Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

What They Want to Hear

by nknauth - Jam Entry

Choose your words wisely to negotiate peace.

You are a diplomat attempting to negotiate peace with a hostile force. Type the words you think they most want to hear.

Press [ENTER] to play and [TAB] to toggle audio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#198Theme(Jam)3.80
#305Innovation(Jam)3.40
#420Audio(Jam)2.97
#560Humor(Jam)2.76
#639Fun(Jam)2.87
#697Overall(Jam)3.00
#834Mood(Jam)2.58
#933Graphics(Jam)2.07

Comments

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:06am

This is pretty great, minus the visuals, but hey, Ludum Dare, what can be done. I'm imagining an ideal version of this game where there's like a little diplomat sprite that makes facial expressions at you when you type things it doesn't want to hear. Maybe some of them smoke cigars. I imagine the warrior poet has a cigar. I'm very excited about a game which is basically a typing tutor. Maybe I should be.

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

Really enjoyed playing this! It took me quite a long time to realise that each enemy had a type listed at the top, but I'm probably just really really tired. Still I got there in the end and when I did I started winning. Great take on the theme!

deathray says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

Like Chris said, this would make a great educational typing tutor. I wish there was a little different feedback to know which words were good or bad -- it all happens so fast. I enjoyed it. Nice music!

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:44am

At first I didn't see the enemy description at the top so I was quite confused! But, I enjoyed the game after seeing that. The music was great and I thought the pace was perfect. Good job!

aeveis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

fun game! I like how you had to think about which words the type of person would like.

The one thing that was confusing for me initially is that visually I thought the words flying up would hit the balls since they are sort of aligned - maybe have it actually fly at the word they were stopping instead.

Nice job!

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35am

Yes! Fun game with catchy music!

Not much to be said about the graphics, simple but still appealing. The music is great too; soft and never grating. The gameplay was pretty fun as well. I found myself scrambling to type the words only to find that my choices were wrong (mainly because I forgot the opponent changed lol).

I couldn't find any bugs, that's always a plus!
Sweet work! (what am I saying, I love all your work).

-Sirmi: Team Toast

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Pizza and chips for world peace!

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Love the idea, really original. The sound is good, but sometimes i don't know why i don't know why i'm doing the things wrong, probably is my fault, but you should consider give better feedback when someone fail. Good job and keep working on it!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Nice! Interesting use of the theme, and a fun little puzzle trying to figure out the right categories of words to use.

Raxsus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Interesting take on the theme, and quite fun. I think the explanation and game over screens could have been better (maybe combining the explanation with the start screen so the player moves straight into the game.)

Junber says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Quite cool game. Nice idea though some things which the game considers bad could also be thought of as good. Still very fun.

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I actually liked the simplistic visuals in this game. What was difficult is the amount of enemy shots coming towards the player right from the get go. It was immediately intuitive that you need to type the word under the enemy bullet, and as a result the game is spiced up and is no longer just a simple typing game. Good luck!

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Neat little game, though I couldn't figure out the logic behind some of the words being good or bad. How come "The Warrior Poet" likes 4chan and "icanhaz", while disliking adventure?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]