Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Apocalypse

by ndebruyn - Compo Entry

Zombie Apocalypse is a 2D platformer game where you are challenged to kill the amount of zombies required for a specific level.
You may only make use of objects lying around.

Controls:
Use WASD to move, right mouse to jump and left click to pickup objects and throw them at the zombies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#730Humor2.38
#735Audio2.25
#741Graphics2.73
#966Fun2.45
#967Mood2.26
#988Theme2.60
#1061Innovation2.11
#1076Overall2.43

Comments

surpent says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55am

Nice weapon.
I like urinal. Funny :-)

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45am

like super crate box

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:50am

What is super crate box?

AnEvilEmpire says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01am

I really liked the background and character sprite. Double jumping to move up felt funny though and the items would get stuck.

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

I hate that I can't throw the box in tight spaces, if I look past that I can see a nice game (it just needs more satisfying animations in my opinion)

RikkyPikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40am

Pretty fun. But really hard to aim :P

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I like it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Was satisfying to get a hit on the zombies.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Can't seem to get it to run. Which is Odd, jar's are usually solid :/ Must be me!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36pm

kinda fun, i wish i was able to aim the throw

zzForrest says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Not entirely sure about this, but I'll rate the game anyway. It seems you are using an art asset for the main character that I'm almost certain I saw on a pixel art tutorial, which I'm pretty sure is against ludum dare rules. Other than that, the physics were very iffy, and the game seemed to not want to cooperate. The mechanics just didn't work from the level design, and it feels like you didn't test it given that you can't play any of the levels because the throwing mechanics simply don't work in tight corridors, which the levels are entirely made up of. Other than that, the noises were nice (got a good chuckle out of the falling sound), and the zombies looked good and were satisfying to kill.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

I did not use that pixel art itself, I created my own version of it. I you don't believe me I have the pyxel edit file to proof. Also, this is my first time ever doing pixel art so I used that tutorial to guide me to learn how to make the art and it stuck as the main character. Sorry if you feel I cheated.

TrickGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Awesome game! Just a bit hard to aim.

crockid5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Too easy, 0 replayability, graphics and physics were impressive though

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

First: You really should put up a notice somewhere that double-jumping is possible/recommended, because I only learned that from skimming the other comments!

That aside the game is a bit like the original Mario Bros, it really could benefit from a little more variety, e.g. a different zombie (faster, or takes more hits, shoots eyeballs at you, something along those lines) and the Unconventional Weapons feel a bit random.

Throwing object wasn't really possible when the overhead platform was low and I also didn't find an indicator of how many zombies I had to kill in each level.

I liked the functionality of the options menu and the popup when paused, that's a comfort I rarely had in LD compo games!

About the input: For me it would have made much more sense to pick up objects with a keyboard key, because there's nothing else you can do with the mouse in the game (mouse aim would have been nice1), and it felt a bit awkward. Space to jump and E to pick up/throw object would have been nicer, but that's just my personal preference.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Not bad! But it would be really nice to be able to aim your throw.

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Hmm, I don't know about others, but level 3 seems to be a bit broken, as I don't have space to throw that bow. Or is it intentional?

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:36pm

It's a bit bugged. When you throw the "weapon" sometimes it collides with the top platform before it hits and the weapon stays in the site.

I love the graphics and the way the hero turn around. Great game.

erdos says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:16am

hehehe i got a whole bunch of zombies stuck together in a little bit then murdered them all, nice!

May 1, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I think this game has good presentation. Having a proper menu, well-laid out options, and an explanation of the controls is a big plus.

The idea itself wasn't terribly original. Additionally, I wanted the arc of the crate to be affected by my cursor, rather than being constantly the same. I think that if an action is preformed using the mouse it should be related to the mouse. If the throw isn't going to be affected by cursor position, then it would be more intuitive to map it to SHIFT or SPACE.

Killing zombies was fun though. I'm glad you added the blood sprite: those little touches go a long way.

PaperBlurt says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:20am

The graphics look nice I think. Maybe a bit of clash between backgrounds and characters. But amazing work overall..

sekaru says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Pretty cool though the graphics felt very patchwork-y.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]