Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

T.U.W.O.M.D.

by danidre14 - Jam Entry

This is our world. Let us try to make something wonderful. We'll begin inventing things, and create something called technology. Let's build big home areas, move-able boxes that get's us from point A to point B, boxes that takes us above the blue thing we are in. Let us build flipped-around basins that allows us to stand on water, and small hold-able tubes that can release small circles at high speed. Yes, let us do much more to our world. Create something that saves what we see. Make something to talk to someone from a far. And so much more.
But to begin all that, we need research.

You start off in a wonderful natural planet, Earth. Due the the thirst of obtaining knowledge, humans try to create something called technology, and make the world a better place. Go through the levels, and advance further on in technology. Good luck!

Made for Ludum Dare in 72 hours, based on the theme: An Unconventional Weapon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#484Humor(Jam)2.93
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#582Audio(Jam)2.50
#658Innovation(Jam)2.86
#691Mood(Jam)2.81
#874Fun(Jam)2.52
#905Overall(Jam)2.72
#912Graphics(Jam)2.24
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42am

I like that you told a short story through a game. Each of the different game mechanics in the mini games were cool - the mechanics changing is like a metaphor about technology changing. :) Great job!!

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Thanks! :D
I'm glad you liked it. :3

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:01pm

It should be called "Shake Weight Simulator"

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:01pm

nice message
lots of different gameplay
nice work

brennen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Fairly simple, but the story component is nice.

Andrea says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Nice game, I like the fact that we have some explaination about what's going on, it really feels like we're doing something good and I wish there was more (or longer, harder) "mini games"!
I tried with the music too, you were right, it's very annoying :D

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

A fun little game without major challenges.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I really liked the story, and how cleverly it was told. Easily the most theme-based game i've played yet.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Thanks for playing my game, you guys. XD

Timm638 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Giving 5 stars for theme...

danidre14 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Thanks! :D

jacketsj says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:57am

I'm not sure what you're talking about, this music is amazing!

What's with the jerking off though...? This some sorta inside joke?

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:06am

The music is not actually bad. It was fine. Don't sell yourself short! Keep up the good work!

igoramendola says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07am

wow! I liked how you managed the evolution concept. Also, you made a good explanation of what was happening through the texts. Nice job! :D
Btw, I played with the music and it was pleasant xD

frosty says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:08am

Nice collection of minigames connected by an interesting message. I like how you captured the advancement of civilization in a very simple way. Thanks for the warning about the music. =D

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10am

So many mini game, i like it :)

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46am

Not really in the mood of reading, and I haven't really found it fun. I liked some of the concepts (the fishing was cool), but it wasn't really about actual gaming, rather checking out the mechanics.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:12am

Thank you all for your votes, comments, and opinions. I'll try to play all your games when I get time.

:D

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

Interesting entry. Maybe a little too text driven, but whatever.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Aww, I was really hoping that I could affect the results by changing how I played the game! The second time, I never harvested any trees, or killed fish, or anything at all, but everything looked the same at the end. I do love the concept, and it is a bit of lovely fun playing all of those minigames. The text between levels was a bit hard on the eyes, though.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I'm glad you enjoyed. :P

Sorry about not making another end.

Thanks for playing.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:09am

Interesting games. Variety of scenes.

danidre14 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Thanks you.

xandy says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:13pm

after getting through the initial walls of text it was quite a fun game although i'd have wished for more different mini games

iceburg7 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Good game. It was easy enough to match the story focus that you gave it, and the humor is quite good. I kind of wish that something different would happen if you do nothing, especially since the ending implies that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]