Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Light'em Up

by CodeNMore - Compo Entry

Light'em Up is a game about using LIGHT and LIGHT BEAMS as weapons and tools to defeat the evil monsters lurking in your cave.

READ THE INSTRUCTIONS HERE OR IN THE DOWNLOAD, AS THEY ARE NOT EXPLAINED IN GAME:
- WASD - move
- SPACE - switch current item in your inventory
- Or 1,2,3,4 keys to switch inventory slots (forgot this one :/)
- ARROW KEYS - use item in that direction / place item
- The lazer is your main weapon, and the emit item acts as a bomb but radiates for a period of time.

There should be a custom music track playing, but it may/may not play for you.

This game was NOT finished completely due to me coding up to the very last minute of the compo, so it is playable and (should) work, but is not fully finished. The game is fully playable and works, but there may be some funky things that happen. Heck, I learned a lot about lighting and pathfinding though!

This program should now work on all systems.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#228Audio3.29
#392Mood3.12
#485Graphics3.15
#498Theme3.41
#531Fun3.08
#563Humor2.69
#570Overall3.16
#647Innovation2.95

Comments

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Sadly I wasn't able to run your game :'( I got the following errors (trying to run it in Mac OS X): http://pastie.org/10103137

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

@Tijn I'll try to figure out a fix for mac, that could be the problem!

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Very fun nice work! Some parts of the game were actually scary too :D gave me a good scare ;)

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Works fine for me, music and all. Interesting effects, but I didn't really figure out how to beat the enemies. Shining my light on them or zapping them with the laser didn't seem to do much - maybe these are the funky things you mention? ;)

zzForrest says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I'm not quite sure I see how lasers are an unconventional weapon. Also, while music is always awesome and will score you good points in my book, the music sounded like some sort of carnival and was giving off the wrong vibe for a dark game like this. By the way, my weapons mysteriously stopped working half way through the game. Not at all sure why.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

@Kyyrma it could be, but the lazer should kill them at ~4 hits!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Interesting mechanic, reminded me a bit of Alan Wake. While I managed to run the game without problems (even with music), there are some design issues with the game (only in my personal opinion, of course!): First of all: Switching through the objects with Space really sucks, because you can't go back and when you're stressed and want to shoot or illuminate, your selected item is an empty slot -- not fun! how about mapping the four buttons to 1, 2, 3, 4 keys? Second, it's too dark. If course, that's what you need the lights for, but how about having the first enemies have a little red dot on them or something so that learning the controls isn't as unforgiving as it is now. Then, the energy drains way too fast for my taste, especially when you're just lighting the surroundings and nor shooting lasers. How about that taking less energy OR already hurting the monsters at least a little? Or how about emitting a small radius of light around yourself at all times so when you get attacked, you can at least tell from what direction?

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:47pm

@Phil Strahk thanks for the feedback! The inventory is mapped to 1,2,3,4, just forgot to put it into the directions! Thanks!

Smiley says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01pm

"Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Error compiling shader: ERROR: 0:39: '/' does not operate on 'float' and 'int'" :(

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:10pm

While the idea is nice, I feel like a lot of things could have made this better. For example, when I was first starting, I began hitting the monsters with the laser, but there was no feedback telling me I actually did any damage. The fact that it takes a bunch of hits doesn't help, either. I did like the atmosphere, though. Very creepy. :)

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Light as a weapon is a nice concept! And i think the lighting is well done in the game. On the other hand I think some effects when you hit the enemies would be nice, and also more variety of weapons.

Garris says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

I felt like the laser was a bit of a crutch that kept the other weapons from truly shining (haha). However, the graphics and sound were consistent, and I had some fun killin' monsters. Well done.

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

Reminds me of alan wake :D. The beat music supports the mood of the game. Very nice piece of work!

stevenlr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Interesting game! Fighting with light it really fun! :D It would've been nice to be able to see how much life is left on the zombies though. Nice job!

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Fun game man! :D

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:03am

Great idea, As people have stated, Alan Wake! Anyways, there was a pretty cool bug, where you would turn on your flashlight and hold it then change to the laser, the flashlight light would just stay there so you would have an infinite light source while using the laser :P

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Tested on Mac, Chrome and ran fine.

Love the music and enjoyed the game. I found a little cheat, if you switch weapons while shining the torch you get the laser and the torch light stays in place to help you.

I also made a torch game so its great to see other takes on it. Well done :D

Hovester says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Good Graphics

Cstudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I was wondering, every light kills the zombies or only the lasers... i put some light on the ground and it killed the zombie. After wave 3 there were beam zombies... monsters... or whatever those greenstuff were, it was a great idea, it just became repetitive after i familiarized myself with the game.

Aree Vanier says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Fun and challenging!! Loved it!

Backlund says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Good job

keddelzz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Nice game, I like the art style and the simple music!

petercraft says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:59am

:D
<3
Fuuuunn!!!

insane66 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Good work on this adventure/explorer. Lighting effects are neat.

Jajo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Quite fun, the graphics on thee tiles were good, but the entities could have been improved. I was confused at first. I managed to somehow get out of the map at one point...

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:56am

Pretty cool little game. I found it fully playable - didn't find any funky problems on my end. One immediate improvement I can think of is that I believe the game would feel better if the enemies were weaker, but there were more of them. The laser was kind of unsatisfying to use since it took so long to take foes down.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]