Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bubbles

by thaaks - Compo Entry

What a Halloween party! But what's that? Not your bed, that's for sure!
You wake up in a maze full of monsters and your only weapon is some soap bubbles?!

Charm all the monsters with your beautiful bubbles to open the exit on each level and make it past the final exit to get back to freedom and your king size bed with tons of pillows!

Bubbles is a peaceful low resolution platformer with lots of functionality (Jumpthrough and moving platforms, double jumping, wall jumping, checkpoints, moving monsters, hazards) and currently contains 5 levels to play.

You can play the game in any HTML5 browser. Press F10 to play it full screen! Seems not to work with the LD embedding but on my site (see link below) it does work.

[EDIT]: I fixed the collision and checkpoint stuff in a post compo version which you can play here:

http://www.rightanglegames.com/bubbles-my-post-compo-entry-of-ld-32.html

But for rating please play the original version first - just to be fair!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#187Theme3.82
#214Fun3.52
#264Overall3.50
#287Humor3.25
#335Graphics3.42
#361Audio3.06
#484Mood3.00
#780Innovation2.76

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30am

Quite franly, I was surprised to use bubbles to charm enemies. Unconventional to the core :).

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48am

really liked how when my bubbles 'charmed' the enemies they had cute little floating hearts spinning. very pleasant to play, nice little platformer game

sanojian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Who doesn't love bubbles? The collision was a little bit unforgiving but a fun game.

madameberry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I wish the charmed enemies would do something for you, or at the very least turn into platforms and let you stand on them. Cute interpretation of the theme!

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

cute "ooh" every time you charm an enemy. It was hard how they level reset previous charmed enemy, and it made the save system not helpful. very cute and nice pixel art :3

thaaks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:37pm

@shrapx: you are right - the level reset was a mistake. Player should just have been reset to the last checkpoint with all charmed monsters staying charmed. Will fix that for a post compo version.

@all: Thanks for your reviews ;-)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Cool game, the bubble idea is very nice! One thing that could be better is the collision: it is too unforgiving - there was some spikes which i could not pass because the jump would have to be perfect.

Also, i don't know why, but some commands made the browser window (latest Chrome) scroll all the way down removing the game from the screen.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Cool game!
It took a while to figure out I could double jump.. and the checkpoints seem a bit useless since I need to go back after every death and beat all the enemies before I can continue..

I really like your weapon choice! It is a good weapon in real life too, it melts even your worst enemies :)

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:57pm

This is neat :D. Very unexpected behavior for such a small platformer. I really liked it. And I do live your minimalistic pixel art. Keep it on!

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Loved the bubble angle. Slightly unforgiving collision, but otherwise well done.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:36pm

This game is fun ! Gotta love the sound effects !

jukben says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Cute! :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Really nicew game! i loved all the sound effects.

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Really nice game! i loved all the sound effects.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:06pm

nice feedback on charm action with your little hearts animation. The weapno somtime feels too powerful, mayb some monsters with hp ( whar resist ) would have help to make the game more challenging. I like the blow and pop sfx a lot but I'm not fond of the end level and new level tada!

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:56pm

This was a fun concept but I did get very frustrated at all the monsters getting un-charmed if I got hit. Even some sort of charmed cool down would have been helpful to me (just noted the developer comment on that). Ditto the positive comments here.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Solid platform game. The conditions to finish the level are not very clear, but the feeling is very nice.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Great non-lethal puzzle platformer. It's a little light on the puzzle part, though. =)

Good variety of platforming elements. The charm with floating hearts is nice; reminds me of stunning Vorticons in Commander Keen. Bubble blowing is cute.

I would've liked to see the bubble floating used as a puzzle element, like needing to float bubbles to locations you can't access or having bubbles directed by wind flow. Still, the game's very complete as-is. Good work!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:54am

Yep you nailed the platforming physics perfectly. Variable jump height, wall jumping, double jump, even moving platforms. Stellar work! The only thing I'd add is a slightly horizontal jump off the wall rather than straight up, it'll look and feel better I think! Love the graphics also, chunky pixels I'm a big fan of. And that audio. "SAVE"

I also created a platformer/Metroidvania thing with similar jumping mechanics, hope you have time to give mine a try too!

Really enjoyed your entry, top marks!

thaaks says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:37am

Thanks for all your feedback so far! Nice enhancement suggestions some of you named (better wall jumping, bubbles for puzzles for example)! I might continue work on "Bubbles" a bit more and add some new elements and improve the "engine".

Thanks again!

Crefossus says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Pretty good. I like the character/bubble animation and impact animation. You nailed the theme.

Spike jumps with low roofs are tricky - maybe have a one block solid nearby for practice? Gets tedious if you fail near the end, some checkpoints cause death immediately if you're moving before. Platform movement is weird if you jump from under.

frogcheese says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:42am

I really liked this one! The mechanics are solid and easy to get into, the graphics are clean and fairly polished. I love the sound effects as well. :)

One thing to note though is that the checkpoints don't really matter much since all the enemies get uncharmed when you die. Maybe keep track of the enemies you charmed in the checkpoints, or alternatively make the levels smaller and more compact so that they're not needed to begin with?

resty says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Like it. Those bubbles are so powerful. A lot of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]