to be :D

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

An enjoyable streamlined roguelike, now with crafting!
I wouldn't call the weapons very unconventional though, weird maybe?

The heavy reliance of RNG is the source of undoing here.
15hp left, spawned in the middle of monsters, closest health item not even in sight!
Though luck, try again? Not after the Nth time I won't.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Interesting use of ASCII, nice to see that kind of variety! This was a real challenge - I got swarmed by enemies before I could afford to make a weapon the first time. But a neat entry! :)

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I love text games, and I love crafting stuff with randomly generated items. This game was awesome, me and "Mr. Nuclear Sludge" beat the shit out of some foxes. Though I think you could make the controls better (allow more keypresses and the such).

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I was not obvious that I can go beyond one side of the screen and appear on opposite side. I thought it was level border. And I didn't understand how to craft best weapon. But in any way this game reminds me about good old times. Thank you for nostalgia feelings.

kipelovets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Man, it's awesome you made a text roguelike, but it's kinda hard to get into this kind of games for a not so old-school guy like me

Druid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:40am

Childhood restored! :D I really enjoyed this game!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I found the controls a little unintuitive, but then text-based roguelikes have never been known for friendly controls. Even just letting me hit "enter" to confirm a menu selection would be a great improvement. Other than the controls, it's a great idea and a fun little game. Good work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I'm not going to lie, I didn't understand the controls very well, actually, the 'h' didn't help either. I'm sorry to ask it, but, could you explain a little bit better the controls to me? (That's the first time I see a game in that style)

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:35am

Lukbebalduke: Well the numpad key are arranged in a square and you press a key to move in the correspending direction. For example 7 is in the top-left corner so you press it to move to the top-left. The other keys mentioned in the help open a menu each while c and e also work as confirm in their menus. Hope that helps.

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Nice job! Interesting idea executed in ASCII, something quite unusual nowadays.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:55pm

That nice Dwarf Fortress feeling, excellent!

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:12am

I love the format of this game! Would suggest keymapping to the vi keys also (ex nethack), though I did get my full keyboard out just to play this. :)

I had some weird issues with keyboard lag, but I was able to fight a few of the monsters. Cool mechanic idea with the crafting.

lizard455 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Neat mechanic!

sorlok says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Excellent game! Wish there was some way to recover health (or maybe there is!). Felt like Rogue with crafting!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Nice ASCII game. It is really impressive. A good vibe ++

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:34pm

"ASCII game", this reminds me of old days. Good work.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:29am

"You died. You fought using a double bacon whip consisting of:
Whip
Bacon
Shortsword blade
Bacon
Golden handle
Spikes"

Pretty fun! (Note I'm judging the original version; I'll try the post-compo version later...so if you've addressed some of these issues already, I apologize!) There were a couple of things that I feel should be spelled out, in the help or something...like, the fact that the map is a torus, and that you can use the 5 key to 'pass' your turn. The gameplay is simple, but nice, although I feel there should be some way to recover your HP eventually (I found one item, a first-aid kit I guess?, but it didn't help that much). The combat system is a little hard to figure out, because it's not clear what's happening; Nethack, for example, has a "combat messages" system showing you just how badly you're doing against the monsters. Even showing the HP on the screen would help! Also, I think it would be cool if you had to put more thought into the weapons, rather than just piling everything on. (And it would be awesome if the game could come up with a name for your weapon automatically.) Still, though, it was fun to play!

Junber says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:13am

Chaoseed: That the map is a torus was mentioned in the and that there where med-kits which look like a + too but i cant really expect anyone to read all this text and remember everthing just for a LD game. You are right that waiting was explained (i think i mentioned waiting somewhere in the help but didnt really explain how you could do it) and med kits were somethimes really spare in the original version.
I didnt implement combat messages because the combat is fully deterministic. I decided not to show the HP on the main screen because it just didnt looked good at all but it's shown in the inventory menu (stats menu in post-LD) if yu havnt noticed that.
The weapon thing you mentioned is exactly what i think but I didnt have time during LD and didnt want to change too much for the Post-LD version (I also cant come up with a good way of generating weapon names without ignoring stuff which the player might find important especially as the list of parts gets longer)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]