Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hollywood Horror

by Funske - Compo Entry

Help quick! Hollywood has been taken over by the evil Nialxliv. He has brainwashed everyone into attacking you! Using your good old crayon I know you can beat him. However be careful he may be controlling powerful forces you are familiar with so watch out!

Use the arrow keys or WASD keys to move your character. Press Z or M to bring out your crayon hold Z or M to use it as long as you want. Press and hold space until your red bar at the top left of the screen fills up when it is filled you will use a crayon bomb. Any enemy that touches your crayon bomb will instantly die.

This game was made for the 48 hour Ludum Dare competition. I am the only one who worked on this game. Images where made in paint.net, music was made at http://soundation.com/studio, and sound effects were made with sfxr. All code was written by me except the open source virtual game controller library I used written by Austin Hallock. https://github.com/austinhallock/html5-virtual-game-controller.

What to do when you have beat the game?
Try one of these challenges

Easy:
Get rid of all defense and most of your health and put it all in your power.

Medium:
Get rid of all your power and put it in defense, health, or both. This way you can use your crayon bomb without loosing power.

Hard:
Drain all power and defense to put it in your health.

Super mega hard:
Have one of every stat!

You won? If you got this message you might want to try to enter some secret places...

Game was patched on 4-24-15. Patch includes dpad and buttons appear when game is played on a mobile device.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#349Humor3.12
#393Audio3.00
#543Mood2.94
#599Overall3.12
#653Fun2.94
#810Innovation2.71
#849Theme2.94
#949Graphics2.33
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55am

Letting the player know that the character moves with the arrow keys would be a bit helpful. Otherwise this was a pretty cute little game. The battle is a bit confusing because you can just hold down Z and stab people, and the orientation of the player to the enemies makes stabbing them a bit difficult. Otherwise thanks for a fun game.

Sean Noonan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11am

It's rather rough, but there's quite a lot of content in there. I'd spend a little more time on player feedback next time like making the player damage blink quicker, having knockback on damage, an effect for damaging enemies, etc. Small tweaks that would make a big difference.

Just as a warning, you may want to shrink the window size in the web version - it doesn't play nice with default web browser controls.

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:28am

Interesting use of the theme, although the gameplay is somewhat confusing.

What's the point of the stat items and the thing at the beginning?

Nice work on the music!

sanojian says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Cool music. This could work well as a fantasy game, swords and orcs etc.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Cool music. Good job.

Blobo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:50pm

nice game! very simple design. the music being a few second loop gets a little annoying but other than that, it was well done.

KamilKubiak says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I won? ; )

Pretty cool game : )

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:55am

moving with the arrow keys scrolled the page which was very annoying. otherwise the game is pretty interesting. good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:14am

All games with graphics like this one gets high ratings as they prove that gameplay isn't rooted in the graphics.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Was going to complain about the awful controls until I realized you could also move with the arrow keys. There's quite a few levels, but it seems like you can skip all but the bosses. Didn't really get the shape-bombs, but they were very effective!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]