Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

April Bloom

by Alexbrainbox - Compo Entry

This is a small, serene game about collecting blossoms.

Blossoms will fall from the tree; you must touch them to collect them.

+ Touching a blossom will gain you +1 blossom.
+ If a blossom hits the bottom of the screen, you lose one.
+ If a bird reaches the right hand side, you lose a LOT of blossoms.
+ Trying to hit a bird will cost 2 blossoms but they drop 2 on being hit.

The game ends when you run out of blossoms. Good luck!

The game works best on LARGE TOUCHSCREEN devices; It will also work on other devices but please expect that using a mouse will be more finnicky.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Mood3.71
#91Graphics4.05
#251Overall3.52
#314Audio3.14
#638Fun2.95
#1075Theme2.21
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Kalkatos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:12am

Nice music and art.
I liked the mechanic of the birds.

el_kloklo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:12am

Arty

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Very nice, calm game. Reminds me of a sunrise in spring.

I am not sure how killing birds fits into that image, but from a gameplay standpoint it worked well. Tried it on Android 5.0, works like a charm!

Good entry!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:41am

Very nice simplistic art style. I like the way the colours of the tree change. ^^

The time didn't seem to display properly when I finished.

My only complaint about the mechanics would be that although the game had an incredibly zen feeling to it, collecting more and more blossoms becomes incredibly frantic which works against the relaxing music and graphics. Perhaps on a touchscreen this isn't so much an issue. :)

Crumpet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Loved the change in colour
Could have done with some kind of background image I imagine. A sunrise or something like that.
Felt a bit difficult at first, but you do settle quite nicely into the rhythm of it. It is a very straightforward game.
Music did start to get a little grating before my game ended.

A nice and unique game, well done!

burlapjack says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26am

The art is bold and minimal; matching the calm mood for a relaxing sort of game-play experience of which I haven't had since MS Mahjong. This is very well executed. I might add that this would be something that Nick (RockLeeSmile) would really enjoy playing. I'll have to send this his way.

muromets says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:22am

Very relaxing, loved the art :)

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:07pm

very nice game! not sure if it fits the theme but whatever. you made a game! good job on that

grillaface says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Absolutely gorgeous!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Great work! Played it on my Android tablet. Well-balanced gameplay, and I really dig the embroidened art style. The music gets a bit annoying though, and there is one little bug, as I lasted for 03:193:27.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Ah yeah, that bug... I fixed it (as a very minor thing, i think it's probably fair to fix it) for Windows, but didn't build for anything else :(

Thanks for playing!

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Fun game, I liked the use of the unconventional weapon in this game :). Graphics and Audio were great, and it had a nice mood. The game seemed to be fairly balanced which was good.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:45pm

It is a relaxing game. The graphics and animations are beautiful!
It just looks like there is no unconventional weapon in this game.

aeveis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:21am

simple but interesting! I think the only thing is if the blossoms were bigger, playing on a laptop with a touchscreen was hard since the finger would cover the flower. nice work!

danielilett says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:15pm

A really relaxing game! I like the simple art style, the birds especially look really crisp flying across the screen. The colour changes were also nice. I'd say the music is pretty effective because it matches the simplicity of the graphics and gameplay, but it gets a bit repetitive rather quickly. There was a time bug at the end (01:102:40), but nothing major!

A really good entry, very calming!

randoman says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Music is great. Don`t see how this fits with the theme but is a very nice game nevertheless

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:47am

nice, unusual concept. Well conveyed atmosphere and neat graphics concept, looks like a cross-stitching. I managed to get to about 180, what is up with the game-over counter though? It shows 03:214:84 for me (I'm guessing the second counter doesn't get modulo'd properly? Should be 03:34:84 then)

phi6 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:58am

I love this game. The mechanics are sound, and the simplicity of design is mesmerizing. I was addicted to this for quite a bit!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:02pm

nice art and gameplay, its simplicity makes it very nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]