Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Peanut

by lucienpro - Compo Entry

Jump and dodge through 10 increasingly difficult levels with the help of your trusty peanut.

I spent my time like this:

Programming: 7 hrs
Audio: 3 hrs
Art: 2 hrs
Playtesting: 2 hrs

I couldn't do a 48 hour hardcore development session because of homework, sports and social stuff. But I'm still happy with what I did.

Thanks for reading this far! Have fun!

-Lucienpro

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#53Fun3.88
#133Mood3.58
#182Overall3.63
#234Audio3.27
#237Humor3.35
#283Graphics3.54
#897Theme2.83
#931Innovation2.50
#2292Coolness17%

Comments

zetitup says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Fun game :D Nicely done :D

Evgiz says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Nice work! The music was really pretty and I loved how the world animated with it. The game wasn't too hard but challenging enough to keep it interesting. I would've like the peanut to be used more. Good entry though, keep it up!

Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:33pm

5 out of 5 peanuts! Love the music!

vitail924 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:03am

nice

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Good music! I think the peanut could be better used, and the levels are very simple, but still a good progression. Good job!

EvilTroopa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Fun for a short game like that, would have played more levels if only they existed.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Peanuts are an unconventional weapon? So I am a terrorist :)
Neat. I loved. Thank you ++

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:49am

Nice. Very impressive for 10h! I only wish the unconventional weapon was used more. Very good game though!

Vaughn says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:19am

Short and sweet! Loved the art and design here. I played it live if you want to give it a watch: http://www.twitch.tv/drathy/c/6585972

phi6 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17am

I love it! As I made a platformer myself I wanted to find others to compare and study, yours was definitely one of the good ones! I think a variable jump height would have helped give the player more control though, otherwise it's a bit old school in its difficulty. That said, I completed the game, the level designs were great and although the graphics were simple they still looked effective with all the colours, animations and other nice little touches. Well done!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:15pm

That was sooooo cool ! Need more levels !
Graphics are awesome, music is perfect.
Maybe you should make the player move sync with the moving platforms.
Also, it would be great allowing the player to set the high of the jump, based on how much time you press the jump button.
Super entry !

May 1, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Looks really nice, and has a great soundtrack! Pretty fun to play too.

I wish the peanut was used more: I barely ever got to use its power and when I did it was easy. Seeing as some of the platforming was difficult (lots of spikes, and a fixed jump) it would have been nice if using the weapon required some skill too (maybe if there were more things that needed to be touched with the peanut? Or required twitch turnarounds...).

Overall this is an impressive entry for the amount of polish you gave it!

AlcoTk says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:37am

Haha, this is really nice!

Dejvo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:38am

HAHAHA! I liked it a lot :) fun game. i liked the graphical effects and the fact that there's a muchacho with a peanut :D maybe adjust controls to the future (with arrow keys, spacebar is jump with a,d, w is jump) and the last level was a tad frustrating but fun anyway :) and in a pretty short time. good work!

Managore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:04am

A fun collection of levels! I was surprised at the variety of challenges you managed to fit into a relatively small game. Great audio too! Well done!

Zeriver says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:22am

Short, sweet, simplistic game, fun to play. I like this pixel art and matching audio :)

duck says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:50am

It's fun! I really can't do level 7 though, haha. I like the music, and the death explosion is nice too :)

Ivan Volkov says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Really cool one!
Too bad you didn't have a lot of votes at first!
Really enjoyed it!
7th level is the hardest one I think

And also a little bug: you can stuck in a platform and it'll stop moving if you hit it in the rear side

5/5, man :)

May 11, 2015 @ 1:07pm

The game is nice, but it doesn't quite stand out in its mechanics. It is very short and easy, it is based on unoriginal controls and the weapon part isn't implemented very well.

May 11, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Cool! :D I thought the jumping was a bit too high / slow, but I persevered to the end. The levels towards the end are quite evil.

jcsirron says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:49pm

You kill little demon-things with a peanut? That is an unconventional weapon! It felt like that was not really the main part of the game, though. Some of the platforming (the real meat and potatoes of this game) was tricky. I liked the difficulty. The only major gripe I had with it was the non-momentum transferring moving platforms. It's almost like you were jumping onto a people-mover as it was moving. That was slightly disorienting the first time.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]