Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Recoil Gun

by cleitoneldorn - Compo Entry

A very hardcore old school game.
Rick needs a gun for his Mecha Suit, so he decides to steal one from his enemies. But it is so heavy that he can't even walk with it.

Use WASD to aim and SPACEBAR to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#118Innovation3.84
#167Overall3.65
#201Theme3.80
#217Graphics3.67
#217Audio3.31
#230Fun3.49
#355Humor3.11
#381Mood3.13

Comments

r8berto says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really cool game mechanics

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

Amazing!

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:00am

Stage 3 got way to hard way to quick lolz. Fun idea though :)

chanko08 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:01am

Interesting game mechanic, and nice looking graphics and sound.

Melusine says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

very nice mechanics love the game :D

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Very nice! Great mechanic and polished gun effects.

My only criticism is that the difficulty comes mainly just from the fact that its difficult to control.

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

It reminds me of the machine gun in Cave Story, really cool, but I have to say, the shooting sound can be a little annoying.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Very cool! I like that the theme central to the game and not used in a superficial way ...like I did with my game :)

The movement is fun, and the graphics fit the feel really well. Nice job.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

clever and fun!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46am

Wow, that's hard. Or maybe I'm tired post-compo ... either way, nicely done!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01am

Simple presentation but interesting idea. WASD and Spacebar felt a bit awkward for aiming.

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Nice concept, congrats. :)

decodersmith says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Best game of the Compo yet!

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Excellect game, just too hard.

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I love 8bit graphics!

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32pm

amazing idea ! great game !!!

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

It's a perfect game. My own-self 15 years younger wants this in his gameboy.

madhoe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Love the concept, EXTREMELY well polished, but I wish it was less frustrating.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Great application of the theme. Controls were easy to learn, but very hard to master. Overall very difficult, but very entertaining. I especially hate the projectile that follows you.

Polyomino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Great concept!

devilright says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I really like this mechanic! Awesome idea! Man... Stage 3 beat me up. Overall really well done!

MoltenMustafa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47am

hey man, I played your game today and wrote about it here: pastebin.com/byfbeyJA -- loved it but man was it hard. I think part of it was the fact that I'm not used to using wasd for platformers :P

MoltenMustafa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48am

oops- forgot to cast my vote

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

Neat idea man! Level 3 seemed to be a pretty big jump up in difficulty, could have maybe had a level with just one of the beholder guns to get the player used to the idea. I also remember getting annoyed when my badass gun didn't blow those cannons up, haha. Awesome work :D

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:02am

Super hard :D But very cool!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Hey, this game is fun and easy to pla- STAGE THREE!!!!
hehe, tough spike at three but a great game :)

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Hilariously entertaining mechanics. Great idea and lovely graphics.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:04am

It's fun at first, but difficulty ramps too fast.
I gave up on stage 3 after 50 tries. I feel like the controls would be less clunky early on if the controls were inverted perhaps

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31am

wow! Nice mechanic. Love it. Nasty fall is nasty, couldn't get past it.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:02am

I love the idea of using the weapon to shoot and propel yourself, especially given that you can't move otherwise. Since the character is always in the center of the screen and the camera is zoomed in pretty close, it's hard to see your enemies before it's too late, which make things especially difficult when the method of moving your character is so challenging. The graphics are really nice and I'd love to see more levels using this mechanic (but I got stuck on level 3 sadly).

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:17am

Neat game. The gravity is pretty harsh, but it was pretty fun!

jeremyfa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:34am

Interesting mechanics. I like it a lot. Too bad it's getting very hard starting from level 3 :(

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Nice idea, but stage 3 can go and die in a fiery pit of hell :D

danidre14 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Really exciting game, with some switched around mechanics! :D

I could not get past level 3, unfortunately. :\

But, thank you for your submission.

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:05am

Brilliant, love this! Things that could make it better: diagonal shooting, less brutal gravity, remove need for the Space key. That said - it was incredibly addictive, genius concept and had me laughing all the way through. Top marks!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:05am

I liked the concept and style - wish the controls were a little tighter though

Vaughn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

I really enjoyed the game. I couldn't get used to the controls unfortunately so I mapped it out on my controller with JoyToKey and then I was pro! Haha. I even beat the game twice, once getting those extra items (I have no idea what they did though).

I streamed the entire thing here if you want to check it out: http://www.twitch.tv/drathy/c/6590513

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:20pm

A really unconventional weapon which creates a good game. I like the aesthetic. Controls are a little bit awkward, but by wasting a few moment so as to understand, all is clear and really enjoyable. One of my favorites for the LD32. Thank you ++

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Hey, I liked this entry so much I included the game as part of my Top 10 Platformers of Ludum Dare 32:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/27/my-top-10-platformer-games-of-ludum-dare-32/

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:26am

Too hard at 4 stage =( But game mechanics looking pretty good!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:40am

Wow cool game! I love the mechanics. Probably my favorite interpretation of the theme so far. Music seems a little strange for this game but I liked the sound of it. Great job!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:45am

really cool mechanic. nice art style too. i rage quit on level 3. grr.

Curial says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:18am

Cool idea and polished difficulty learning curve. In my opinion is one of the most solid design I've seen on this LD.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Punishingly difficult, and this is coming from a guy who loves a challenge. The only real negative I have is that the game occasionally lags or stops shooting and in such a tight game this can be brutal. That said, I love the art, I loved the idea, and something about that song was just so charming. Very well done, I wouldn't be suprised if this game gets some very high rankings.

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:55pm

That was fun, but does it just stop after 4 levels?

I admit that ramped in difficulty very quickly, but I did manage to finish it after about 10 minutes (and about 50 tries on stage 4). Then it gave me a blank screen and the BG music.

As has been mentioned, the gravity is pretty harsh. I think that's really the only thing that makes the game so punishing. If you dropped the gravity a touch I think that's all that really would need changing (plus add an ending).

Well done!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Pssst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HG_2Odlw5Kc

Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Solid entry, Difficulty curve hit me like a brick wall though, Didn't make it passed the 4th level, some checkpoints would have been appreciated!

panurge says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Fantastic work! Great controls and an awesome central mechanic. The difficulty is hard but never unfair - the player always knows it is their fault if they fail. It's also very satisfying to make progress.

The presentation is very solid too. An excellent entry!

Goutye says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Not so hard but really well balanced. However, really short game but I loved the game mechanics. Music is good but too repetitive after some fails x) Thanks for your game!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 7:30pm

The mecanic is very creative.
avoiding projectiles is quite hard. I was expecting to be able to kill the cannons.
Text should be skippable
Nice!

MaesK says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:02am

Great mechanics! Nice work with the screenshake, bullets, recoil movements and smoke, it looks and feels really nice.

cleitoneldorn says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Thank you for the feedback, everyone! I am working now on the post compo version. :)

Crowbeak says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:12am

I couldn't get hardly anywhere with the third level, but I can appreciate the skill and strategy the mechanics create.

gelisam says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:45am

So, basically the game "There's no time to explain", but with a character which is even harder to control, more difficult traps and fewer checkpoints? I can see that I'm the minority here, but that's just not my idea of fun, sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]