Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Nuclear Space Buckets

by oranebeast - Compo Entry

Nuclear Space Buckets is a highly experimental two-player arcade reaction based shooter.

The goal is to annihilate & destroy your enemy (aswell as everything past him).
The starting positions of the players are random for balance; And the win text is also random; For comedic reasons.

Thanks to boredDev for the web port.

Controls :
Player 1 (Blue):
Left and right for movement
Up for HYPER LASER

Player 2 (Red)
A and D for movement
S for HYPER LASER


Game-play :
Playing the game is the only way to find out.

Source :
I don't want you to copy my game, But I'm fine with you exploring and learning my lazy methods things from it. I mean really lazy. All rights reserved to me.

WARNING : If the game is told to be malicious by chrome or browser, its not. I would never harm you. Although... Screenshot 4...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#316Humor3.18
#344Audio3.09
#349Fun3.31
#554Graphics3.05
#590Overall3.13
#749Innovation2.81
#981Theme2.63

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32am

I had a very intense 1 player match. Anyways, that will not inflict your rating or your feedback. I'm a little upset that you can fire the laser forever, maybe a cooldown would be nice instead. Anyways, the flow is very nice and graphics/audio fit well to the game. I really wish there was a single player version though. Good job and may the judging ever be in your favor.

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

Oh my GOD

This game

THIS GAME

This game helped me find the meaning of life.

5/5

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46am

Do you know what happens when the two destroy each other simultaneously? I do!
http://i.imgur.com/8r8Naiw.png
This is a pretty simple multiplayer game, but it's fun to watch how people adapt to each others' strategies over time.

qapn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41am

yessssssss, I liked this one when you showed it on IRC, and I like how it has turned out

jontturi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Aww I can't name this because osx :c but cheers for the name :D the red one is a happy bucket! Or evil, depending how you look at it...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Oh yeah shmup ftw!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Simple game but very well made. I enjoyed playing it! I included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/-ZkAqIe6FiQ

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nuclear.
Space.
Buckets.
That's like silver age comic book material right there. :D Nice music, simple but awesome gameplay. Loved it :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43pm

I can't rate this since I only played it solo, but the laser beam looked pretty sweet.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22am

Very polished game! also lots of fun if you have someone to play against! Very simple idea too! LOVE IT!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40am

Interesting concept, although eventually my friend just started spamming his laser at one point until I ran into it, haha. The witty remarks at the end of each round added a lot to the game.

P.S. Sorry for making your arm tired. XD

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46pm

I had my brother over so played this game with him. We had a lot of fun, for short while. It quickly gets repetitive, but we had some good laughs.. well done :-)

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Fantastic little game you got here. It isn't complicated, but what you have works very well. Had a great time playing with a friend, it's quite intense. It's almost like a standoff, deciding whether or not you should make the first move, or wait for your opponent too

pythong says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:40pm

if you don't want ppl to copy your game, you can always enter as JAM entry

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:09pm

simple but fun game. Good job.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:35pm

I can't rate this one because I don't have anyone to play with. :/ I mean, I COULD rate it, but that wouldn't be right. Sorry. Downside of living in middle of nowhere Japan.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:24am

Thats okay @Crowbeak. I understand your troubles.

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:47am

Played this with someone else!
I liked it, however the game play got a bit repetitious. Couple hints on how to break that up:
- Maybe break it out of the 1 dimension and make it two dimension?
- Add time to move between spots. This may slow it down but induce more strategy

Another thing you could add would be the "Best 4 out of 5" or some sort of score keeping thing. It makes these sorts of games much more competitive.

I have to say I was a bit confused as why your music didn't play throughout the whole game. I thought it was pretty neat but couldn't hear a ton of it. With custom composed music, let it shine!

Another suggestion, perhaps make a 1 frame moving animation for the buckets?

Anyways, I liked it, and had fun playing it.

Techblogogy says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:07am

This is quite a nice game, although 1 player mode would be nice, but I enjoyed it never the less. Great job!

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:42am

Interesting little game. Probably more fun with another player... lol

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Simplistic but fun, nice adio and graphics.

LukeZaz says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:08pm

"Blue destroyed Red
And several pizza portals"
What have I done?!

Anyway, great game! I couldn't play it with a friend unfortunately, but it's surprisingly playable despite this. Great small idea. Only thing I can suggest is a delay on firing and music during the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]