Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Machine Kiss

by Cell - Compo Entry

Fight the machine with a s̶w̶o̶r̶d̶ deck of cards.

My top score is 220800.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#19Innovation4.19
#31Graphics4.35
#64Overall3.90
#128Fun3.69
#152Mood3.53
#463Audio2.86
#581Theme3.31
#663Humor2.51

Comments

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07am

Not surprising that your graphics looked really nice. Great job. If there was a setting 2x2 pixels per pixel it would have fit my screen snuggly and I could have marveled the details even more. I tried playing it twice after reading all the card descriptions. And I guess I was a bit unlucky or unskilled so that I never got to draw new cards while playing. Maybe it would be nice if the player could sacrifice something or put themself in a problematic position to be able to continue playing? E.g. skip over next two three waves (no points) and get max 3 new cards. Alternative, though not exclusively so, solution could be if the deck building remembered the 42 cards you previously selected so that you can just test your build again. A quick-build of the deck would also be sweet. In two versions. Random add cards from the ones selected as far as that is possible. Random select from all cards. It felt like the building aspects could be better balanced with such additions. It's a bit too much building and reading stats versus playing and having enough influence over how the play runs for my taste as it stands right now. However, in general. I liked it! I seem to most often like your stuff.

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:23am

Best game I have played so far - really like it! The mechanics are really innovative, and have great potential. Nice!

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24am

This surprised me. I had no idea what I was doing at first (maybe if you keep developing this, which I would, you would have some kind of intro mechanic) but I clicked through until I got to the end. Then I understood that I could only click on the cards ... And I love that - that all you can do is place them and then watch the game play out. Super great game type / mechanic ... Very interesting ... I would just have something like a slow build up, where you choose one card and see what it does ? Something like that.

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27am

Amazing game, great concept, really complex. I played a few times and I feel like I only scratched the surface. Lots of unique cards with unique abilities.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

Wow! Well done, good job. That was really fun, I hope you continue development after ludum dare.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

So good! Like, I want to make lots of suggestions on balance and how the mechanics explain themselves to the player, but as I've spent most of today trying to find nice things to say about really pretty crappy efforts, the fact that I immediately want to start redesigning your game like a professional effort speaks volumes about its quality - amazing stuff!

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:09am

very nice vconcept. you don't see a 'card game' style of game here everyday

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10am

10minutes in... still killing waves XD the number of spawned leeches is making me lag but i love it. i can see this mechanic going into a different sort of game

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:28am

I'll just say this: you should definitely continue to develop this game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:35am

Everything is perfect! The only thing this lacks in is it's music gets a bit repetetive after a while, even though it fits the environment. Thanks for such a great game! :D

Mizipzor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:35am

An interesting idea. But it seems the best approach is just to spam as many cards as you can? The graphics are really awezome, I'm missing a "zoom" settings though. Some of the sound effect volumes were a bit unbalanced. I don't really see how the theme applies here. Great job! :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:50am

Beautiful looking game and thought the gameplay was an interesting change from the other entries. First one of it's kind I've played which makes it stand out.

Cell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

@mizipzor- If you spam the cards you'll miss out on the synergies! Some cards requires to be played first as it get's +2/+2 whenever you play a card etc, some cards buff others which means playing other cards like the totem creator first helps. Yes! i need to fix some of the sound levels, the theme is kind of using a deck to fight a machine but i don't think it translates as well as i wanted! thanks! :)

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Is there a way to export this to mac?

rogberth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Really interesting game in all aspects. I'll keep it to play more for sure, although it crashes some times. Last time it did when I played Dr.Blast

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Great graphics, but it's a bit small on my screen (hard to see), and I see no possibility to scale it.
Very interesting concept and finely detailed. Could probably improved by a bit more handholding at first, so that the player knows what the game is and how it works.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Really interesting game! It crashed on me once. I liked doing strategies centered around getting a ton of units and then killing them all to make one big one.

madameberry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

I was not expecting the cards to shoot bullets at each other. To be honest though I would have rather been able to control my card-dudes manually (at least like, one at a time, with the rest on AI)
The music was very jarring. I heard some things in the background, but mostly all I could hear was a really sharp instrument playing the same four notes over and over.
I would LOVE a "save this deck" function.
Keep making this game! =D

Cell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

@skylinegames sorry not :< porting is difficult :S
@rogberth & @Recursiveanomaly oh i'll have to look into that!

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Weird game, lots of potential! How can I play it with a larger screen resolution? Cards look neat and I want to take a good lock at them! Good job! :D

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Jeez Olav, I expected something unusual from you and got what I wanted :D
It's fun! would need a lot more feedbacks and some progression (there are too many cards for a first game, it's overwhelming), but it's still really original. Love it, best LDGame I've played so far <3

From Smiling says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Super super good looking! I love the themeing of the cards. I wish the game saved your previous deck.

Cell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

@From Smiling: i'll make sure to add saving to the post compo ver!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15pm

I love, and broke this game. I want to send you the gif of my current swarm of nonsense. It wont give me my score till I die though, but I dont think thats going to happen. Spawning 62/62 now. . . and then the screen goes white, and my swarm remains. Please contact me if you want the recording - @randyorenstein

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Interesting take on a card-based game. It's a bit frustrating when you get hit by the enemies and you wish you could avoid it but that's the name of the game.

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Interesting mechanics, although the game crashed...

calavera says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Awesome art!!

Humanoid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

Very interesting way of letting you battle your cards, though I am not exactly sure what exactly the rules to the battle are, but it was fun either way!

mar3k says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Great idea and fun to play. The graphics are just amazing and it's concept like non before!

Krisjet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Really love the look of this, and interesting way to look at the theme! I realize that balancing a game like this in 48 hour is quite a monumental task, but right now it feels a little bit underdeveloped. All the cards seem well thought out and fun to play with, but the resource system (if there is any?) and card drawing needs a bit of work for it to retain player interest beyond a couple of plays. Good job though!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24pm

I JUST LOVE YOUR WORK !

agmcleod says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:08am

Rather excellent, and i am so bad at card games lol. Greatly executed though :D

Raxsus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Ton of depth, but you should probably have told everyone that its F4 to toggle fullscreen. The graphics were great and it was fun, but I found the sounds and music a bit grating (might've been my speakers though).

MonoS says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:08pm

At first i thought about a card game and MHE, but then WOH, really liked how you used the theme and I enjoyed it quite a lot.
Maybe it need a bit more balancing and synergies.

I played it without sounds, it was especially annoying, in fact i voted 1 for i.

Mr. Jif says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Super unique. The graphics are glorious and match the music and tone super well. The game play is very different, but you pick it up pretty quickly. I agree with the statement someone else said earlier that they wish you could draw cards before you run out, but in this case, it just adds to the strategy of it.
Speaking of which, the strategy element was great. Knowing when to play your cards is important.

Overall, super nice entry. Well done!

careless says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Really nice graphics, lots of content and a fully working concept.

I played through several times, my first I just used all the cards in one go and watched them fight away.

Second time I actually read what the cards did and tried to be tactical but score worse.

Third time I selected 4 * "Draw 6 cards" which helped a little as I was able to play more cards.

While I really enjoyed the game I would have preferred a larger screen size as it was very small, I did not understand how I could draw new cards, also the card descriptions do not show up if you hover over one then move right to another, you have to click else where then re-hover over the next card.

Great entry though and would actually play an improved version of this for sure.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:32am

Very interesting game. A little cryptic at first, but that's part of the charm I think. The Lich card that summons 2/1 leeches seems a bit OP perhaps, especially in combination with some of the other buff cards :) http://i.imgur.com/2qqjg2A.jpg Not sure what my score will be, as the game is still running in the background..

Crowbeak says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:55am

Maaaaaan I wish I'd remembered to check out your entry before putting out my last LD roundup. The graphics are lovely, as always, but the idea of using cards to summon things that fight for themselves is a really good one. I like the abilities you chose for your deck; I just wish the deck didn't reset on game over. It would have been nice to be able to just tweak the one I already had.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]