Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Grand Carpet Hotel

by dunin - Jam Entry

Made in 72h with herbal tea, proud and fun by: Anabelle, dunin, Lucile, trouba and Thomas.
Thanks to these tools: Phaser, GraphicsGale, Tiled and Audacity.
Inspired by the aesethics and fun of the film The Grand Budapest Hotel by Wes Anderson.

04/21 : fix the annoying space bar default action.
04/23 : fix music problems (volume + double launch)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness90%
#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#201Innovation(Jam)3.61
#350Humor(Jam)3.20
#438Graphics(Jam)3.45
#558Overall(Jam)3.17
#626Fun(Jam)2.89
#634Audio(Jam)2.14
#682Mood(Jam)2.83

Comments

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21am

Nice game ^^ great idea.

AdricZero says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Innovative game with nice graphics. The music volume is way too loud compared to the sound effects.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Cool idea, i laught a lot. Loved the music. Just one thing, using the spacebar and having a scroll on a small window makes the scroll to go down and you can't play, but it's alright if it's going to be on mobile. Good job!

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I liked it a lot :) Nice idea with the mat, and well executed. Music and graphics were nice tool. I also had trouble with the spacebar-scrolling, which made it hard to play. If you are using Phaser, you can 'capture' buttons from the browser using following line:

game.input.keyboard.addKeyCapture([Phaser.Keyboard.SPACEBAR]);

Will replay later on bigger monitor :)

dunin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

@trappytrap92 @Jakob37 : we test it only on big screen, sorry. Thanks for the phaser code. It must be fixed now...

AnimeGeek32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29am

Nice concept! However, the music gets played twice at the same time at restart.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:34am

Nice, it works fine for me now :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:58am

The theme is fully respected and the gameplay is great. The graphics are good but the music is way too loud. Good job!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Great idea, and nicely implemented - good stuff!
(Royal Tenenbaums Tennis next please!)

spin-down says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Good concept and the graphics were very nice too. Well done!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:05pm

the music on reset is doubling and tripling up ... ahhh ...

oinariman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Funny game! I like the bell sound. You might want to add some in-game sound effects. Also, in my opinion, you should be friendly to your colleagues :)

dunin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12pm

@AnimeGeek32 @Chaoslab : some people of the team like the funny music bug, some don't. We don't know if we want to fix it or not...
@oinariman : colleagues are your rivals, colleagues are dangerous, colleagues are a lie.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:22pm

damns strange game with nice noisy audio :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Pretty innovative, carpet as a weapon xD. It feels good to knock those buggers out too. Graphics are pretty cool, sound is all right but can get annoying. Cool game :) I noticed that in the first level, I actually died, but still went to the second level.

Good luck!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Great idea, like the Wes Anderson reference and good level design. I wholly approve!

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice game, but the music stacking on top of itself when restarting after losing got annoying.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Great animations and graphics!
The game itself was a bit too easy.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Interesting mechanic, was confused at first but it actually turned out to be quite a nice little puzzle game :D

Persistent graphics style, varied scaling levels - kept me playing till it ended! Think the music could have used a bit more but still it fit the game, well done :)

Tanser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Nice game, the souunds are INCREDIBLY high though.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The music is way too loud :(
There should be some visual feedback if you're in the correct place to wave the carpet. Interesting concept, though!

drludos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Nice idea, well executed, I like it! :)

My only complaint would be that once we loose a level, we have to restart in the basement - way too frustrating for a game with many level like yours :)

I like the graphics style too, and the humor throughout the game!

gnx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:28am

Definitely an unconventional weapon in this one :)

Animations are super pretty and the game in general has a lovely style and setting.
I noticed some hit detection bugs with the carpets where it wouldn't launch a wave despite standing on what I thought was the right spot.

Also while I commend you for having music, it does get on the ears a bit after a while :D

Good game.

peterfsat says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Wow awesome idea! I loved your mechanic - that random walking makes it hard! I really like the graphics, animations feel complete and consistent!

One of the best games I've played in this compo ;)

Arche-san says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:02am

Nice concept. I think it will be more fun if the player has a feedback when it can launch a wave on a carpet.

Chris M says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Nice ideas, reminds me a lot of those old crazy amiga games. I was hoping for closer adherence to the Wes Anderson aesthetic though- something I don't think I've seen in a game before.

jayson says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:08am

Hi guys, well done, very unique and fun game!

sputnik says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Nice idea! Great graphics and really good, simple and effective core mechanics. Music is really loud though.

cdgugler says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:03am

Awesome idea, one of the more unique entries I've come across. I love the style as well.

Omiya Games says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 12:56am

I think it has a good potential for timing/stealth-ish/puzzle game. The graphic definitely takes the cake. I wish there were better sound effects and music. The randomly moving NPC/enemies did not help the level design of the small stages.

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Cool idea, very nice art! Two things though: it's hard to know where you can stand to activate the carpet, even when you've done it before, and the music gets a bit annoying after a while ^^ But other than that, very nice entry, congrats to you all :)

May 8, 2015 @ 12:38am

More forgiving save states would be nice. Its got a neat mechanic. its a fun little game.

Dorgam says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Fun little game, I was really sad I had to reset from the beginning each time I lose!
Loved the animation.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]